We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and comfort equal awesome experience”
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value and comfort equal awesome experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I spent an afternoon with my sweetheart and the experience was exceptional. They let me check in three hours early and the shuttle was so convenient. I look forward to my next stay already. The next time that we stay we will be able to have a more complete review as we will make better use of the facilities and services.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konxions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    121
    201
    83
    66
See reviews for
106
224
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed 2 days in July 2014 at the Maui Beach hotel. The room was very clean but dated. The shower water pressure was real low and that was really the only bad part of the room. The wifi worked fine in the room. There is a large mall across the street and I ate dinners there. Lots of choices for food. I took tours during the day so I was at the hotel only during the nighttime hours. My room overlooked a street so the view wasn't great. The shuttle saved me having to pay for a cab to and from the airport. Overall the hotel was nice for the price you expect to pay on Maui.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidFortPierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night there on our arrival on Maui. The front desk lady was exceedingly friendly and helpful. But once we got to our room, it was nearly 90 degrees! We turned on the AC but it took hours for it to get cool enough to sleep. And as we were trying to sleep, there was an incessant high-pitch squealing from the plumbing. Fortunately we had earplugs, but it did not make for a restful night.

The room itself was comfortable and very clean and the staff was friendly. But I would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wxfru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This Maui Beach Hotel is a charming hotel of yesteryear. It is centrally located in Kahului and easy to reach from the airport. Right in Kahului town and easy access to every part of the island.
Across the street is Queen Kaahumanu Shopping Center and located within that complex are restaurants and a grocery store for supplies. Also nearby is a CVS store. And lastly not too far, a Whole Foods grocery for everything organic.
The rooms are priced right for the budget minded. We stayed on the second floor facing the courtyard. As you are about to enter the hallway towards our room. There is a security door that needs your room key to enter. We liked that.
Our room was small, just comfortable enough for one person or two adults like we were. And it was completely refreshed. Very CLEAN! Painted, recarpeted and bathroom redone. Water pressure was low, but that is understandable as Maui is very Eco-minded on water usage and many other issues. Bedding was beautiful on a Queen sized bed. Bed was comfortable. Nice sized tv and room safe with ironing board and iron with hairdryer and small refrigerator that worked great. No coffee maker but that was stated only oceanview rooms got that. It didn't matter to us. Starbucks was a couple of blocks away by car. Or you could walk to the grocery across the street to get some.
So we were very happy with the room.
We did not spend any daylight time in the room. But in the evening we enjoyed the tiny balcony for two by eating our dinner, sharing drinks and enjoying the hotel courtyard views.
The front staff was very accomodating and very nice to us. And they were very helpful with our requests.
Oh yes, the Wifi was great!
There is a buffet on Saturday nights and we think that there is breakfast served every morning. We didn't get to experience those because of our time constraints. I think there was a pool but I am not sure.
All in all you can pay triple the amount and spend time in the Lahaina/Kaanapali area. But if you are budget minded and want a centrally located hotel to points everywhere Maui. The Maui Beach is it! We hope to book another reservation someday.

Room Tip: Oceanviews are best otherwise request a room with a balcony facing the courtyard. We liked the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamonaP769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've stayed here many times in past 9 years on business. Finally in past year we are no longer required to stay here. We had too many unhappy stays, front desk staff can be rude and cold. We had unclean rooms at times. Also school children stay here for excursions as well as construction workers. Can be noisy. Good place if u r on a tight budget. I would pay more & stay at a nicer place with nicer staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattyhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our school band went on a trip to Maui and some of the rooms had this awful smell coming through the vents. Finally switched to another room but the damage was done to our clothing in our suitcases. Yikes! Will never stay here again. Some of the reviews previously have mentioned this so the hotel must be old and not cleaning or renovating the rooms/property. Beware if you stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocokiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Close to beach, pool, poolbar, friendly staff, free bikes, free shuttle, close to towncenter, great rooms.
Restaurant on site, open early for breakfast.
First morning perfect info about all excursions possible at Maui.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnekeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,058 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,124 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
14.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Property: Maui Beach Hotel
Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing