We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ramen !”
Review of Ramen-Ya

Ramen-Ya
Ranked #27 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good ramen !”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Very good ramen and dumpling was a surprise! We ate twice while in Maui, if it is in lahaina, I would eat everyday!


  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonicaNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hawaiian size portions”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This place can serve it up. If you are a ramen fan the noodles are just right - al dente. If noodles aren't your thing they have a whole host of meal sets that include ramen, gyoza and one other item for reasonable prices. Go hungry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unusually good food at a mall”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The ramen was made fresh while we waiting. Don't worry, they are very fast! So delicious. One can tell all the ingredients are fresh and so very tasty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corkeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Where the locals ate...”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Found Ramen-Ya by accident. It is at the mall. Very busy with locals so you know that is a good sign. Large portions and tasty too. Would recommend to my friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soccerdancemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below average noodle house”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Located in the Queen Ka'ahumanu Center besides Macy's. Looks like a bit of a hole in the wall place, but that's never stopped me before - some of my best meals have been in these types of locations. However, Ramen-Ya was not one of them.

I ordered the Big Bowl Ramen: the noodles did not have that chewy/gluteny texture i expected, the broth and BBQ pork were overly salty, the corn kernels and bamboo shoots were straight out of a can, and the pork katsu cutlet was crispy but greasy. Gomoku, Curry, and Spicy Seafood ramen dishes were average, though I should mention my father did note the seafood in the Spicy Seafood ramen dish tasted quite fresh.

Service was average. Other reviewers may not be accustomed to no-nonsense hole-in-the-wall Asian restaurant service, but this was par for the course and I did not find that anyone was rude.

The place was busy, with a constant stream of customers. However, when you look at the price-portion ratio, I think it is the relative value that is the primary draw since eating out on Maui can be quite pricey. Would try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pub_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramen-Ya also viewed

 

Been to Ramen-Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing