We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bamboo Inn on Hana Bay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Peaceful & relaxing”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I arrived on Maui at noon, rented a car, and drove "The Road to Hana", arriving at The Bamboo Inn about 4:00 pm. John, the owner, was there to welcome us and directed us to the I'wa suite. Access was up an outdoor flight of stairs - no problem for us, but could be a challenge if you're elderly or have a lot of luggage. Our room was tastefully decorated with fresh tropical flowers, bamboo furniture, a kitchen (which we didn't use), a good-sized washroom with a great shower, and a super comfy (although old) bed. We had our own private lanai (balcony) with 2 chairs and a table overlooking the black lava beach and the crashing waves. Unfortunately we didn't spend much time out there as we picked a super windy time to visit and it was cold sitting outside. The sunrises every morning were spectacular!

We found the room to be clean, spacious and comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights and were left completely on our own; it was very private. There is no maid service, and we were told that water is scarce so they don't supply beach towels (so bring your own). However, beach mats, chairs and toys are available if you need them. Also, take a flashlight if you don't expect to be back until after dark - there were no lights on the way to our room, so it can be a bit precarious.

Every morning at 8:30 a small basket was left on a table in the courtyard for each room. Each basket contained warm croissants, warm muffins or banana bread, fresh pineapple & bananas, butter, jam, and tropical fruit punch. It was a nice way to start the day, as you could eat in the courtyard or take the basket back to your room.

The best part of our stay was our invitation to the "Tiki Lounge". John recently finished a room which he made into a lounge, and on the Friday night of our stay he invited the guests and a bunch of the locals for Happy Hour. He provided all the alcohol and snacks, and everyone mingled and got to know each other. It was one of the highlights of our trip to Hana, getting to know the people who call this place home, and it was really nice of John to include us.

Everything is expensive in Hana, but The Bamboo Inn is a good choice. My husband accidentally left his watch in the room when we checked out, and John was nice enough to mail it all the way to Canada without even being asked.

We liked the laid back feeling, the view, the central location, and the privacy. Don't expect 5-star when you go to Hana. It is what it is!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    33
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
14
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Inn and would have stayed longer had we known what the experience would be like. We had the Honu Suite with an outdoor shower and outdoor private jetted tub and found the place completely charming. John Romain, the owner, was one of the best hosts we've ever had. We got our dates mixed up and arrived a night early and John jumped through hoops to accommodate us for the first night.

The property is right on Hana Bay and you can walk on to the beach from the property. The view is outstanding and the breezes coming in off the ocean at night keep the place fresh and inviting. John provides a continental breakfast in the morning so you can start you day off eating breakfast on your private lanai watching the ocean.

I don't know when we'll get back to Hana but if we do we'll book the Bamboo Inn.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahului, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I was a little disappointed that the place was rustic, but it was fairly clean and comfortable. Loved the quiet location and being so close to the water. I would stay here again if the price was a bit lower. Loved the little breakfast laid out for us in the morning. Would have enjoyed it a bit longer if the leaf blower guy hadn't started his work during our meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We spent a total of 10 nights in a combination of Wakiki, Hana and Kehei. Without a doubt the best 3 nights were at the Bamboo Inn. Part of that may have been the enjoyment of that part of the trip. Hana is beautiful, the black sand beaches, the lush vegitation and the quiet. But the inn offered us not 1 but 2 outside decks, one with our own private hot tub/spa which was a welcome site when returning from a day hiking. Kitchen was well stocked and enabled us to have cost effective quiet meals. I recommend taking the time to shop before getting on the Road to Hanna in Kahaui or Pa'ia. We rented the 2 floor Nai'a suite and found it clean and well maintained. Parking was convenient and the view, especially at sunrise is spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveS19046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed one-night because it is the only place we could book for a one-night stay that has a nice view and a balcony which is important for us as we do not like being "locked" up in a room. We spent most of our evening outside until bedtime. This place can be nice if the owner pays more attention to detail - that is, spend a little money to upgrade, update and replace some of the fixtures, bedding, shower curtain, tub, shelving inside the cabinets and knobs for the doors in the kitchen - also put in couple of nicer hangers in the closet. I was not comfortable sleeping because the bedding did not look fresh and clean. The bedding looked like it had not been changed between guests - I found blond and black hair on the sheet and around the pillow. I also had to brush something off the sheet. I agreed with some of the guests' comments regarding the shower curtain looked moldy - and you also have to "climb" over a non-working Jacuzzi tub to take a shower which can be dangerous when getting out as the floor had marble looking tiles that can be slippery if you have water on it. It was dark inside because the lighting wasn't adequate so you can forget about reading in bed. We stayed in better places in Hana before. I have to say I was disappointed with the accommodation. Hana has changed since we visited last ime, it is still a pretty drive but I don't think we will be heading that direction next time we visit Maui.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WSChinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We loved the Bamboo Inn. We stayed in the two story suite with private jacuzzi tub on the deck overlooking the Hana Bay. This is a beautiful condo style room in 100% bamboo decor. Full kitchen with utensils. Very private and serene. You get a wonderful breakfast basket in the morning full of local fruits and breads.
If you are planning on going to Hana stay here and break the Hana trip up into two days it's well worth it. Bamboo is a much more affordable solution than staying at the Hana Ranch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinDan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was our one "splash out" night on our honey moon - we went budget on all the other accomodation, in order to afford some of the bigger tourist attractions and events. On the plus side for the owner, he gratiously allowed us to book a single night where he clearly usually asks for a two night minimum. That said, I understand that Hana, being quite isolated, was going to have inflated prices, but I thought the price we paid would have brought a little more. The actual suite was fine - we stayed in the Naia suite, withe a full kitchen, lower and upper floors, a beautiful spa outside on the lower balcony. The suite seemed clean and quite nice to us (and my husband was very excited to find it did indeed have a TV, despite reviews on other sites indicating it didn't - no TV was a plus for me but a definite minus for him). So clearly they have installed the TV recently, and the bed didn't seem too old, but everything else was a bit worn and tired.

That wouldn't have bothered us, but we really needed to do a load of washing and thought that at the price we paid this shouldn't be a problem. However there was no one available to ask despite a thorough search, so we put a load in the machine we found. We came back a short time later to notice it had been turned off on us. We didn't catch who ever had turned it off, but noticed a sign saying machine was for suite cleaners only. We turned it back on as it was half way through by that stage. We managed to get it into the dryer before the mystery person turned it off again and this time unplugged the machine. Yet they still did not come and knock on our door or even try to talk to us about it, and again when we went looking for them we couldn't find them (originally we had picked our key up from the notice board at the entry way where it had been left in an envelope with our name on it - so clearly the owner was not interested in interacting with us at all). We gave up and laid our washing out on the balcony to dry.

Other points to note: we were concerned originally by the lack of curtains simply because we wanted to sleep in, given every other mornign had been 5am starts for tours and boat rides etc. However the suites have been built well with this in mind, and face in a direction such that you can keep the sliding doors open to allow you to go to sleep and wake up to the lull of the ocean, and avoid too much breeze or sunlight. Lovely.

So all up, lovely location, suites are quite nice and provide a relaxing experience, but would be great to have some customer service and hospitality included (that is really all that is preventing it from being value for money).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CeciliaFlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
0.0 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
654 reviews
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
23.5 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
134 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Inn on Hana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Inn on Hana Bay

Property: Bamboo Inn on Hana Bay
Address: Uakea Rd, PO Box 374, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bamboo Inn On Hana Bay Hotel Hana
Bamboo Inn On Hana Bay Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing