We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helicopter Ride”

Sunshine Helicopters Maui
Ranked #8 of 31 Tours in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In an industry that demands the best Sunshine Helicopters delivers! We are the only company on Maui offering customers the ability to pre-book "First Class" front-row seating and the choice of two High-Tech helicopters: 1. Fly the New-Generation EC130 Whisper STAR, outfitted with all the latest technology and roomy cabin for 6 passengers. 2. Eco-friendly AS350 FX STAR, upgraded with the more powerful and quieter Honeywell Turbine engines, burning 10-15% less fuel than our competitors, allowing Sunshine to pass on a tremendous amount of savings to our guests. The fleet of helicopters are fully equipped with emergency pop-out floats for safety, air-conditioning, pilot-to-pax intercom and a 3-camera Sky-Cam Video system recording your actual tour.Sunshine Helicopters is a FAA Part 135 Air Carrier and Tour Operator Program of Safety (TOPS) Certified. Most of our pilots are former Flight Instructors of the top aviation schools in the nation or highly skilled military veterans. Your safety is our #1 priority!
East Sparta, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Helicopter Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We flew with our pilot Ian, we had a great ride and got to see the waterfalls and parts of the island that you could only see by air. He told a lot about everything we saw. Was great to see the waterfalls that was in the movie Jurassic Park. GREAT RIDE !!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoyceW040461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    32
    14
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Trip Start to Finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Sunshine was 5 star all the way. The staff was friendly and informative! We chose the West Maui molakai trip which was absolutely spectacular!!! The views, the waterfalls, the coast line, all amazing! The pilot was informative and friendly, and we had great views of everything even in the back seat. The check in and briefing was super efficient and we were on our way in no time!
i can't imagine it done any better! Thanks

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank enlinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time ride in Helicopter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We (me, husband, 7 year old daughter) went on a ride just after dawn in one of the larger helicopters to accommodate my tall (6'4") husband--note if someone in your party is tall or extra large in some way, you'll need to take a larger helicopter. There was some discussion of whether the fog would make us take a different tour (actually a better tour to a neighboring island) but the fog dissipated and we took the Hana / Haleakala Special tour as planned. Do not wear white as that reflects off the windows and shows in your photos. This tour is a great way to see the island at the beginning of your trip so you can plan where to go while in Maui. The pilot and all employees were very helpful and we had a great trip!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DallasEGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Despite the fact that I'm terrified of heights, I decided to go out of my comfort zone, and take a helicopter tour to make the most of our trip to Maui. From the moment we stepped inside their office, we were pleased by the level of professionalism shown by everyone we came in contact with, which immediately put me at ease. Our pilot Rob had excellent flying skills and was very informative about what we were seeing. The waterfalls on Molokai, and coral reefs were amazing. Even the soundtrack that was playing while Rob wasn't speaking was fun & calming. I would highly recommend this helicopter tour company! Best day in Maui!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gardner6k2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Loved every minute of it! Employee's were great and the views were awesome! Make sure you visit this place when you are in Maui, HI. We will be back again and again! Bring a camera.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunshine Helicopters Maui also viewed

 

Been to Sunshine Helicopters Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing