We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Neat place in the jungle”
other travellers have booked this property
Kolea Cottage front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kolea Cottage front
Kolea Cottage Living Space Kolea Cottage Bar and dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Kolea Cottage front
Kolea Cottage Living Space
Kolea Cottage Bar and dining table
Kolea Cottage Twin Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Bath/Shower room
Living Space
Kolea Cottage Lanai (porch)
Kolea Cottage fruit basket
Kolea Pawpaw!
Rest Room
Kolea Cottage Approach
Kolea Cottage with Haleakala in background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clash99
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neat place in the jungle”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

After a long day on the road, we were so happy to arrive to this hidden house in the jungle. It was clean and tidy and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The owner was friendly and accommodating and kind enough to provide fruit from the property for our stay.

The house was large enough for the five of us. It was great sleeping with the windows open, hearing the birds and other sounds of the jungle. The kids loved exploring outside around the house and seeing the banana trees, lava rocks, exotic flowers, etc. The property was well maintained and I hope to visit there again someday!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeJim
Tucker, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A+ Accommodation and Hosts”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our stay in Kolea Cottage was pleasant and most comfortable in addition to being excellently located for all your local excursions. The only drawback is that cell phone reception is not possible, but it's not really a problem, as you are able to make local calls on the house phone and can use your mobile when you head into town. The house and grounds are immaculate and fully pleasurable, adding to the unique and magnificent experience of Hana itself! Andrew and Robin are attentive to your needs and offer their knowledge and hospitality with generous ease.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique architecture and modern amenities
Liked least: Directions need to be updated, as the reference to mile markers does not take into account that the crucial one seems to be missing from the highway.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemax
Miller Place, New York
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home in Hana”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Kolea Cottage is a great place to stay in Hana. The home is beautiful, as are the grounds. Everything you need is provided. The house is very close to Wainapanapa State Park, which is spectacular. We were able to enjoy Hana and not rush through.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki696
Menifee, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Kolea Cottage is in an excellent location! We really enjoyed the emenities at the house.
Andrew and Beverly did everything to make our stay comfortable. Beautiful view!
Definently will go back there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: bugs (but they are everytwhere and they supplied sprays and candles)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose in w...
Brightwood, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Home”
Reviewed 23 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Four of use stayed at this home for two nights and loved the quiet lush surroundings. A fresh fruit bowl and flowers greeted us upon arrival and it was a nice touch. The home was very clean and the yard just mowed. It was a good base for exploring the area of Hana. We were last here 25 years ago and really not much has changed but the highway was fine to drive. We took the back road back around to Kihei for the end of our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secluded nature of the home
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurdueBet...
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, quiet cottage outside Hana”
Reviewed 7 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
10
people found this review helpful

Cleverly designed circular (hubby says “dodecagonal”) home in the middle of the Hana wilderness, the Kolea Cottage is a beautiful place to stay. First word when we walked in was "wow". The quiet cottage is completely surrounded by ti plants, so it’s very private, and you have a distant view of the ocean from the front lanai. Be warned though, the mosquitoes come out at night and there were no matches in the cottage to light the bug repellant device.

I have mixed feelings about the cottage – my biggest beef is that it didn’t seem as clean as it should have been for $200+ a night PLUS a cleaning fee. The top of the fridge was covered in rust and what appeared to be mouse droppings. The kitchen floor was sticky and the cooktop was greasy. Some of the coffee mugs were dirty – there isn’t a dishwasher, so you have to trust that the previous occupants or cleaning crew thoroughly washed everything or just do it yourself. The kitchen is decently equipped with plates/pans/utensils, but the knives are dangerously dull. Fixing a $6(!) pineapple from the stand at the end of Kalo road took forever. Side note, I think the guy at the stand took a little advantage of us, stands further down the road had pineapples for less.

I liked that there was some fresh fruit when we arrived and there was a book of things to do in the area. I also appreciated that there was a laundry. Beach towels were provided. The cabin has wifi, but no cell reception. It’s a 2 bedroom, one has a queen and the other has twin beds. The queen was not very comfortable; the bed was hard and the sheets were cheap and ‘squeaky’.

The drive to Hana ‘town’ takes about 7-10 minutes; that’s where the two grocery stores are located, the hotel, and most everything else. Don’t miss Braddah Huts BBQ for lunch and Café Romantica for dinner. In the other direction, back towards Paia, the Nihuku marketplace has a couple of good places to eat, including Island Chef. You are really isolated out here, so be prepared to entertain yourself. Food at the stores is expensive ($8.50 for a gallon of milk!), but the plate lunches from any of the places around are big enough to have leftovers for dinner.

It would be nice if the place had an outside grill, more washcloths, and more DVDs & games. You should consider this cottage as luxury camping, not the luxury you’d expect at a hotel for $200+/night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful grounds, cabin design
Liked least: Not totally clean
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2012
This review is wrong on a number of counts and way out of line with all guestbook and personal comments. There are over 80 really nice notes in the books, no bad ones, and on our other websites there are nothing but fulsome 5-star reviews. These thoroughly contradict her "luxury camping" comment, and of course our pricing is based on two bedrooms and all the facilities, thus not comparable with a room at an hotel.Our efforts to make guests welcome and comfortable and to help them enjoy the delights that Hana has to offer are greatly appreciated by everyone except the writer of the above, who failed to contact us with her concerns. We live in a rainforest in the tropics, so a few bugs are unavoidable, but we do our best and the cottage is certainly kept extremely clean and nice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing