We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Absolutely nails the Hana experience! Highlight...”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of Hana Cabana

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jrs576
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Absolutely nails the Hana experience! Highlight of my trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I loved this place. I don't think I've every ranked a lodging option as "excellent" before but I really was impressed by this place. It's about 8 min. before you get to the actual town of Hana and I think it's a far better option because it nails the "off the grid" feeling you may be looking for in Hana. It's in the middle of a manicured section of jungle so you see tons of birds, fruits, & flowers and you also do have a long distance view of the ocean. Where else could you say you could see all of that from your private hot tub?!? The house was quaint but provided you with the essentials. Also the gas grill came in handy since the dinner options in Hana are poor. The bed was super comfy. You will see some geckos in the house, they never bothered us at all but I guess some people wouldn't like it, to be honest I thought they were a plus since they eat mosquitos. Beach towels were provided which was nice because the sand at Hamoa beach was really sticky and re-packing our own towels would have gotten messy if we had to use them. Lastly, if you have low riding rental car (like I did) take it very slow, I did bottom out pretty badly 2 times on my first trip in.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Remote feeling and beautiful view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty S
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Great location close to great stuff in Hana.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Not far from "town". Easy to find. Very clean. And quiet. Owner extremely nice and helpful. Made suggestions for our stay which we followed. A day at the so-called Seven Sacred Pools/Oheo Gulch is FANTASTIC!. (Not "sacred" and many more than seven!). Had been too rainy to swim. We took the two mile hike hike to the falls. Well worth the hike! Hamia beach is great. Not to be missed! Rated one of the best beaches in the world. If you are lucky you might actully see a rare (endangered) monk seal. Nice kitcen in unit. Do your shopping BEFORE you come to Hana. Only two stores and prices a little high. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will gladly return.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Hana!
Liked least: It rained! :-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snorkella...
Maui
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cozy & Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This review is a little late, but my husband and I had a wonderful mini vacation on this side of the island. I would not hesitate to book this property again! The bed was very comfortable and linens were nice quality. They have a hot tub on the deck that was nice and hot. They do have a tub/shower combo, but you can not take a bath. There is no plug, and the water only comes out of the shower head. The tub is really high to climb into, so if you have trouble with this, take note.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location to Hana and where the cottage was on the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seekrit
Claremore, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Private”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Although the weather was a bit rainy, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very well laid out unit, beautiful grounds, and incredibly peaceful and private. Definitely recommended!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Seclusion.
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliph
California, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The road to Hana takes you to a slower side of Mau'i. Not a lot of tourist shops but quite restful. (It gets really dark at night!) We enjoyed the Hana Cabana, except for the lack of Verizon cell service until we traveled towards Hana 2 miles east. Internet connectivity worked okay. Bring your own condiments, the selection is limited.

The evening breeze blowing through the flower plants was soothing, the mosquitos liked my wife but not me, (this did generate some discussion).

A nice quite getaway that is off the beaten path.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The quiet darkness at night.
Liked least: The mosquitos and lack of cell service.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren Joy Patar
BC Canada
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
4
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing