We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza”
Review of The Clay Oven - CLOSED

The Clay Oven
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-clay-oven-hana Fantastic little pizza place set up in Hana, Maui.
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-clay-oven-hana Fantastic little pizza place set up in Hana, Maui.
Camarillo, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hard to find places to eat in Hana when the sun goes down. Had the pork e pine pizza. Spicy with cilantro; not a huge pizza but unusual taste & tasty. Off the side of the road about 4 miles before Hana. Nice place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    11
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Wish we discovered this place earlier”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

As stated in other reviews, getting an evening meal in Hana can be challenging. We pulled in here, not expecting much. Wow were we wrong. The Pizza was fantastic. Wish we were going to be in Hana another night to try their Fresh Salad. It really looked good. The handmade Lemonades were really good. And the folks working here were really nice. Definitely a go back to place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Slow service if not a local”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our mistake was going here for a pizza on the First Friday evening of the month!
On the first Friday they have arts and crafts vendors set up, plus live music.
One of the few things to do around Hana in the evening.

We got there prior to the big crowd and ordered a pizza and was told it would be about 30 minutes. found a picnic table to sit at and watch the band play while waiting for our pizza. A local couple asked to join us at the table which was fine.

the husband got in line to order a pizza and ordered his about the time our 30 minutes was up.
My wife asked at the counter if ours was ready yet, only to be told that it would be about 30 minutes! She told the counter person, that's what they had said 30 minutes earlier, at which point the girl said it should be less.

Less than 30 minutes after the local couple at our table ordered they get their pizza and we're still waiting! My wife goes back to the girl at the counter to inquire again about our pizza and complain that people ordering after us were getting their pizzas. At which time she was told that ours would be one of the next one to go in the oven.

It was well over an HOUR before we got our pizza! My wife noticed that they had at least two sheets of orders they were working from and crossing names off of. My guess is that locals get fast service and strangers wait till the locals have been served.

the pizza was okay and I'd eat there again, but I'd only eat there if there was practically no waiting line and wait for your pizza and watch that they do yours in the order received. If it is the First Friday, I'd skip it unless you are in no hurry and have brought drinks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeTheDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beware the Clay Oven”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We are not sure why Clay Oven has gotten good reviews. Our experience was very different. Here are some reasons we would never return: There is no runnng water. There is no restroom--we were told to drive 3 miles to the county park or "go natural" and go out in the banana fields. This obviosly brought up considerable sanitation concerns. Service was slow. If, after all this, the pizza had been something special, maybe the reviews would have some merit. Our long-awaited pizza had a burned crust and minimal toppings and was subpar at best. Not a good experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Favorite but slow slow slow”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you don't mind waiting for over an hour and a half for your one pizza and bringing your own drinks then this is your place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JWF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clay Oven also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing