We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahhh-mazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hana Accommodations
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Ahhh-mazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the Lanai Studio for 5 nights. It was absolute perfection. So quiet, calm, green, and comfortable. This is the kind of place we love. No AC, no pretending that we're not in a tropical locations, just the lovely breeze and a ceiling fan to help us acclimate to the tropical weather. Being in Hana though, it never really gets that hot. This location is right across from the Waioka pool (aka. Venus Pool, but don't call it that!). You can see the ocean from the window, over the huge (sugarcane?) field. Go walk out into it in the morning and watch the sunrise... unreal!
This place is for laid back, nature-loving, folks. They had beach-towels upon request, and some coolers to borrow, but no other beach stuff. Be prepared to share the place with little geckos, and realize that they are there helping to keep the small insect population down and they will never bother you at all. We loved loved loved the outdoor shower. We used it everyday!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZavisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    32
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Everything about this bungalow was great. If I can recommend anything to anyone visiting Maui for the first time, I recommend staying overnight in Hana. To drive 3.5 hours to Hana (more if you're stopping at all the hiking stops, garden of eden, black sand, red sand, the pools, waterfalls, etc) it can take you nearly 6-7 hours to complete... Do you really want to drive back down in the same day? (Especially at night.. I WOULD NOT recommend driving the road down at night)

This place is EVERYTHING you need! Shelly was great! Very accommodating, very sweet. She returned all my phone calls with my hundreds of questions. We stayed in the biggest bungalow they offer. The three bedroom. (There were 4 of us) and it was great. This house could easily fit 6 people. Two bedrooms have a double bed, and the third bedroom has two single beds. Everything was clean and in great working condition. It was everything we could have asked for, and I definitely plan on returning! This house is perfectly located, great view of the ocean in front of the house, and my favorite little extra was the huge mango tree in the yard, which was our breakfast.

Can't say enough amazing things about this place! My only regret is not staying longer.
The living room was decorated beautifully. Theres a TV (bring DVDs if you want)

Another suggestion- If you plan on utilizing the kitchen (and I suggest to since theres only one restaurant in Hana, and I am not sure how good it is) do your food shopping before you start your drive to Hana. Even if you get all of your basics, then the important foods that will spoil in the car, get in Hana, then do that. We did not do that and went to the little market in the town.. We bought a pack of hotdogs, buns, a tiny steak, two 6-packs, bottle of soda, 3 waters, briquettes, cheese, cream cheese, and tostitos-- RIDICULOUS! SUPER expensive!

Also- GAS UP before your trip to Hana-- theres one gas station and its very expensive!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welcom2paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A great deal and a great location on the Hana road in Maui. Located only a short walk from the gorgeous Venus Pool and a short drive into Hana, it's a great place to stop off.
Our plan was to drive around the Hana road, stopping at several sights along the way before the town of Hana, stay one night, and proceed on the road back through the Oheo Gulch.
There are a few room options on their private property, and we chose the cheapest, studio apartment with a kitchenette (just a microwave and small fridge). I strongly suggest shopping in Kahului at a market before starting your drive into Hana if you want to keep things cheap. Maui is more expensive in general, but the remote Hana-side is even more expensive then the other, more accessible sides of the island. The restaurants and market nearby are $$$ and if you get there later in the day the few cheaper options might be closed already.

For an amazing morning here, wake up with the sun, watch it rise and listen to the birds singing to each other while you enjoy breakfast on your lanai, with a view of a field and the ocean. Start down to the Venus Pool to enjoy it alone (long before the people just starting the drive around Hana start out.) If you're heading to the Oheo Gulch, this is a great location from which to leave early and also beat the crowds and the heat!
The guys who own the property are really nice and helpful. We enjoyed talking to them quite a bit during our one night stay. They definitely take pride in their accommodations and landscaping, which is just lovely.
They also have a large house for rent at a great rate that I would definitely recommend to groups or families for a quiet stay in Hana in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mailemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I am very sad to report that there was some intense cigarrete activity leaking from the adjacent room at around midnight. This was not the faint fading smell of the ocassional cigarrete smoker but rather the stench of a chain smoker who for several hours invaded our bedroom through the cracks on the wall. I don't know who lives next-door to the Studio but I assumed it is the lady manager and not a guest. If this is true then there could be cigarrete smell every single night. Of all places , the last place I want to smell smoke is in a rain forest.
Other than that, the unit is a super small studio, located near a noisy road but it has many accessories, like a microwave oven, refrigerator, etc. It is located a short walking distance from the Venus Pool. Pity I can't recommend them, the place has great potential but zero respect for the guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ProTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We planned to visit Hana but decided to stay there for one night instead of doing the all-day road trip from Ka'anapali. We chose this property because of its great value (we were only staying one night and needed a clean, comfy place vs. looking for luxe digs) as well as its location so close to the Venus Pool.

The Hideaway was cozy but provided what we needed for our brief stay. We weren't bothered by the noise at all from the road, which, as many reviewers have pointed out, quieted down by evening time. The private patio was nice but we didn't stay long enough to really take advantage of hanging out there, although the rest of the property was manicured and looked nice. The owner was helpful and welcomed us when we arrived. I think next time, I would opt for a detached unit. The Hideaway shares a wall with the "office," and we can hear voices and the TV, which wasn't too loud - it just made me aware that we talked loudly, our own conversations might be overheard.

I'd recommend this place if you'd like a place to stay in Hana. We'd return and try one of the other units. Staying overnight allowed us to drive to Hana in a more leisurely manner and to enjoy the various waterfalls, etc. without rushing. The next day, after watching the sun rise at the Venus Pool, we drove even farther down the highway (no other tourists in sight) to visit the Seven Sacred Pools and explored lots of other hidden gems, turning back around 36 mile marker (numbers descend).

Room Tip: The Hideaway faces the street so if you're sensitive to noise, then choose other units. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank cosmotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a lovely spot. We only had one night in Hana - too bad.

Lani Too is a terrific cottage - on a lovely garden property. Nice views of the back side of Haleakala and also of the coast and the Island of Hawaii. The rooms are nicely appointed and there is a well equipped kitchen. There are two decks for enjoying outdoor eating.

This is on the 'far' side of hana a couple of miles - so it's handy for heading off to Oheo Gulch in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToandMuskokaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you do your research and look what other properties are charging, and take in to account that you can get a single night stay here and whats on offer - I don't know how you can't rate it excellent in that regard. We had a budget for a family for 4 travelling to Hana and the Lani II met it perfectly. I was clean, had everything you needed and comfortable beds. I'm not a particular heavy sleeper at all but heard no traffic noise and the curtains kept the light out. I read the website to understand it was a bath inside and only a outdoor shower, but this isn't the case there is a indoor shower also. Tom is great, friendly on arrival and then leaves you alone. No bugs either. Loved it, thank you Tom from the UK! PS he has a lovely garden worthy of a few photos.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoniStubbs-Thrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
3.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
3.7 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
29.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.1 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
24.5 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Accommodations

Property: Hana Accommodations
Address: PO Box 564, Hana, Maui, HI 96713-0564
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hana Hotel Hana
Hana Accommodations Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing