We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana
Ranked #1 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Truly an amazing, beautiful place. We were greeted with an absolutely idyllic little bungalow on our arrival to Hana. Throughout the course of our stay we felt as if we were in a museum exhibit - that is how perfect the home was with an immaculate decor that suited it's environment perfectly. It was a dream trip that will provide us with pleasant memories for years and years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
185
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Providence,RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I've always loved Hana but never stayed the night and this trip we decided to stay 3 nights total. Couldn't have made a better decision and we loved our time at the Hale Manu guesthouse. As soon as I walked in the door I felt relaxed, peaceful and like I was at home. Guesthouse had everything I could possibly need and I was so sad to leave this beautiful home. I will definitely be back! Pretty close to Hana itself as well, which was nice for day trips and excursions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JugiBug56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My stay at Hale Manu guesthouse was memorable and more than I ever expected. Paradise wraps its lush beauty, sounds, smells and deep peace around you from the minute you open the door. Sunrise at Koki Beach, body surfing at Hamoa Beach and climbing to see the waterfall at Oheo Gulch were priceless, but the real treasure was succumbing to Hale Manu's calling to stop and just BE. The house is impeccable, shining, spacious, beautifully decorated. Everything has been carefully prepared to welcome you and anticipate your needs and comfort. Chris and Leokane are very responsive and make you feel at home. I really enjoyed the performance of Hawaii's enchanting harmonies performed by Leokane and his group at the Hotel Hana. This is a place that you will wish you had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Beautiful, two bedroom house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMS725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaks,PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just back from 10 days in Hawaii. Although we enjoyed the Ka'anapali kondo and were entertained by the sensory overload of Waikiki I suspect the memories that will become most treasured are from a precious few sublime days at Hale Manu in Hana.
Me, my wife and our newly graduated 18 yr old daughter were totally comfortable in this home that's decorated & stocked, not by a corporation but, by real people. The cottage has a large porch and yard and provides privacy- you'll to hear the sounds of nature over the sounds of man. The kitchen is well equipped and even had spices,olive oil, garlic and a bowl of fresh avocados (the tree is right outside) and tropical fruit.
Chris gave us enough time to settle in then filled us in with information on the cottage and the area -like where to grocery shop in Hana (it's a short list). I told him what kind of activities we liked and he recommended an amazing hike in Haleakala Park through a bamboo forest to Waimoku falls-this is a "must-do". In the evenings we made our own dinner and ate outside. As night fell we watched geckos gathering for their dinner by the porch light ! With music playing from a Hawaiin music-fest CD we laid cushions on the porch then gazed at more stars then we ever saw in our lives. It's a magic place-thanks Chris & Leokane.
Some recommendations; Grab the provided beach mats and chairs and head down the road a mile to Hamoa Beach, it's the perfect beach. Swim in the natural pools at Oheo Gulch - go early to avoid crowds. Also, if you're looking for a Hawaiian shirt, one of the gift shops in the town center next to the Hana Ranch restaurant has a great vintage collection .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RonofPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The house exceeded our expectations.
Everything about it was beautiful. The lush
tropical forest provided an extra layer of privacy
and gave us the perfect escape from busy,
everyday life. The property is only conveniently located near all of the parks and beach attractions. (Black Sand Beach and the Bamboo Forest is amazing).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynaxsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My new husband and I had an amazing time at the Hale Ulu Lulu Cottage aka Malanai. When we first arrived we were blown away by all the sweet touches that were added; flowers strewn about the cottage and beautiful Orchids in all the rooms. I felt the personal touch right away and could tell that this home really meant something to Chris and Leokane. The cottage is equipped with everything you could need, including spices! All you need is to bring your own food and your set. The home is extremely clean, which was very nice. The linen and towels were nice, fluffy, and soft. We loved our nightly visitors from the friendly Gecko's. The view from the front door is the best part. You are about 1 mile from the best beach in Hawaii! Hamoa Beach is visually stunning and so relaxing.
Chris and Leokane are great! I couldn't say enough positives about them. We lost our rental car keys on the beach and were stranded. Leokane came to our rescue and helped solve our problem. They really do care about their guest. We can't wait to return to Hana one day.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebirds_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend trip at the Hale Ulu Lulu Cottage. This cottage is beautiful, well maintained, and has all the amenities of a home. The view out the front door is mesmerizing. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimjohnsonwpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
3.0 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
3.4 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
29.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
24.4 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana

Property: The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana
Address: 6776 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713-3005
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two impeccably maintained, fully furnished, ocean view homes in one of Hana’s finest locations. We are directly across from the Maka’alae pasturelands and ocean and also situated within walking distance to world famous Hamoa Beach and Venus Pool. Each home is landscaped for privacy on our approximately two-acre property. We live in a separate home on the property, so you have the security of knowing that your rental is well maintained and though we honor your privacy, we make ourselves available to assist you when needed. Both of our guesthouses have stack washer/dryers, tub and shower combinations (a oversized claw foot tub in Hale Ulu Lulu and a spa tub in Hale Manu) and enjoy the convenience of “on the grid” wi-fi, electricity, free telephone to US/Canada, cable and water. We consistently receive rave reviews on our attention to detail and thoughtfully equipped homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Hotel Hana
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing