We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tante's Island Cuisine

Tante's Island Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 147 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Polynesian, Hawaiian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good value and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

It's decorated in an old style but food and service are good. We had one diner and two breakfast and it represent a good value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank iogima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    117
    53
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Ok food, top notch service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Long story short - we had a dinner here that was not bad at all. Followed by a breakfast that was the same. Seasonings are to personal taste and it was variable.

The service in this place is truly excellent. It's welcoming, relaxed, and very accomodating. Friendly and professional. They could give lessons to a lot of 'high end' places on how to treat their guests.
Much Aloha here and the cheesecake had me back three nights in a row, it's that good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great service!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I am a local here on Maui and have been to Tante's quite a few times. The breakfast there is alright, my first time having breakfast there my servers name was Annie. She was very knowledgeable and very funny. Great service and made us want to come back again. The second and third time we visited we weren't as impressed, I believe our servers were Annalyn and Kim. The small little girl, Rye brought our drinks, food, condiments, checks as well as checking up on . ( Isn't that the waitresses job?) We didn't see our waitress once after she took our orders. Our third breakfast visit our server was Kim, she wasn't very knowledgeable about the menu and the same thing happened as our previous.visit! The other tiny busser, Evelyn practically waited on us our entire.visit. Why are the bussers more competent than the servers?!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kailani_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had great service and the food was very delicious, but I wish I could've gotten a little more sweet potato salad though! And when we ordered dessert, we ordered the banana split, was yummy but could the scoops be any smaller? For $8.95? We come eat here all the time, and couple times we heard yelling in the kitchen. What's that about?? Who's yelling? is it the boss? If it is, your staff is doing a good job. They attended to our every need every time we go there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

When in Maui recently, we happened upon this lovely restaurant. Jake, the manager, was very friendly and offered ideas of other areas to visit while we were vacationing. The food was excellent, portions plentiful, great variety, and good pricing. Overall, this onewas of our favorite stops to eat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tante's Island Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tante's Island Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing