We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning!! Ed is nice but this place is a slum.”
Review of Joe's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joe's Place
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This place is full of mold and most of the screens have holes in them so the mosquitos get into your room and have a hey day. The beds are horribly saggy, the sheets feel like sand paper, it is dirty, the fans squeak, the pillows are like hard pancakes, both refrigerators are covered with mold. Oh and there are a lot of loud dogs who live in the neighborhood and seem to have a barking war going. The doors are peeling, the bathrooms smell and if you have any issue with germs, don't go into the dirty kitchen. The only good things I can say is that there was plenty of parking and Ed, who runs it, was nice.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. A tent would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joesplacehana, General Manager at Joe's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

The person submitted the complaint is not qualified to state that "all the screens have holes . . " - she only occupied one room. The "mold" she referred to was cleaned immediately. Most of what she saw was rust on the exterior of the refrigerator - given the fact that we are so close to the ocean.
What she did not say was that she paid for two nights, used the facility the second day, and then demanded a refund at 5PM - I refused to do so. I feel this is what prompted her to exaggerate her discontent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Two friends and i took the Road to Hana, and wanted to take our time, seeing the sights along the way. We rented a room for 3 with bathroom down the hall for the pittance of $60+ for the night. This is a clean but funky place, quite adequate for our needs. We chose to eat out, however, for the more budget minded person, there is a fully equipped kitchen and rec room with tv. This place is not airconditioned, however the fans worked fine, and the wind blowing in the windows kept us comfortable. It rains at night in Hana, cooling off nicely!

Room Tip: If you want a private room with bath, book early as they fill up. Shared bathrooms were fine; this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanrohrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at Joe's place for one Saturday night in April and felt very welcomed. We were suppose to stay at the wainanapanapa cabins so this place fit the bill. Nothing fancy but with the basics - clean, tidy and simple. The other guests were considerate and quiet. This place is cheap and pleasant, very central. We did not have a car and walked everywhere. We flew in and flew out of Hana. We had the bedroom with the private bath. There is a BBQ and a kitchen and several fridges. Ed was a great host. We would stay again if staying overnight in heavenly Hana .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makapuuperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Very nice on the phone and left keys in an envelope as I arrived late but this place is infested with bed bugs. I was very suspicious when I looked at the sheets and saw the tell-tale signs but the horrible part was the large mature female I killed in front of the owner the next day. I would not recommend staying here as you will be bringing an extra souvenir home with you and it will cost you more than $60 or $50. I was going to submit pictures of my bites but hope this warning is sufficient enough for those traveling to Hana to understand the risk of staying here. I am sure this is a result of the number of international travelers and college students staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoleilNeige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joesplacehana, General Manager at Joe's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

The writer says the "place was infested" when in fact she occupied just one room. For the record, the exterminators were here within two days and completely treated the room satisfactorily. Close inspection revealed that only one room - the one the complainant occupied - was affected, and there have been no further problems. We do not raise bed bugs - they are carried inside by a "host" and we don't know until someone brings it to our attention. The matter has been resolved - why is the complaint still running?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Hana is a Nice little Town but it s no use to stay there more than one night.joes place is really dirty and stinky.the sheets were not clean,we slept under our towel because of that.everything you tuch sticks.the restroom smells urin all the time,you really wonder if someone clean them sometimes....the walls are really thin,we were able to ear every of our neighbour go to the toilets...if you really canot find another place,joes place can be usefull but dont expect to sleep,between the noise and the dirtyness,you wont find Time to close your eyes.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jajato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We don't understand the negative reviews of this place, maybe they're used to the Hilton? We found Joe's Rentals to be very clean and the proprietor Ed to be very friendly with a great sense of humor. Compared to the Rainbow Surf Hostel in Paia (where we spent the previous miserable night), Joe's is the Ritz! There are some bugs, but this is the tropics - get over it. The bed was clean and comfortable, the kitchen and fridge also clean. Ed was very accommodating and we really enjoyed our stay - and the price is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter, downstairs closer to the kitchen and common area. Some guests stayed up late w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beeblebrox42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

...but if you have a look underneath the bed, then sleep is hard to find. I did not expect heaven on earth for 50$ a night, but that room hasn't been cleaned for quite some time and I had bedbug-bites all over my arms the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.3 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
45.3 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
24.8 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joe's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe's Place

Address: 4870 Ua'Kea Road, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Price Range: £34 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Joe`s Place Hotel Hana
Joe's Place Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing