We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be realistic - you got what you paid for”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed 9 August 2004

I did not stay at the Seaside but stayed at the Maui Beach hotel in Wailuku, which is similar and also below my standards, but......
If you are going to travel be realistic. Don't be surprised at finding cockroaches and geckos in Hawaii. If you want a nice room for under a $100 go to Waikiki. This is Maui - where a 1920's bungalow in Kahului sells for more than half a million dollars. You can't go cheap on Maui and expect a resort. The main tourist areas are Kihei to Wailea and Lahaina to Kapalua. What were you doing in Kahului - its where the real people live. The most interesting parts of Maui are off the beaten path which most tourists will never experience.

15  Thank Mauigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2004

DO NOT STAY HERE!

We stayed at this hotel because the reviews on this site didn't throw up any red flags. Unfortunately, when we returned from a day of sightseeing we were welcomed by a salamander (or chameleon?) on the bathroom sink. A cockroach interrupted my fiances shower and the next morning there were baby cockroaches crawling on the furniture and our bags!

Consider yourself warned!

6  Thank plnsmn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
319
Reviewed 19 May 2004

It is almost comical reading the above mentioned reviews-Cmon folks what did you expect when booking at this location? ( okay I will give you the name of the hotel does have the resort feel to it)However when doing your homework it is clear this hotel is a base before starting your vacation and that is what we did - as our plane arrived in Maui at 8.00pm complicate that with a 10 y.o.,a 5 hr time difference a 45 minute drive to resort we were staying at and jet lag I wanted a place close to OGG to rest the night.As hotel is 5 miles from airport and knowing we would be jet lagged etc I didnt feel like dishing out the $240.00 for my first night in Maui.The HOTEL is on the old side and yes rooms are very small but I will say staff are great the grounds are spotless and our ROOM was VERY Very CLEAN and COZY- Nice sounds of the waves put us to sleep. In the morning thier was a brief rain shower and as soon as it stopped 4 staff memebers were out by the pool area drying off the lounge chairs- BY 11.00am we were refreshed from a good nights sleep and my pocket book felt good b/c i only spent 85.00 fopr the room ( good buy comsidering we all crashed within 20 mins of putting our head down on the pillow)We spent 8 days at our resort in Kanapalli and on the last day we checked in again at the Seaside(due to 11.45pm flight) We did the beach and used the hotel to freshen up in b/f heading to the airport-

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
17
Reviewed 19 May 2004

This hotel is good for a cheap, short stay. I wouldn't recomend a "vacation" here. No beaches very near by, rooms are clean and fine, but nothing extra, pool area was good, but not the "Maui" experience. I do have to say that the front desk staff was the most genuinely nicest group I have EVER interacted with at a hotel. I WOULD recomend a stay here if you need a place to stay for one or two nights at the most, it is just an affordable place to sleep, no real "vacation" feel to the place.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
110
Reviewed 22 April 2004

If you are looking to plant your butt on the hotel grounds and not actually experience the island, don't stay here. Kahului is a real town, not a tourist oasis, so you will run into *GASP* real Hawaiians here, and the hotel is no exception. The room was small, but it was clean, and for the most part we spent little time in it, anyway. Think of it as going camping, and the room is your tent : a place to leave your stuff while you are outside doing other things. The place is central to the whole island (Lahaina, Hana, and Kihei are about equidistant from this location), so if you are smart and rent a car it is a great home base. The parking lot could use some revising (bigger spaces, for one), and it's not that quiet, but nothing bad happened regarding the room. Vi's restaraunt isn't the best, but the breakfast will get you started in the morning just fine.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2004

Upon arriving in Maui at midnight we stayed here for one evening prior to departing to Wailea. Keep your expectations very low and it will be bearable. Relative to other Maui hotels, it is not even worth the $85 that we paid. The only positive comment that I could muster is that we did not see any insects in our room. I expect that you would have to have very low standards to be pleased with these accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Canadian-Beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2004

This is not like the Seaside in Kona. Rundown facility and the parking is terrible. The only thing going for this hotel is the sound of the surf that will lull you to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SLE53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
553 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: £121 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing