We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed on business trip”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a motel. Several of my coworkers looked at their rooms and refused to stay so they moved to the Courtyard. I stayed because my room was clean, although it was pretty run-down. My room was a garden view which translated to a view of the parking lot which you will be lucky to find a spot in. If you wonder if there is an ice bucket just look in the bottom drawer of your armoire for the large styrofoam cup, yes that would be your ice bucket. This place is no frills so if you need something affordable this is an okay place. Just be prepared to encounter the homeless man who walks around asking for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a great place to stay!

Keep in mind that this is somewhat like a motel and not some mega-resort and you'll love it. It's far cheaper than any Maui resort, even if the resort is discounted. It's still not cheap by mainland standards but it's a good deal for the island.

Price aside, there's a lot to like about the place. It is old but well-maintained and has a certain "island" atmosphere absent from large resorts. It's homey. There are families staying here. The place is arrange in an almost horseshoe so most of the rooms face the large inner "quad" of thick green grass and nice little pool.

The hotel is, as it advertises, on the beach. It's a nice beach at that but it's again not a resort. You'll probably have the beach to yourself and it's within Kahului Bay which has some industrial areas nearby. I found it OK and enjoyed it, but it was not "spectacular" and there are no concessions, rides, sports, rentals, etc. there. It's just a nice little beach with calm, bay water.

The rooms are pretty cool. It's like stepping back to the 50s. 2 old beds, an a/c, a tub and shower. It's not luxurious but it's well-maintained.

There are many restaurants and things nearby, none of which are resort-like. It's for the locals.

You'd probably want a car, as you would with any Maui hotel. On the plus side, you'll pay just $5 for parking or park on the gravel lot to the east for free.

Another plus - it's about 2 minutes to the airport.

Before you choose this place, please keep your expectations in mind. It's not a resort. It's a motel. And a nice one at that.

I loved it.

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nombre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very close to the airport, shopping, & places to eat. Wholefoods Market right down the street. Room was very comfortable & had a small fridge & ice cold a/c... Staff was very nice & accommodating. Very pretty pool setting. No fancy frills & thrills BUT also didn't want to pay $200 a night plus in Lahaina for this trip. Will most definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: If you need it ask to be close to either the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Couldn't find anything reasonable in Lahaina & Maui Seaside Hotel was not only reasonable but also was one of few that had rooms available. It was good for the one night. Nothing fancy here but the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The grounds were well maintained with a pool.

We did not opt to pay for the breakfast that could be added to the hotel billing.

Under the circumstances my wife & I were satisfied but to do it again we would start sooner looking for reservations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank roy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hotel itself was good, but NO guarantee what room you actually get even after you make a reservation....basically first come first served on what is available. Getting the breakfast with your room is well forth it!! Beach area is nice and quiet...

Room Tip: The restaurant attached is great and so is the Italian restaurant across the street...great happy ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed there very recently (March break 2014) Great location. They say it's 5 minutes from the airport....and it's true. The hotel shows some wear and tear, but it's quite and very clean.
When we arrived we were assigned a very small room with two double beds. The next morning I asked to be change to a larger room and they did it in a heart beat. The bathroom was clean and with enough towels and toiletery
Not enough words to talk about the front desk and maintenance staff. Friendly and very efficient. They are the face of the hotel and they go the extra mile to make you feel at home. Especially the lady that suggested "Da Kitchen" restaurant.
Location, Location, Location. The hotel is a walking distance from a Shopping Mall and a supermarket. It has a good restaurant and the pool and the beach are right there. We are surely coming back on our next visit to Maui. Kudos to the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 3 story building are larger than the ones close to the swiming pool and they newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Re D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Last night on the island and wanted somewhere close to the airport for my am flight.

Pleasantly welcomed to this cozy hotel on the harbour! This location brings me back to the family holidays we had as a kid when the rooms had lots of space, clean and cozy beds and working air conditioning/heating systems you can control.

Had a great night sleep and a great hot shower to start the day. Super breakfast at the onsite restaurant then took a walk along the harbour path before heading to the airport.

Would recommend to anyone for no frills comfort and value.

3  Thank momYYCmom
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
557 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,231 reviews
14.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: £114 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing