We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hana Accommodations-Needs to Stop Smoking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hana Accommodations
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I am very sad to report that there was some intense cigarrete activity leaking from the adjacent room at around midnight. This was not the faint fading smell of the ocassional cigarrete smoker but rather the stench of a chain smoker who for several hours invaded our bedroom through the cracks on the wall. I don't know who lives next-door to the Studio but I assumed it is the lady manager and not a guest. If this is true then there could be cigarrete smell every single night. Of all places , the last place I want to smell smoke is in a rain forest.
Other than that, the unit is a super small studio, located near a noisy road but it has many accessories, like a microwave oven, refrigerator, etc. It is located a short walking distance from the Venus Pool. Pity I can't recommend them, the place has great potential but zero respect for the guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ProTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We planned to visit Hana but decided to stay there for one night instead of doing the all-day road trip from Ka'anapali. We chose this property because of its great value (we were only staying one night and needed a clean, comfy place vs. looking for luxe digs) as well as its location so close to the Venus Pool.

The Hideaway was cozy but provided what we needed for our brief stay. We weren't bothered by the noise at all from the road, which, as many reviewers have pointed out, quieted down by evening time. The private patio was nice but we didn't stay long enough to really take advantage of hanging out there, although the rest of the property was manicured and looked nice. The owner was helpful and welcomed us when we arrived. I think next time, I would opt for a detached unit. The Hideaway shares a wall with the "office," and we can hear voices and the TV, which wasn't too loud - it just made me aware that we talked loudly, our own conversations might be overheard.

I'd recommend this place if you'd like a place to stay in Hana. We'd return and try one of the other units. Staying overnight allowed us to drive to Hana in a more leisurely manner and to enjoy the various waterfalls, etc. without rushing. The next day, after watching the sun rise at the Venus Pool, we drove even farther down the highway (no other tourists in sight) to visit the Seven Sacred Pools and explored lots of other hidden gems, turning back around 36 mile marker (numbers descend).

Room Tip: The Hideaway faces the street so if you're sensitive to noise, then choose other units. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank cosmotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a lovely spot. We only had one night in Hana - too bad.

Lani Too is a terrific cottage - on a lovely garden property. Nice views of the back side of Haleakala and also of the coast and the Island of Hawaii. The rooms are nicely appointed and there is a well equipped kitchen. There are two decks for enjoying outdoor eating.

This is on the 'far' side of hana a couple of miles - so it's handy for heading off to Oheo Gulch in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToandMuskokaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you do your research and look what other properties are charging, and take in to account that you can get a single night stay here and whats on offer - I don't know how you can't rate it excellent in that regard. We had a budget for a family for 4 travelling to Hana and the Lani II met it perfectly. I was clean, had everything you needed and comfortable beds. I'm not a particular heavy sleeper at all but heard no traffic noise and the curtains kept the light out. I read the website to understand it was a bath inside and only a outdoor shower, but this isn't the case there is a indoor shower also. Tom is great, friendly on arrival and then leaves you alone. No bugs either. Loved it, thank you Tom from the UK! PS he has a lovely garden worthy of a few photos.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoniStubbs-Thrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We loved the yellow Maka Kai house. Although it was just the two of us for two nights we enjoyed our 3 bedroom space immensely. Tom was great and we enjoyed the fact that we weren't bothered by anyone.
The street is directly in front of the house and there are cars coming and going starting at 5:30 am but it really didn't bother us. Internet was strong and it had all the amenities we wanted.

Room Tip: We slept in the back room with the queen bed. Helped with sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I was very pleased with this accommodation --- loved the porch out front, the simple cooking facilities, the fridge, the location, the sunrise, the proximity to Venus Pools (although there was almost no water in the pools when we went). And the price was great! Even though we were already paying for accommodations in Wailea, it was well worth the extra expense to spend the night in Hana, enjoy the ride, and the attractions beyond town, and not have to drive back in the same day. A good decision, and a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 516Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Rather difficult to find for us, but a good spot after the city of Hana. Perfect location to stay in Hana overnight, and continue further along the road past Hana on the following day. Once there, Tom provided us with a very handy map and plenty of advices to go about all the Hana's treasures. The B&B is close to town and right across from the Venus pool and the beautiful, secluded black sand beach. We stayed at the Lani Studio for our visit to Hana. The room/studio is overall in good shape although could use some updating. However, it is right on the street and the sun rises straight onto the room. With cars and sunlight, we couldn't sleep no longer and decided to made the better of the morning: early jog and swimming.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannythyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
3.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
28.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
29.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,074 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
25.8 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Accommodations

Address: PO Box 564, Hana, Maui, HI 96713-0564
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Price Range: £57 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hana Hotel Hana
Hana Accommodations Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing