We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, Food is Fine”
Review of Zippy's

Zippy's
Ranked #26 of 150 Restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: American, Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Takeout
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Reasonable, Food is Fine”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

When in Hawaii, everything is expensive! This place was clean, breakfast was fine and if you are in a hurry-you need to tell them. Wait staff is friendly. A fine place for an average breakfast while you are on the run.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lornalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    83
    52
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Affordable quick and easy Maui meal”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We come here every time we come down from Haleakala in the evenings! No complaints with their service - there's always a table, the local friendly smile and service and the service is quick !
Loco moco with two eggs, regular sized saimin will hit the spot- hot, and just the right broth fills you up in the evening! This time we tried the corn bread placed on the grill !! Oh wow!! So soft and fluffy with the hint of butter ! No complaints there!

Helpful?
Thank MLAbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped in this restaurant to get breakfast. We should have kept going. The service was ok. The food was poor. I ordered the omelette with cheese and sausage. When it came the sausage was sliced so fine and so little of it, I didn't think it was in there. After hunting through my omelette I found some minuscule pieces. My wife ordered corned beef and eggs. Again, surprise! The corned beef was mixed with potatoes to make them go farther. Zippy ..if is to hard to I give people what you have included in your menu why don't you change the menu......now I know why the IHOP has a line up. Much better food, quantity of food, and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just weird”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This very busy diner serves a strange assortment of mediocre dishes. There is a pastry counter - again full of mediocre pastries. Only worth going to if your party is super "hangry" and in need of immediate nourishment. Fortunately, there was no wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Should have stopped at Burger King ”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Fast food, and mediocre for the genre. Macaroni salad was good on the side, but that's the only thing that reminded me of a plate lunch. Mahi Mahi was bread dipped and frozen sometime during the Nixon Administration.

Helpful?
Thank RonaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zippy's also viewed

 

Been to Zippy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing