We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This isn't a B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens
Ranked #9 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This isn't a B&B”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were very disappointed in the Hana Maui Botanical Gardens B&B. It's not a B&B in my book. The "continental" breakfast consists of one frozen Cosco muffin per day per person. You have to take it out of the fridge and heat it yourself (and the oven doesn't work, there's a note saying it's broken). There's a note on the window that it's broken. There's a note saying not to charge your electronics, the power is limited and might damage your equipment. The rooms are very quiet and peaceful at night, if there is no one in the other unit and if they aren't running their generator. We had a family with a two year old next door, with walls that might as well have been made of paper. They didn't sleep much and neither did we. We found the room depressing and run down. This is a room from several decades ago, and somewhat neglected and worse for wear. Hana can be a very expensive area and this was not that expensive. The key is to have low expectations and bring your own food and water.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FurtherAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    9
    10
    6
See reviews for
5
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a 2 night stay in the "Marine Room". Very dark at night with no night lights. lots of signs posted to avoid using too much electricity due to it being solar powered (and yet an empty glade plug in was left in the wall socket). Pleasantly surprised by the water actually being hot in the shower. No cell service or internet. Nice map of the property with all the trees/fruit labeled on it but not very accurate. Would not stay here with kids or for more than 1 night without an increase in time consuming activities (board games! or a full deck of cards). Also, a capri sun packet and semi-frozen muffin per person doesn't count as "breakfast".
Overall, would rather do the road to Hana in one day and probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 24 September 2015
Aloha, Sorry, you were not happy. I don't think you have ever been off the grid? That means there is no utility lines to the property. I do have solar electric which means the sun (if it is shining) fills up large expensive batteries during the day and then we use that at night. Like a car battery. It also means there is no internet or cell phone reception. And it means you need to be conservative using it. I tell people turn off lights you are not using and please do not leave the porch light on when you leave or go inside the house. This happens a lot. Then the batteries shut down and we have no electric at all.

The refrigerator is gas run, which is a little different and not as cold as people are used to with electric. So I ask people not to touch the controls which mess it up.

This is the rain forest and I do have a large garden but this is a big difference from staying in a hotel or other bed and breakfast places. But the plus is, you do have privacy and a gas appliance kitchen, but no oven because the pilot light would burn up lots of gas costs. And access to walk a 10 acre garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koloa, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Sleeping in Hana, Maui is pricey, but this was a place we could afford, 4 miles from town. JoLoyce is very friendly and informative. The Marine Studio we stayed in is cutely decorated with all manner of marine life. We slept very well in the comfy queen bed, and it is very dark and quiet at night, being far from the highway on a secluded rustic road. This room also has two twin beds. There is no Wi-Fi, and our Sprint phones didn't work in Hana. She lives off the electric grid and we were instructed not to charge any of our devices as she uses a generator for electricity. There is a refrigerator, stove and hot running water, but no TV. Overall we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Scarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

First, I want to start off by saying that we are NOT city people. Out of the 3 nights that we spent on Maui, 2 of them were in Hana at the Botanical Gardens B&B. (And Hana is certainly not known for shopping and nightlife). If you need white-glove service, chocolates on your pillows, and fancy amenities, this place is not for you (in that case, staying in Hana probably wouldn't be your first choice anyway).

JoLoyce, the owner, is super nice and the property is just gorgeous. The room we stayed in (Marine Studio) was perfectly themed and it was easy to see that a lot of love was put into designing it. The gardens out back were quiet and smelled oh-so-good, and made a perfect place to walk and take-in the loveliness and the greenery of the island. The kitchen was stocked with basic needs (plates, utensils, pans, stove, can opener, etc), which was quite useful as it was difficult to find eating places in Hana (especially at odd hours).

And, the nights were SO quiet (even with the geckos - or maybe other critters...? - partying on the roof, which made it all more awesome and didn't bother us at all). The property really was a fun place to come back to just relax and take in a bit of paradise. Of all the places we stayed in the Hawaiian islands, over a week and a half, this was by far, our favorite. We are contemplating returning to Maui next year, just so we can stay at the B&B again. What a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hugallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had a nice stay at this simple but lovely cottage in the middle of the botanical garden. We stayed 3 nights at the marine studio. It is a nice apartment. Everything was clean and well prepared. It seems that JoLoyce had made to many bad experiences with people using to much electricity, as there are many signs around to swith of lights. The place is so off the grid that there is even not mobile phone connection, great!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sustorevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Arrived after the 4PM check in time. While driving to the carport, we heard voices from the darkness under a tin roof yelling for us to stop and back up. We backed up and got out of the car dodging dog poops along the way. JoLoyce introduced herself and explained a few things about the room. Upon entering the "flower room", we realized we had made a huge mistake. Knowing our payment was non-refundable and also that there was no vacancy in any of the reasonably prices rooms in the area, we decided to make the best of the dark and dismal space. We read the notices informing us of the ecology, farm, solar aspects of the place. Don't leave the lights on, don't plug in any of your electronics. We knew going in we would be "off-the-grid", we’ve done that before and enjoyed it. This was not enjoyable. The building looks like a garage or stable converted into living space with 2x4 walls painted bright yellow with faded, dusty prints of flowers, and shower curtains on the windows and door. Notes that you needed to "back off the faucet, don't move the window- it's stuck, don't use the oven- it malfunctions," how to use the non-existent fridge, littered the walls. On our way out to dinner, we switched on the outside light. A voice came from the darkness under the tin roof of the main house to turn it off.
We spent as little time here as possible. Even making a small meal was difficult due to the lack of proper kitchen equipment. Breakfast was 2 juice boxes left on the table.
We thought at least the night would be peaceful and we could listen to the grass grow. Wrong! Cars passing parallel to the room, bumped along the rutted road. Something scratched at the door most of the night, geckos chirped and scurried across the ceiling. An early morning wake -up call (was I ever asleep?) by the rooster, 3AM, 4, 5. We should have ignored the signs and left a light on but were afraid of draining the solar batteries, which btw, no solar panels were seen, just a propane tank.
JoLoyce seems kind and well-meaning, but if you don’t want to be bummed-out in paradise choose another spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelerz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Me and my two friends went for the road to Hana, not really knowing what to expect.
We booked last minute and this resort looked like the only one that had one night stay and cheapest solution possible, despite of the reviews not so reassuring.
I have to say that the place was spotless, no bugs at all and the studio was well decorated and mantained enough for an accomodation in the middle of the tropical forest.
We stayed in the marine studio, 3 people in total, and the beds were clean and there were no bugs at all.
It s an eco-sustainable farm so don t expect to find fanciness or too much electric stuff going on.
Just enjoy the magnificent garden and the peaceful environment that only the tropical forest can give you.
Highly recommended if you want to stay in hana but not the the conventional resort style of places.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
4.0 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
27.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
27.1 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
6.0 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
27.1 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Maui Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Maui Botanical Gardens

Property: Hana Maui Botanical Gardens
Address: 470 Ulaino Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large easy to walk garden with semi tropical fruits and flowers. A fee of $3 per person is requested. Area is approximately 10 acres and takes about 15 minutes unless you want to relax more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens Hotel Hana
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing