We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the cows”
Review of Fagan's Cross

Fagan's Cross
Ranked #9 of 32 things to do in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kodiak, Alaska
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Watch out for the cows”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We love this hike. It's beautiful and not too long to do with kids. We'd done the hike 2 years ago and upon visiting Hana again we decided to do it with our three kids 6,4, and 1( in the backpack ). When we got there the cows were close to the walkway but we thought they must be docile since there were no signs or warnings and we'd never heard of any worry about cows. So we hiked to the top and saw a lovely sunset. On our way down the cows were all congregated on the walkway , we just kept walking thinking they'd move as we got closer. One cow came running at us and stopped a few feet and started lowing and jumping in the air throwing his head around and another came up behind us doing the same! Lots of cows were runnig and throwing their heads around My baby and 4 year old were screaming in terror, we had walking sticks that I think kept them from charging and attacking us. I am so thankful we were all ok, we did not have a dog or any reason that we seemed threatening that I know of. I was so shaky and scared I wanted to cry. It IS a beautiful view and hike I just wished someone had told me about the danger of the cows before we went.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kodiakgirl104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hike to the cross is very easy. Steep, but easy. The views of Hana from the cross are breathtaking. There are no restrooms up top, so make sure you take care of that before you begin the hike.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fun family hike”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hike up to the cross was almost easy enough for our 2 year old and the view from the top is exceptional and beautiful, and the monument is interesting as well. I would recommend making the hike to Fagan's Cross if you are in Hana. It may also be best to go earlier in the day or later in the day, as we went around midday and it was fairly hot and made us quite sweaty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaileaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Panoramic View of Hana Bay”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It's a good walk uphill to the cross and the reward is the best view one can find of Hana and the surrounding coastline.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cardinal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something the Daytrippers to Hana Might Not Experience”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Fagan's Cross was something I had not heard about, probably because so many people try to do Hana in a day. We stayed a couple of nights and it was well worth it.
Wear your hiking shoes. Take a camera. Go early or late--the vistas are incredible. I read up on Fagan. He was considered the "guardian angel" of Hana, and that is why this cross, constructed of lava rock, was erected in his honor, overlooking the magnificent Hana Bay. If you go early, you can park in the Hotel parking lot.
We went early, so we saw the sun rise out of the ocean as we were heading up the hill, and by the time we got there, it was reflecting magnificently behind the massive cross. The sounds of the waves, birds, cows and other animals awakening made for a most memorable moment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank veritas1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fagan's Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing