We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills hotel - great for 1 night .”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No frills hotel - great for 1 night .”
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because nothing was available in our price range 4 months prior to our trip . This hotel is small , outdated but still has an ocean view, close to airport. Also close to loading dock, tugboats , motorcycles and road noise . 5 steps from the ocean but not a view of sunset or sunrise . Breakfast came w our rate & that was good. Staff was helpful in finding us a room w a king bed not 2 queens ( it was our honeymoon & we asked for a king but were given a second floor room in the tower building behind the pool view rooms - not pretty at all! Overlooks the cruise ship dock ) you will need a rental car to go see the beautiful beaches in Maui or take the bus. Still, it is Maui & it is beautiful here! Book the hotel or b n b or time share you really want at least 6 or more months ahead ! Good luck & Aloha!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamKrason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    404
    326
    88
    50
See reviews for
225
475
77
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I just completed my 3rd stay at the Maui Seaside hotel in the past year. The hotel is nothing fancy, but it is clean and the staff is friendly. Our room had air conditioning and a ceiling fan which kept it comfortable. The hotel sits right on the coast and has access to a sandy beach which we enjoyed walking on in the evenings. They have a nice pool which was a bit on the cold side. Their open air lobby offers 2 apple computers for guest use. My only complaint is the parking situation. They do charge $5/day for parking, and the lot is always full and it can be hard to find a parking space later in the evening. This was my 3rd stay here and I will stay here again in the future. Overall I would recommend this hotel as a reasonably priced option for budget minded travelers!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BankerBoy414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Very friendly staff at the reception and in the restaurant. The room was clean and we were happy with the free breakfast. There was even a surprise birthday cake for our son who came over from another accommodation to join us for breakfast. A very good place to stay and we would book this hotel again on another occassion!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annelies777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver B.C. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the maui Seaside for a 1-night stopover on the way to Hilo. It had a "motel" feel to it (as opposed to a resort hotel), but was well-maintained, and the rooms surrounded a large grassy area and pool. It also has a beach.
It was just an $11 cab fare from the airport (I note that another review said they offer free shuttle service). The included breakfast was fine, in their own restaurant.
We would not have chosen this as a destination hotel, but it was clear that many (mostly families) did, and no doubt enjoyed their stay.
The location, while close to the airport (and malls with shopping) is in an area looking no different (nor more interesting) than a similar location in any American town.
For us, great for a quick overnight stay - but not more than that.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donalda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel is set near the Airport and very easy to find. While the outer buildings show some age, the room itself was large and bright. We had an Ocean view/Mountain view and it was perfect. The rear of the hotel is on the water and the view is great. Hotel is well run, kept clean and the staff is very friendly. I am glad I chose this place to stay...it is a true gem.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, overlooks the mountains and the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Last time I was in Maui I drove everywhere and put on over 800 miles. This time we drove every where and it was 632 miles. I attribute this to being at the maui Seaside hotel and not Waaaay over in Kaanapali.
Three of us stayed a week here and loved it and would stay here again in a flash!
Easy walking distance to two shopping centers and many restaurants, not to mention a nice Local food restaurant right on site. the airport is close by ant the Hotel offered free pick up.
Un fortunately the hotel has decided to charge for parking BUT they also offer a free parking lot right next door and as easy walking to from here as it is in the pay $5 per night area.
The Hotel is right on the beach in the harbor and next to a state park. Great swimming pool and lawn area, all freshly painted. They offer up graded rooms as well as basic so you can partake in the type of room you want by paying accordingly. Clean, neat and very frendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I go basic my self, but you can have upper scale rooms here if you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We recently visited Maui for a teaching interview for my wife.My local friend told me that this hotel was owned by Hawaiians. However my son,my mother and I stayed at this hotel back in 2009 and thought it was horrible. So this time around I braced my wife and said not to expect anything nice, and that we were staying here simply because it was close to her interview. Holy cow!! (as my friend Harry Carey would say)It was fantastic !!! It was clean,fresh, and easy to get in and out of. It was close to everything and I recommend this hotel to everyone for a first day or two on the island to get supplies so you are not paying up at resorts on little items or drinks or beach chairs and Hawaiian towels or Hawaiian shirts.This place was close to Big-Kmart, wal-mart and costco. Before we left I went out of my way to find the manager and relate my findings of my stay here. He informed me the hotel had been renovating rooms for the last two years. Mahalo for a wonderful stay,job well done!!!

Room Tip: First floor was nice and simple to get in and out. We didn't care if we had a view because we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank howzitbruddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,080 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
14.7 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing