We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Plain Bad”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just Plain Bad”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Property developers should be considering this site for redevelopment. The hotel is old and the customer service is terrible. Expect that it is mainly used for one night stays before jumping on an early flight, but it was terrible. Staff attitude may reflect the fact they don't expect return customers, but next time I'd get up earlier and drive round from the condo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BWestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    404
    326
    88
    50
See reviews for
225
475
77
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and the hotel staff was friendly. I liked the view of the sea and the easy access to it. The yards of the hotel were nice and well kept. We booked this hotel last minute on our flight into Maui and even the gentleman at the rental car facility said it was nice for the price. It is not five star...but it was relaxing. I would stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BnardP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Although they couldn't really help me come up with last minute things to do, the staff was always friendly and accommodating. I'm a little confused as to why the room had an air conditioner in the room, because it clearly didn't work, but I didn't go to Hawaii to sit in a hotel room, and be spoiled by the cable television, and low prices!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank space_face_caseY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is obviously not a five-star resort, but the convenience of the hotel is great and staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The pool is small, but has a great view of the ocean. The rooms are very large in size, but the beds need new mattresses. It's located right across the street from Whole Foods, which is convenient for quick meals. It's clean and simple, and you can't beat the price. When you're in Maui, you don't want to spend all your time in your hotel room anyway. If you want something basic for a great price, this is a perfect option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 808Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pros:

The location is good, has a downstairs restaurant, close to OGG airport, two gas stations across the street (shell and chevron), about 1 mile away is Whole Food (7am-9pm) , 24 hour Longs Drug, KMart, Sears. We usually grab a quick bite and pack some fruits from Whole Food in the morning.

The staffs are very kind and helpful. I asked the reception if they can provide anything for cold evening as I planed to go to Haleakala for sunset. They immediately offer to send extra blanket to my room. And whenever I stop by reception to get clean towel on the way out, they always greet me with smile and wish us to have a good time in beach.

Cons:
The room is large, with ceiling fan and air-conditioner. However the carpet is not very clean and has smell too. We have to open windows to get fresh air when we come back in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qshmilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

After a few visits at the maui seaside hotel, I've came to mixed conclusions about my stay. The rooms are somewhat spacious but don't look like the pictures. The rooms are clean but check the bedding for spots. The maids tend to clean the carpets everyday to the point it smells like mold and puke up with solid baby diapers. It's horrendous! The maintenance staff are nice and so are the housekeepers, they all speak and pretty prompt to needs. The front desk is a mixed of good and bad customer service, I've never really dealt with people who didn't care to deal with me, seeing how im a paying customer no matter the race, gender or social class, I spend and work hard for my money just like their employees and other staying guest. The way some of the front employees talk to customers is shameful and appalling. They're "sometimey" to whoever they encounter with it seems like. It's like they don't want to be bothered or their attitude is bad. I can say as a tip to staff is that the management team needs to learn to provide EXCELLENT services to those staying at the hotel, whether their white or black or local, we're all paying green. Managers needs better training in managing and front clerks needs better training in customer service and care. Nice stay, just some staff wasn't pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very outdated. The carpet is old and the room smelled very musty. We paid for a package that included breakfast but heard or saw nothing of it. But the housekeepers were very friendly. The pictures on their website are very misleading.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,074 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
14.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing