We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hard bed”
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here while on vacation to Maui. I wanted to stay someplace that was central to the entire island. This was the perfect location! The staff was friendly and helpful. I had the standard room and the size was fine for me since I was there by myself. However the bed was hard, the shower was small, and tile floor was cracked so it looked dirty. They charge $5 per day for parking, but I'm not sure why. There is plenty of parking. Compared to other hotels on the island, $5 is pretty good as some charge a lot more. If I come back, I would stay someplace else. This hotel would be fine if only staying for a night or two, not 5.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeAnnH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Positives are big room, nice TV and lots of stations, nice shower and tub, lots of parking, good location, nice front desk clerks, good view, good water pressure, shower gel and soap from dispensers, quiet, and air conditioner fine. There is a $12.95 breakfast buffet which I did not try but had a lot of variety to it although $13 seems a bit much for clientele. A negative and a positive. The first room I was given clearly reeked of smoke (Room #271) but they quickly gave me another room (#109) which was fine. A negative was inadequate lighting in the bedroom with only 1 table lamp and a small desk lamp which for a big room is obviously not enough. And of course, $5 parking at a hotel is something that apparently Lite Hotels like to charge for. To offset this, there is no resort fee like some charge on Maui...south and west part of island I think and can run $15 a night.

Room Tip: Check the room given to you for past smoke. Remember until smoking was disallowed, there were smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend (May 2014). Our room was small, but clean, with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Very quiet, too, which is a plus. The staff was friendly. The hotel was about 7 minutes from the airport.

Four things I did not like: (a) we had to pay for parking in the hotel's lot; (b) the room did not have a microwave, which has become a standard amenity; (c) The room did not have a coffee maker, also a standard amenity in 2014. (d) WiFi was not reliable.

Don't be confused by the "beach" in the name of the hotel. There really is not good, swimmable beach here. The hotel overlooks an industrial area to the north. West views of the mountain are nice.

Overall, this is a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place was pretty basic. The building reminded me a bit of my high school but the room was clean and the staff were friendly. Pool is small and closes at 5pm but I'd rather be at the beach anyway. This place is good if you want to be close to the airport and get a cheap (relatively anyway) hotel. I'd stay again as the cost of most other places on Maui made my heat stop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The location was centrally located and the staff was great. The staff was very helpful and courtesy. The shuttle service was great! The rooms were clean and the property was maintained very nicely. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeazangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Aloha,

It has been an honor and a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to write about us. Please know that your feedback is very important to us, and it will be a valuable tool as we make changes to enhance the guest experience.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I get it. Maui is expensive. But a hotel charging $140 should still have some basic standards. I've stayed at Motel 6 hotels that were nicer than this one. There were holes in the walls, and the entire property looks run down and dirty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are very important for us to improve our accommodations.

We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was a centrally located, clean hotel and the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. I felt safe the entire time I was there and enjoyed the convenience of the hotel shuttle. Breakfast was very good every day. The staff truly lived the Aloha spirit.

Room Tip: I enjoyed a garden room with a lanais. Very quiet and beautiful setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Cuctomer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,083 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,209 reviews
13.4 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: £113 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. Hotel pool will be closed for renovations from September 18 through October 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing