We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, but expensive”

Ka'uiki Dining Room @ Travaasa Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Restaurants in Hana
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good, but expensive”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We never mind paying for exceptional food, wine and service but the problem here is that the prices are just too high for what you receive. The food was good, the service was very good but I could not say that we received good value. Overall we enjoyed our evening because we knew ahead of time what to expect. I think we would go back if we find ourselves in Hana again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    61
    51
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just so-so!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This used to be a great restaurant in a very special spot of the world. Unfortunately it is not up to its usual caliber. The salad was just bland, not what you would expect from this area. The chocolate desert was nothing special and not worth the calories. I hope they bring this outstanding restaurant back to it original glory.

Helpful?
Thank Pumpvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
329 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very nice...tad uppity”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Very good food..good service...chat up the servers ..i recommend highly but not much to choose from in Hana food wise.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lewis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
447 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, limited options for lunch/dinner”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had breakfast here each day during our stay at the Travaasa Hotel. There were many options for omelets and fresh fruit. I was disappointed that they did not seem prepared for those who are gluten-free. Most people said not to each lunch or dinner there because the prices were too high. Again, it was not the easiest for gluten-free and we stuck with breakfast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kenapastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
203 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great view, but food and service need work”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were looking forward to our stop here after doing the southern road to Hana. Read good things and thought drinks at the lounge and a big dinner would be great to end our day.

Sat down in the lounge and had to wait about 15 minutes before we were attended to. Reason for this was that management had only one waitress servicing the area. Not bad if there was only a couple tables, but at least 10 were occupied and that only increased. A large group also occupied one table and they could have used their own waitress alone. We recognize this as a mangement problem, not the wait staff.

Eventually we got our drinks and a menu, but nothing appealed to my wife so we said we would wait for the next menu to come out.
Once the new menu came out 15 minutes later, we agreed on a small plate of steak kabobs. Priced at $19, we expected some substance to it, wrong.
We were delivered four small kabobs with about a 1/3 of a steak worth of meat on them. They tasted good, but not worth the price at all.

After finishing our drinks and the meal (about 10 minutes), we had to hunt down someone to pay our tab to as the waitress and bartender were working their butts offs to service the filling lounge.

I expected a lot more from Travaasa, especially given their rates and type of place it is. Instead, it was the worst place we visited on our entire trip.

-Kitchen needs to work on the quantity of food, or at least lower the price to reflect what you get.
-Management needs to ensure the correct amount of staff is around to deal with the paying customers when it's busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElementTent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ka'uiki Dining Room @ Travaasa Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Ka'uiki Dining Room @ Travaasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing