We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a modern hotel but has good location and friendly staffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a modern hotel but has good location and friendly staffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pros:

The location is good, has a downstairs restaurant, close to OGG airport, two gas stations across the street (shell and chevron), about 1 mile away is Whole Food (7am-9pm) , 24 hour Longs Drug, KMart, Sears. We usually grab a quick bite and pack some fruits from Whole Food in the morning.

The staffs are very kind and helpful. I asked the reception if they can provide anything for cold evening as I planed to go to Haleakala for sunset. They immediately offer to send extra blanket to my room. And whenever I stop by reception to get clean towel on the way out, they always greet me with smile and wish us to have a good time in beach.

Cons:
The room is large, with ceiling fan and air-conditioner. However the carpet is not very clean and has smell too. We have to open windows to get fresh air when we come back in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qshmilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    392
    318
    87
    49
See reviews for
216
462
73
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

After a few visits at the maui seaside hotel, I've came to mixed conclusions about my stay. The rooms are somewhat spacious but don't look like the pictures. The rooms are clean but check the bedding for spots. The maids tend to clean the carpets everyday to the point it smells like mold and puke up with solid baby diapers. It's horrendous! The maintenance staff are nice and so are the housekeepers, they all speak and pretty prompt to needs. The front desk is a mixed of good and bad customer service, I've never really dealt with people who didn't care to deal with me, seeing how im a paying customer no matter the race, gender or social class, I spend and work hard for my money just like their employees and other staying guest. The way some of the front employees talk to customers is shameful and appalling. They're "sometimey" to whoever they encounter with it seems like. It's like they don't want to be bothered or their attitude is bad. I can say as a tip to staff is that the management team needs to learn to provide EXCELLENT services to those staying at the hotel, whether their white or black or local, we're all paying green. Managers needs better training in managing and front clerks needs better training in customer service and care. Nice stay, just some staff wasn't pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very outdated. The carpet is old and the room smelled very musty. We paid for a package that included breakfast but heard or saw nothing of it. But the housekeepers were very friendly. The pictures on their website are very misleading.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a golf weekend. This long time family owned hotel is a pleasant, peaceful, balmy old fashioned low rise hotel 5 minutes away for Kahului Airport. Rooms are clean and basic but rates are reasonable and affordable. Staff is extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. Restaurant is well run and filled with local favorites. Breakfast is served all day and is awesome.

Perfect as a base for exploration of the older side of Maui away from the mega resorts, or for business people who are visiting and just need a basic, pleasant place to stay. A definite sense of Aloha

Room Tip: A room on the second floor of the main building will provide a view of the pool and garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I enjoy being close to the airport and town. I love having a fan just above my bed, better than the air conditioner.Having wi-fi helps out big time. I always stay here, I fill in for techs that are on vacation or sick at the OGG airport.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor just above the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our family loved this quaint hotel, it's a very local place, so a lot of local people we got to meet. Nice to know where to eat, swim, hike, etc. from locals! Clean, friendly staff very comfortable. Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 314paigeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Monte, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Work is tough, Life is Tough. We all need that vacation every now and then. Nice to get away, even if it's a short while. Had a pleasant time at this hotel while enjoying Hawaii. Wish I could do this every day. Really thought the hotel was quite good. No complaints. Was able to relax the way I wanted to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#29 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
14.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing