We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful smell in the rooms!”
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Honolulu
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awful smell in the rooms!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our school band went on a trip to Maui and some of the rooms had this awful smell coming through the vents. Finally switched to another room but the damage was done to our clothing in our suitcases. Yikes! Will never stay here again. Some of the reviews previously have mentioned this so the hotel must be old and not cleaning or renovating the rooms/property. Beware if you stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocokiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    121
    200
    83
    65
See reviews for
105
223
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Close to beach, pool, poolbar, friendly staff, free bikes, free shuttle, close to towncenter, great rooms.
Restaurant on site, open early for breakfast.
First morning perfect info about all excursions possible at Maui.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnekeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I would describe it as a “very nice motel”. It is close to the airport, right in Kahului. It is directly on the water and you can get to the water, but there is no real beach access from the hotel.
There is a motel-style pool. It is not necessarily a nice pool but it does the trick if you just want to cool off. The room had a mini-fridge. Unfortunately, the air-conditioner was noisy. The room was clean but certainly not recently updated. We stayed there one night in transit and it certainly did the trick! If you are considering your options, I will say that this place seemed nicer than the other ones around it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived here late at night after a long flight and basically just fell asleep. However, the price seemed a bit much for what we got - a somewhat large room that obviously needed some updating. You can tell it used to be really nice but that they just haven't done any updates. We left at 6AM the next morning and I wouldn't have wanted to stay around much longer. The staff were were very nice however and the airport shuttle was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiegirl1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for about 7 hours before a late flight home from Maui. It was precisely what we needed to just relax, have a swim and do some shopping.
I found the room to be very clean, and free WIFI. It did have a small fridge which was handy. It is located almost directly across from the big shopping mall and very close to many restaurants and the airport.
The staff was very friendly, although it was not busy when we were there.
The cons are, very small pool, no real restaurant or bar. I believe they serve breakfast and dinner on Sat. nights. Can't comment on breakfast as we checked in later and checked out that evening.
The location although convenient is by no means scenic, faces a major road. The rooms are on the small side and the room we had was window A/C which can be loud.
That being said, for about $100 the value is there, especially if you are doing a short stay, or not spending much time at the hotel. Perfect for the airport layover or late flight, or if you are the type to rise early, eat and take off all day.
Also, I don't believe we paid for parking officially, but nice it is included in the price.
I would recommend it with the above caveats.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that faces the inside or back of the the hotel. Ours was facing the road, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimsbygirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Maui Beach Hotel last month while on a short outter island birthday trip to Maui. We were not planning on spending too much time in the room since we had a ton of activities planned. We decided to stay at the Maui Beach Hotel since it was central and all the reviews said it was a clean hotel.

We got a room on the inside garden, right by the ocean. The wifi network was a little slow, but there was a bed and a shower. (There were no extra amenities like shampoo or cups provided so bring everything you'll need.) The staff were friendly and there were vending machines in the laundry room. You can only gain access to the rooms portion of the hotel via room key so it felt pretty secure. There is a small parking fee, but it was really reasonable. The location is perfect, and super convenient. Since we had a room on the inside part of the hotel it was really quiet. From what I understand, the hotel has had a recent "light" renovation and everything is in good condition. You can tell that it's not a NEW place, but it seems decently maintained.

My only complaint would be the questionable lady who was in the room next to us. I'm not sure if she was "a lady of the night"... but it seemed like she was a "long term guest" with different visitors who she "worked out" with...a lot. We could hear them next door a few times through our stay. Not one to judge, maybe she was just really friendly. She looked like a local girl, and definitely wasn't visiting from the mainland.

Over all it was perfect as a place to sleep. If you have a ton of things planned and will be spending little time in the room, this is a good spot.

Room Tip: Request a room on the inside of the hotel if you want some peace and quiet. Otherwise your going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaiLeiLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Upon entering our room we noticed that the room was extremely hot, due to the fact that our ac was never turned on. We turned it on only to have the room slightly cool down the next day. Our refrigerator was barely cold as well. We asked for a single bed and qas told that a queen bed was gonna be in our room, we didnt have a queen we had 2 smaller beds. Having a toddler, it was quite difficult being I did not want him to fall off so we just pushed the bed to the wall. Also we called housekeeping multiple times for towels but no one ever answered. We then asked for towels from the wonderful gentleman that was turning down another guests room the next day. Also the shower door leaked as we showered

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank keaunua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
225 reviews
14.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Property: Maui Beach Hotel
Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing