We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your wallet” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy's Beach Bar & Grill

Sammy's Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #88 of 147 Restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Bring your wallet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

One thing about this airport is you're rather captive. Sammy's is pretty much the only place we could find so that's where we went. Service was okay. But we should have known when there weren't any prices on the drink menu that we were in trouble. I had a very good chi-chi, one other had an okay mai-tai. My husband had a beer and my in-laws each had a glass of wine. The first three were charged at a rate I can understand and almost expect, especially in an airport. However, the wine was an astronomical price. $18.50 for one glass of wine! You can by several bottles of decent wine for that price. No one wonder they don't show the prices. They're ashamed of how they're going to gouge you. I think if we ever go back to Maui we'll likely steer clear of here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    57
    29
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs Village, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Prettiest Mai Tai on Maui”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was our last taste of Mai Tais before we made our final judgment on our unofficial Maui's Best Mai Tai contest. It was excellent, not the best one, but excellent, and definitely the prettiest one. I had a salad, can't remember it's name, but it was very good. I ordered lump crab to be added, not sure I'd call it that, it seemed more like crab from a can on top. The salad had black beans and corn on it was some form of an avocado dressing. The prices are pretty high, but this is an airport, what do you expect?! But since we were going to be on a long flight, this was actually cheaper and better food that what we would have had on the plane.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
197 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good place to hang out waiting for a flight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We hang out here before our flights back to the mainland. We usually get a quiet table in the back. The food and service are very good for what we expect for just hanging out. I like the fact they have outlets next to all the tables on the perimeter so we can charge up our devices. This past trip, our waiter was friendly and attentive while not bothering us. He changed the TV channel for us. The food was good. Pricey? Sure, it's in an airport in Hawaii. But, who comes here for a gourmet meal? It is what it is and all in all does the job very well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Walt and Gwynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Overpriced pre-fabbed mediocre breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Was returning to the mainland on a Wednesday, waited to get breakfast about 10am at the Kuhului/OGG airport. Sammy's was in the small foodcourt with Burger King and California Pizza Kitchen. It was open for breakfast, and although the break menu was small, it sounded good. While the food was edible, it was clear this is not a place you should go for a $12 breakfast plate. The breakfast burrito had cheese and egg, nothing else. On the side was some good pico de gallo, and the breakfast potatoes wern't bad. The bacon and egg plate, the eggs and bacon were separate(not a choice, eggs are only served "omelette style"). It look like the eggs/omeltte was bought pre-made, otherwise why could you scramble them with the bacon. It was supposed to come with warm Tortillas(plural), but showed up with 1/4 of a tortilla. Nothing we ate was bad, just nothing was very good, and even in Hawaii I expect some attempt at good food

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Surprised us at the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

usually dining at the airport is so so, but this was a fun, friendly experience. They have an interesting menu (better than fast food) and welcoming staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2onvacaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sammy's Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing