We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem. It is on the mid-north side of Maui in an area without much tourism, in contrast with Kaanapali and Kihei areas. However, it is only 10-15 minutes to Kihei, so getting to the usual tourist areas is by a quick, uncongested highway. Every room is on a shared balcony with bay views from every room. The bay is a working, commercial waterway. It also has the best swimming beach I tried on Maui. It is a gentle sloping sand beach with gentle waves and no coral. I snorkeled there and saw barracuda, which I had never before seen on Maui. In the afternoon the canoe clubs next to the property go out and practice right in front of the hotel. The staff are very nice. This really is a hidden gem of a hotel for the budget minded.

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean and pool views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank e5454csc654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Maui Seaside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very decent, respectable hotel which we stayed at 1 night to avoid having to go all the way to Kanaapali after a Hana trip and before getting up for a Haleakala trip. We got an extra hour of sleep doing it this way! Hotel was nice & clean, staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We suspected this place might be a dive when we booked, but given that we wanted to do a couple of things (like drive up Haleakala and go to the Iao Valley) before heading to Hana for a night, we decided to give this place a go as it was cheaper than the resort towns.

It actually turned out to be alright - we stayed in room 311 which looked over a public reserve towards the ports. The room was clean and well serviced each day. It was actually equivalent to the place that we stayed in Waikiki in terms of datedness etc, so we werent too disappointed.

Its across the road from a mall, and close to other malls/supermarkets etc. We paid for parking both nights, and it looked like they filled up their space allocation relatively early both days - you did have the option of parking next door if need be. Front desk and caretakers/cleaners were all very friendly.

Its not the kind of place you would want to base yourself if you were staying long term, but was good for a couple of cheaper nights during a long stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Arrived late in the evening so wanted something convenient and cost effective. This fit perfectly. The shuttle drivers were friendly and accommodating, taking us back to the airport the next morning to drop us right at the car rental office. All the staff were friendly.
I wouldn't want to spend an entire vacation here, but it was great for what we needed. There is a foodland grocery just a short walk away.

Room Tip: We chose a garden view to make sure we weren't facing the busy road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was the most affordable place we could find on the island. It is close to the airport and overlooks the bay. It is very plain but it is very clean and the staff is wonderful. It is exactly what we were looking for to save money to spend on other fun things on the island. If you don't need frills, this is the place for you. The pool was clean and there is a bus station a short walk away for easy transport throughout the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is located just next to the pacific ocean. Parking cost 5usd per day, internet is free and with ok speed. There is a shopping mall in 5 min walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are huge and provided with the basic accessories (coffee machine, fridge), the bed is a bit too soft. Ice machine is on the floor level. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. I would choose again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joergstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a motel. Several of my coworkers looked at their rooms and refused to stay so they moved to the Courtyard. I stayed because my room was clean, although it was pretty run-down. My room was a garden view which translated to a view of the parking lot which you will be lucky to find a spot in. If you wonder if there is an ice bucket just look in the bottom drawer of your armoire for the large styrofoam cup, yes that would be your ice bucket. This place is no frills so if you need something affordable this is an okay place. Just be prepared to encounter the homeless man who walks around asking for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,125 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
232 reviews
14.7 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: £108 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing