We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop for banana bread and pineapple!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halfway to Hana

Halfway to Hana
Ranked #1 of 9 Shopping in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stop for banana bread and pineapple!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stopped here both ways on the Road to Hana and back for some cut pineapple and for banana bread. The food was excellent and it just adds more fun and deliciousness to the experience! It is also good to stop multiple times on the Road to Hana to let the driver rest, so this is a good stopping place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    42
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seffner, FL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great place to stop on the Road to Hana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Since doing the "Road to Hana" is a day long excursion, this is a great little place to stop to refresh, use the restroom, and buy some Banana Bread! Just a nice little treat. You really can use a break from the 617 curves. There are a few other places, but what the heck, with a name like this, "Halfway to Hana" made sense to us. Having read some other reviews, we regret we didn't try the shaved ice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rcholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stop here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our tour group stopped here on our Road to Hana day. So glad we did! The banana bread is out of this world! We bought a loaf of it on the way to Hana and ANOTHER loaf on the way back. Wish we had bought more! I am craving it now! Very friendly owners. Loved the ice cream. Wide selection of items. Loved being able to put a pin on the calendar on our home state and see where everyone else was visiting from that week. Great find!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4Jesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“AMAZING Banana bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

So after a bit of time in the car zig/zagging down the Road to Hana, you come to a more level small valley, and then "Halfway to Hana". It's easy to find on the right side of the road (if you're heading to Hana), and there's a decent sized parking lot and lots of people coming and going. We stopped for a pit stop to take care of our 5 month old and try the infamous banana bread I'd read so much about. Not dissappointed! We started with one loaf...they're smaller and $6 a piece. It was still warm and very good. I went back and got in line to buy some more for the road. The family in front of me purchased 23 loaves! Wow, I purchased 3 more, these were even fresher and warmer than the first one, so we had a couple pieces out of one of those and then packed the rest to go. It was so good, that I decided we better get some more on our drive back through on the way back to Kihei. Unfortunately it was a Sunday afternoon, and they were closed by then. And no, none of the bread made it home with us, it was gone before we got to the airport 2 days later. We can't rate anything else because we just had the bread...but the bread is why we came and what we'd come back for.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING Shaved Ice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This little stop on the way to Hana has great shaved ice. But it is quite the overpriced little place. For 3 shaved ice and a granola bar, it was 30 dollars! I would go here if you don't have more than 4 people in your party.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gpc334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Halfway to Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing