We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & Very Clean Room Well Maintain Landscape & Pool Area”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small & Very Clean Room Well Maintain Landscape & Pool Area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I had put down average because this room isn't fancy, no Microwave in room. The small GE brand A/C with remote. I'm very surprise this small A/C is mounted in the wrong place, it work so well in room 118. The carpet is fairly new & clean. This room is as quiet as the high priced Holiday Inn. And by the way, no bugs at all to be found. I also saw several maintenance crews for every day pool cleaning plus service. If you rent a car as you're handicap with hang type placard, they will drop your $5 per day parking fee. Take a bus or go to their local Wal Mart to purchase bicycle to het around Maui. No Parking Fee for new bike. Staffs and 2 security ladies were very polite as they're doing their job. Hotel's cleaning maid are very honest people that respect your belonging stuff. My Comment: If you wanted 5 full star Hotels look for $300 to $500 per night in over crowded high rised hotels (your choice). 'I hope this really help?'

Room Tip: If you rent smaller car for tight parking space, room 118 is the downstairs as A/C is fairly noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    389
    316
    87
    49
See reviews for
215
460
72
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Me and my family stayed here for Christmas week, great customer service, clean rooms, great location. This was our second time staying here, and quite frankly the only place me and my family will stay when we are visiting Maui. If you are the type of person who wants to stay at a mainland hotel, then the Maui seaside is not for you. But if you want to experience Hawaiian style living..book a room. I work for a big hotel , but choose not to stay at their properties, I''ll maybe check out their restraunts, maybe a massage at their spas, but me and my family really enjoy the Maui seaside..still get real Aloha there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor were cooler to me, stayed on 2nd floor last visit had to use air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Room was basic but clean...bed was okay and bathroom basic and clean. More of a motel than a hotel. Sort of a business traveler hotel. Close to Airport and local main roads.
The absolute best thing was the view and beach access!
If you want access to a basic pool, patio and room with the best view... or if you have to do what we did, hang out waiting for a flight after multiple cancellations, or just need a clean bed and shower for the night...than this is good pick!
Not where you want to spend several days...as I laid on the beach I listened to the cargo and shipping noice less than a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annett j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We loved this little hotel, we had a room close to the ocean on the lower floor, with a direct view of the ocean. The hotel is everything you really need while staying in Maui, it is not the most modern hotel in Maui, but for the price and location is was perfect for us. Also loved having wifi in the room, nice extra! Outstanding customer service! If we ever come back to Maui we would definately not even bother looking elsewhere for another hotel, we really enjoyed the Maui seaside hotel too much already!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

When we pulled into the Maui Seaside Hotel, I grimaced. Kahului itself is more an industrial and business city a place for quality R&R. It's close to the airport - and the port for that matter. There's a small beach in front of the hotel, but the strong tides and proximity to the active industrial port made it seem unsafe for swimming. The hotel is noticeably rundown, but the grounds are quite pretty. We stayed in the Tower building - not the nicer poolside rooms - and had a view of pretty much nothing. The room was clean, but very, very dated. The bathrooms were stocked with two full-size towels, some ok soap and shampoo and NO tissues, which I found odd. The hallway, though, was something out of a horror movie. It was hot, humid, and very dark. Scary!

Service seemed friendly, but lacking. We arrived back between 1-3pm each day to find our rooms had not yet been serviced. The ceiling fan broke on the second night, and although we put in a maintenance request at the front desk, it was not fixed through the duration of our stay.

I would advise not staying in Kahului if you're on vacation. Go for some of the more tourist-friendly areas like Lahaina, Ka'anapali, Kihei, or Wailea. If you must stay in Kahului, look at the Maui Beach Hotel (right next to this hotel) or the Courtyard Marriot that is close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

The hotel is well located in Kahului because you can take any road to any place in maui and is easy to access. The hotel is standard. Don't look for luxury. Rooms are spacious with a nice bath, beds, dinning room kitchen appliances (very useful) but nothing else. It's a kind of old but is ok. The breakfast is very good with closed options or you pick from a menu and you pay for them.

The parking day cost is ok ($5 per day) and have a big parking lot. The only con is that the hotel is located closer to a harbour, so you heard all sound of ships and truck early in the morning. Beside that, is good option to have a place to sleep, leave your stuff and have a bath.

The relation price-quality is ok, So I recommend this hotel to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kubanoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Great bargain if you need a place near the harbor or airport. Friendly staff, Hawaiian owned, reasonable and great views of the ocean and harbor. Fun to watch the ships come and go. Easy walk to a bunch of good, reasonably priced restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snorkelsurfswimdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#29 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
14.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing