We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very basic. Convenient location.”
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel is super close to the airport and shopping but I would not stay here for the bulk of your visit. It's a good place to stay as you come off the flight at midnight. Air conditioner was loud, carpet was old and shower was cramped but you get what you pay for in Maui. The staff were very friendly. Rooms facing the highway are loud.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations.

Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

When it comes down to it, clean is what matters most, and I really think Maui Beach Hotel hit that mark. We booked this location through Hotwire because we had 8 hours to kill before we caught our flight, and we wanted to be well rested.

The staff at the front desk were friendly and efficient. The hallways to the room were very dated, however our room was crisp and clean. I believe the staff and management do a good job here.

It's a very basic hotel, but we did have a nice flat screen TV.

If you're a minimalist type who wants a clean place on the inexpensive side, I would say this is a good option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zombieshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Aloha,

It has been an honor and a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. Please know that your feedback is very important to us, and it will be a valuable tool as we make changes to enhance the guest exerience.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This property has improved since my last stay in the spring. The room was updated with better linens and new carpet. However, the carpeting in the hallway leading to my room was just a disaster. As I mentioned previously, it is still wrinkled with gaping tears and holes. This really needs to be replaced promptly as it's the initial impression guests have of their room.
The parking lot remains dark and they still charge $5 to park in this expansive lot. Just do not understand what the $5 charge is for since the lot is still dark. I will stay here again for a night but not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcjw700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We can understand and share your disapointment. Please know that we are taking steps to better maintain our facility, and we will include your feedback as we plan for future improvements.
Customer satisfactionis our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Our stay in Kaanapali ended Sunday (along with the car rental) and our flight out wasn't until Monday night. We were looking for moderately priced lodging close to the airport with a shuttle service. The Maui Beach Hotel fit the bill. Rooms were comfortable, clean and cool. Connecting to WiFi was easy.The location is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and a movie theatre. The only thing lacking, in our minds, was an in-room coffee maker. And it was good to have a place to "hang out" while waiting for our flight. We certainly appreciated the airport shuttle service. Mahalo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I imagine most people will be in the same situation as us, staying here because you are arriving late or leaving early from Kauhului airport. Our room was clean, the wifi worked, and they promptly delivered a crib after check-in, which was appreciated at 11:30pm. Was surprised by the nice oceanfront view upon waking up. The airport shuttle was a really nice bonus, since we had to return to the airport to pick up our car in the morning. The shuttle driver was very friendly and provided some pointers.

I don't think I would want to stay here for an extended time, the corridors and room felt damp (they had carpet blowers running in the morning), and Kahului isn't that exciting a spot on Maui aside from doing your grocery shopping, but it was good value for an airport hotel, and the nice bonuses like the ocean views and free airport shuttle bring it from a 3 to a 4.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XploreNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are very important to us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfactions is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

It has good location, on the main drag but also with its own private beach, which is adjacent to beaches of couple other hotels', Very close to the airport, walking distance to Whole Foods market and other shopping facilities (including couple of major shopping malls) which makes it easy and convenient to buy some of your own food. Rooms have small fridges with tiny freezers, adequate for small containers of ice cream. Rooms are clean, no problems. Eating in their restaurant is however on the expensive side with breakfast buffet at over $13 (with tax) per person and the choices are very mundane and limited. Go elsewhere to eat.

Room Tip: second floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are very important for us continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We flew in one day early so I made reservations on line for a room with ocean view. We got a room on the side that looked at the side parking lot and the loading docs and a little bit of water. We got in on Thanksgiving early evening got checked in and saw they were advertising for Thanksgiving dinner, we decided to give it a try, it was just gross. Everything on the buffet was cold as ice. The only two good things on there was the salad without the terrible dressing and the cold shrimps. It was not even worth the 101.00 that was charged. The next morning we decided to give the buffet breakfast a try and that is not worth 13.00 a piece. Nothing fresh about it at all. The fruit, juice, and coffee were the only thing good. The food looked old and it was like rubber it was so old and the food wasn't hot it was cold. If you stay there don't eat there, go find a good place with good food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenkuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to bring you experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectaions and for the inconveniences that you endured. We tryly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback.

Please know that the entire team at the Maui Beach Hotel is committed to taking the necessary steps to ensure that this experience is not repeated.

Shoul future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that your will give us another chance.

Kind Regards,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,086 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
239 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: £116 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. Hotel pool will be closed for renovations from September 18 through October 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing