We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here in Hana!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hana Accommodations

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hana Accommodations
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay here in Hana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

This place has so much going for it I'll have to break it down:

Location: You can't be in a better spot, right across from the Venus pool and less than a mile from Hamoa beach (hands down my favorite in Maui).

Service: Tom was great, even giving me a new container of butter when I forgot to pick some up from the store. He also went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed, from a boogie board for Hamoa to beach towels to salt & pepper. Very friendly too!

Accommodations: We stayed at the Lani Too cottage and it was clean, private, bug free, and the full kitchen was great for preparing breakfast. The outdoor bbq was also great, and we brought some charcoal, chicken, and corn for one of the most tranquil dinners I've had, eating on the patio under the Hana stars.

Sights: We were able to take our time on the road to Hana coming in, and then in the morning we had the Seven Sacred Pools basically all to ourselves. I've done the road to Hana once before this trip where we did it in one day and I will always from now on be staying with Tom to break it up. I might even stay there a few days next time - A really great experience all around.

Room Tip: Book in advance, Bring plenty of supplies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michapok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    32
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed in the studio cottage. Very nicely decorated and located close to all the great locations in Hana. Tom is very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend staying the night in Hana to get a true feel of the area! We will be back!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank xmaclaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I had a wonderful solo stay in the Hideaway with Hana Accommodations. The studio was just large enough for me with a queen size bed, small kitchen area (behind a sliding curtain) and large bathroom. The kitchen had a microwave, small fridge, coffee pot, blender, toaster and every little necessity that you might need. The front porch was also wonderful with a high-top table and plenty of balcony railing to hang damp towels and clothes from! I never used the TV, but there was one in the room and the alarm was also an IPod docking station.

Across the street (5-10 min) walk is a trail that leads to e WONDERFUL "pool" -- natural, of course -- actually was my favorite swimming spot on my whole multi-island vacation!! The trail is a bit tricky, but well worth the risk for a dip in this refreshing and calm bit of water!

Wireless internet was also easily picked up from the Hideaway -- strong signal.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Hideaway is perfect for solo traveler or couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xjgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Our extended family of 6 spent 2 nights at Maka Kai and had a great visit. You can't beat the price and location. If we did this trip again, we would have spent more time in Hana and less on the west shore. The house is near the road, as pointed out by other reviewers, but there is little traffic at night which is when we were there. And bedroom windows are all frosted glass jalousie-style tropical windows, which offer privicy and ventilation (lighten up, people). The owner was very friendly and gave us great tips for local sites, including Venus pools which are only a 5 minute walk from the house. And don't miss body surfing at nearby Hamoa (the owner provided the boards).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_in_Kalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

There are 4 units on this property. We stayed in the Lani Makaalae Too unit. It was EXACTLY what we needed after being on the Big Island at the Hilton Waikola Village for 4 nights. This property was quiet, we didn't see any other quests while we were there yet the owner Tom told us other's were there. Tom greeted us upon arrival and was very helpful and friendly. We stayed 2 nights and were gone during most of the day exploring the wonderful parts of Hana. This cottage is out of town a bit so it may not be right for those who need lots of people. For swimming, you can walk across the road to Venus Pools but I don't recommend that for young children or out of shape adults because you have to navigate a slippery cliff to get in the pool but once in, all is good. Wear your water shoes! If young children or looking for sand...go to Hamoa beach about a mile or so away if you want to swim. There is no A/C but it really wasn't needed. There are fans in all the room and on the lanai. I rated sleep quality average because the bed was a bit firm for me however...the sound of the ocean crashing against the shore and the ocean breeze improved the rating to average! Loved the sound of the ocean in the evening. Note: Bring all your food with you from town! Your food taste great on the lanai and cooking just seems better when you grill outside with the sound of the ocean! The kitchen had everything we needed and Tom even provided a lighter for the cool charcoal grill. Prior to arriving I found the woman who I made reservations very freindly and she gave me tons of "tips and tricks" to make our stay successsful! If you are wondering about if the kitchen has an item, just ask, the owners are happy to let you know. There was a hot tub but it didn't have water in it. We weren't interested in it so it didn't affect our stay at all. There were also banana trees in the yard. We didn't "help ourselves" nor did we ask but they certainly were tempted and had we stayed another day, I may have asked if we could have tried one! Lastly, the bathroom looked like it was recently remodeled with new fixtures and vanity top. Kudos to the owners for this. It looked really nice!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Nice place to unwind after the long drive to Hana. The studio was comfortable for two adults, clean and nicely decorated. Other reviewers commented about the proximity to the road but we didn't notice much traffic at all. With a bottle of wine from the general store in town and chicken from the barbecue stand just up the road, we enjoyed a spontaneous dinner on the deck. Because this is tropical area you need to be rigorous about putting food away - we did see a few ants. The property owner was pleasant and informative, but mostly he left us alone - thanks Tom. We had time for only one night, but will plan a longer visit next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etc3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

A fantastic location right next to the Venus Pool. It's a great stop at the end of a long drive and in an ideal spot for driving on around the south end of Maui in the morning. We stayed in the hideaway room right by the highway. I've read some other people complaining about the traffic, but we arrived around 5pm and I can't recall too many cars passing by on the road after the sun went down.

There's a private patio with a Bistro table and chairs with a spectacular view of the ocean (say Hi to the whales for us! ) Bring a bottle of wine and some simple food as there is not much for food preparation. There is a coffee maker (no coffee though) a toaster and a fridge. There's a microwave and a BBQ if you need to cook. The hideaway doesn't have a sink in the kitchen nook, so you do have to wash your dishes in the bathroom sink as some other travelers have noted. It seems that Tom has fixed the lack of window treatments, as we had blinds on our room.

The best feature by far is the proximity to the Venus Pool. If you arrive in the late afternoon you're likely to have the Venus pool all to yourself for a few hours before it gets dark. From the Hideaway room you just have to cross the highway and a grassy field to get to the pool. We sat there for an hour with it all to ourselves. Quite a nice change from all the other attractions on the road to Hana where we had to fight for parking and elbow people out of the way to take pictures.

Simple, charming, the right spot at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graemelives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
7.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
7.7 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
22.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
16.3 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Accommodations

Property: Hana Accommodations
Address: PO Box 564, Hana, Maui, HI 96713-0564
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hana Hotel Hana
Hana Accommodations Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing