We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perrrrrfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hana Oceanfront Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perrrrrfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just got home, it was one of the toughest places to leave. For my wife and I it really was Perrrrrfect, exactly what we wanted in a vacation. Walking distance to beautiful Hamoa and Koki beaches. Hamoa is virtually across the street, we watched surfers and whales from our front porch - every day. The town of Hana was just the right size for us, the biggest crowd the entire week was when all the locals came out for the ball game. Hiking at the parks and even across the street was very enjoyable.

We stayed in the front house. It was very comfortable, very clean, with a surprisingly well stocked kitchen, and very well decorated - MUCH better than any hotel suite I've stayed.

The locals are still friendly, if you go, and you should, please leave your stateside attitudes at home - It is wise to give into Hana time.

We stayed one week and I regret we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Make sure to eat lunch at the Thai restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 700Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a one bedroom house that is across the road from one of the most beautiful beaches in the western hemisphere, Hamoa Beach. There were surfers and swimmers. Several other fabulous beaches were a short drive.

Gourmet cooks will find the kitchen to their liking, although they had better purchase their groceries before getting to Hana. We ate most of our meals on the front porch, watching the waves come in. The TV and sound system is only adequate, but why use them?

Sandi was quite helpful and knows the area quite well. The guestbooks were filled with love letters to Hana and the cottage, written over the many years Sandi has been renting the house. This was our second stay there and hopefully there will be another.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mheitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanabythesea, Owner at Hana Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and letting myself and others know that you loved your stay with us. It is such a compliment when guests decide to return for a second time, given all the beautiful places in the world and especially Hawaii. I feel blessed that you have found us and a bit of a paradise, and look forward to a three-peat!
Aloha, Sandi and Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for our honey moon and it really made our trip! Beaches are surreal along with the whole area of Hana. Respect the land and the locals and you'll have a great trip. Hana is very special place, lets keep it that way.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsbjake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had the privilege of staying at the cottage for a week over New Year and it was just heavenly!
The cottage is nestled in a rainforest that is so lush, tropical and peaceful and right across from one of the most gorgeous beaches you will ever see. It is remote and very different from the suburbia of the resort areas. It is what we imagined the true Hawaii to be.
This was our first time staying at a self-catering establishment and we were so happy and could not have asked for anything more. The cottage was like a home away from home. It was extremely clean, fully equipped and tastefully decorated. We were able to instantly relax and be comfortable in this very private and magical setting. Rain or shine we sat on the porch to have all our meals, watching the ocean, listening to the waves and at night admiring the star studded sky.
Our hosts Sandi and Dan could not have been more hospitable. Their trust in their guests, generously and helpfulness made you feel so welcome. The information package that Sandy mails to your home before arrival is filled with helpful information like stocking on groceries if your stay is a little longer. While there are a couple of grocery stores in Hana, their offerings are very basic and a bit pricey. During our stay the ocean was quite rough and so it was hard to come by fresh fish as the fishermen could not go out. We did however really enjoy the delicious free range local Beef. We bought some of our fruits and vegetables at local stands, and Hana Fresh, where we could buy wonderful (but limited) organic produce, macadamia banana bread, and the best citrus jam we have ever had.
Thanks again, Sandi and Dan. We had an amazing vacation, and can't wait to return to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanabythesea, Owner at Hana Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Aloha and Happy New Year again. Thank you for joining us in 2013 and the transition into 2014. It was so wonderful to have you join us during this special time of year and it does my heart good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought it was magical! I am so blessed to get to live in Paradise year round and meet wonderful people like you and share my bit of Paradise with them. Even with the detour going on our place is wonderful!

Yes, please join us again! Mahalo and Aloha, Sandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Hana Oceanfront Cottages for one night last June. We live in Lahaina on the west side of Maui and were looking for a one night Saturday night stay to help us break up our Road to Hana adventures. I contacted Sandi to see if they had any one night stays available and they happened to have one night between guest visits that worked perfectly for us.

We stayed in the suite and absolutely loved it. The unit is tastefully decorated and is very clean and comfortable. The location is wonderful- right across the road from Hamoa Beach. The unit was fully stocked with everything you could need.

Sandi was a wonderful host. We experienced very heavy rain the next morning. Sandi helped us prioritize the rest of our Hana sights and given our slightly late start she recommended we skip the red sand beach and go straight to the bamboo forest hike. After visiting the red sand beach recently, I'm glad we didn't try to do that- it would have been very muddy and difficult to get down to the beach. I'm a wedding coordinator on Maui and Sandi took some of my cards to distribute and we also traded lists of favorite places to eat on island. Recently, Sandi also helped connect me with other Hana property managers when I needed a place to stay in Hana but she did not have vacancy. Mahalo, Sandi, for your assistance!

I would recommend packing a big cooler with food and consider cooking your meals. Hana has very limited grocery stores and dining options. For lunch, the thai place in town is the best thai food I've ever had.

If you are looking for a peaceful and special place to stay in Hana, look no further! We hope to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite and loved it. I think the cottage has a better view and more privacy, but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetheLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hanna Oceanfront Cottage was exactly what we were looking for! It is a stones throw away from an amazing beach! To make it even better, you can watch the water from your private balcony!
The cottage was perfect for us! We brought all of our food (highly recommended) and the cottage had everything we needed.
Thank you Sandi for making our honeymoon a truly amazing one! We stayed for 5 days and then went to Kihei...but we wished we stayed here the entire time!! There was lots to do here too..hikes, red sand beach, venus pools!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moosebear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Review: If you are looking for the most beautiful view near Hana this well-appointed and squeaky clean Hawaiian cottage is the place for you! Overlooking the beautiful Hamoa Beach, this location beats all. The mood is quiet and peaceful. The cottage is equipped with everything including extras to enjoy the beach across the street. The owners are always available for advice and assistance if needed. We were welcomed with open arms and felt very much at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
2.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
47.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
29.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
29.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 522 Haneoo Road, PO Box 843, Hana, Maui, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hana Oceanfront Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"E Komo Mai" Welcome to Hana Oceanfront Cottages at Hana By the Sea! We offer two of the most beautiful and romantic couple's only oceanfront vacation retreat homes, located in secluded Hana, Maui, Hawaii. Imagine walking out your door and being just a few steps from one of the best beaches in all of Hawaii, Hamoa Beach. Breathtaking views of the ocean and Hamoa Coast are visible from almost every window in both of our accommodations. Both our Hamoa Beach Cottage and Hamoa Beach Suite are spacious with tropical interiors, one bedroom and one bath, featuring queen-size bamboo sleigh beds with new gel technology mattresses. Read the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and you will find that our guests love our beautiful accommodations, tropical setting and ideal location. You are invited to join us. K Komo Mai, you are welcome as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hana Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Hana
Hana Oceanfront Cottages Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing