We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise find in central Maui”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Pasadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise find in central Maui”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I are adventure seekers and love a good deal! With the money we saved on lodging at Maui Seaside Hotel (almost $100 a day less than a big chain hotel) we were able to not only stay comfortably but also afford to do twice as many activities as we originally planned like zip lining and taking in a sunset dinner cruise. Property is dated but charming but We're glad we found this awesome deal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fete808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    395
    321
    87
    49
See reviews for
218
466
74
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Maui Seaside was the perfect stay! Our Family came to Maui one day earlier than we had reservations at one of the best resorts in Maui. I figured when we got there the resort management would certainly be able to place our family in a room until the next day when we where scheduled to check in. To my surprise, they could only offer a room for nearly double the rate I would be paying for our scheduled visit. Luckily, we found the Maui Seaside! The staff had greeted us with a warm welcome and great customer service. Our rooms were comfortable, and we were just steps away from the beach and pool! The hotel is close to everything. And with all the money we saved on our room rates, we were able to do and see so much more of Maui. Thanks! MAUI SEASIDE.

Room Tip: The entire hotel sits on the beach with views from both levels. Ask to be placed on the end closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saree c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel room, grounds and level of customer service exceeded my expectations. The rate was decent for not being a resort and I was surprised at how convenient the location was to the major highways, shopping centers and a Whole Foods! For a frequent business traveler like me, these are bonuses. The bed was comfy and above all, the staff and housekeeping's local and helpful demeanor always made me smile. I only stayed one night, but they made a lasting impression on me.

Room Tip: Most people avoid rooms by pools because of fear of noise, ask for the deluxe by the pool because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's rather old, but clean. Rooms are not huge but have everything you need. Aircon is old an unfortunately quite loud. Staff is very friendly. Pool area is great! They porvide free airport shuttle service from hotel to airport, which is fantastic! Main deficit for me was the smell of old carpets in the stairways and corridors. They should really do something about that!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tocaSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here our first night in Maui as we arrived around 4 PM and were going to Hana the next day. It did not make sense to pay for a pricey resort that first night (we just fell asleep anyways). For $100+ on the mainland in most areas you can stay at a Hampton Inn, Marriott Courtyard, Aloft, etc. They're modern, cookie cutter, and easy choices. You don't really have those options on Maui--certainly not for $100ish per night. This motel is a Hawaiian chain and a blast from the past. It is fine for 1 night. I could not do more than 2 there. The halls feel "damp" and something tells me the land is worth more than the hotel. But it's clean, close to Costco and the airport, and it's good for simply sleeping. The bed was fine and rooms are large. The parking is limited, is extra, and the spaces are teeny tiny. This motel felt safe with its perimeter fences being locked during the night. We arrived from the mainland, got our car, checked in, and went to Costco. We had dinner at Costco, bought food for the next 2 days, filled up our cooler from the hallway ice machine at the motel, and passed out. Around 5 am, we were up, showered and by 5:45 AM we were on the road headed to Hana. Because we were by the airport, the trip was much shorter. We were frequently alone on Hana Hwy and stayed overnight in Hana. For our family, staying here in a clean and safe location was worth the money saved. We spent it on the convertible instead and it was worth it.

Room Tip: Our room facing in the inside of the hotel courtyard was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farfalla818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This Seaside Hotel is in a quiet location - close to the airport, bus depot & super market. It's not 'the Ritz' but that is reflective in the pricing. Has a pool & the major bus stop is at the Queens Shopping Centre 2 minutes walk away - $4 ticket will get you an all day bus ride - hop on hop off. After day 1 we decided to hire a car - parking incurs a $5 charge at the hotel. Cabbie 'scoffed' at me when we arrived & I announced the Seaside Hotel - he replies..."You miss your plane boss..?' So in short this hotel is a little tired - has a bad rap maybe - but provides great value in the Deluxe Rooms (3011 is cool). Why spend heaps on a hotel when all you require is the room be clean, spacious, have a fridge (for your beers/wines/crab), shower/dunny and a cool pool. I recommend the crab - purchased in the supermarket to the left across the road. This hotel has all you need - and leaves some cash in your Maui travel budget.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room - the 3rd floor with the western mountain outlook worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpreytonFawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Property developers should be considering this site for redevelopment. The hotel is old and the customer service is terrible. Expect that it is mainly used for one night stays before jumping on an early flight, but it was terrible. Staff attitude may reflect the fact they don't expect return customers, but next time I'd get up earlier and drive round from the condo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BWestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,934 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
14.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing