We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Location, love the place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Surf Condominiums
Ranked #22 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were on the 5th floor, and I'm usually a little picky of where I stay - sanitary wise and I would bring my own sheets - but WOW, as soon as I walked in, it was spectacular!!! BEAUTIFUL view of the beach and street, had volleyball courts right across the street alongside the beach. It was walking distance to where we needed to go/eat/drink: Maui Tacos, Lava Java and Hula Hogs for scooter rentals.

Everything we needed was provided, i.e. soap, dishes, cleaning supplies. The master bedroom was absolutely stunning, love the kitchen set up and the extended balcony. I would definitely stay here again and again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a great stay at the Island Surf condos. Unit 411 was beautiful, modern and super convenient. We were able to walk to secluded beaches just a few minutes away and watch the sea turtles swim by. The condo was fitted with modern amenities including air conditioning and was very quiet at bedtime. Great food is just a walk away.... coffee, drinks, and some live music too. We had a great time!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It's been years since my first trip to Maui. While last time I stayed at the Four Seasons, we stayed this time at right in the heart of everything and loved it! So convenient to everything and easy to enjoy all that Maui offers. :)

#411 at Island Surf was clean, comfortable...and loved all the extras. The owners go above and beyond to make sure you have a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyandmaxmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved our stay in this wonderful condo room 501! Everything is exactly as shown in the pictures! It was clean, tidy, and fully stocked including beach chairs, a boogie board, sand toys, and more. We even left two water noodles to add to the collection of outdoor equipment. Our family spent mornings either going to beaches or getting surf lessons from a place just across the street eventually ending our day by lounging in the pool just before sunset. The condo is walking distance to restaurants, beaches, and a grocery store. It's also nice because Kalama Park is right across the street and the kids go to the playground or skate park. We like the lanai for watching people surf and play volleyball, as well as relax as we watch the sun set. It is also nice because there is a parking lot at the back of the condo if you will be renting a car. Although it may seem the street below is busy and noisy, it was nothing that we could complain about. The sliding doors in this room really insulated the noise so when you close it at night you can hardly hear anything. Overall, our family really enjoyed our stay here. We felt comfortable and relaxed. The owner Patty was so great with responding to emails! Thank you once again for sharing your home.
A small tip: If you need a good breeze instead of using the air conditioner, open the front door and lock the screen door shut as the patio doors are opened as well. There is a nice breeze that will come through as the back side of the building is cooler. However, it can get a little strong so be careful!

Room Tip: Room 501 is newly renovated and very comfortable to stay in. It is facing the ocean and beautiful fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had our first trip to Maui just after Christmas. We stayed in #501 at Island Surf for 6 nights, arriving Boxing Day and leaving on New Year's Day. The condo was perfect for for our family of 4 - two adults & two teenagers. There's plenty of space with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a pull-out couch in the living room. The kitchen is modern & well appointed. There's a nice lounge area, laundry, and a terrific double balcony (lanai) with a terrific view of the park and beach. Kids and their dad went surfing right across the street. In the evening, we enjoyed sitting on the balcony with drinks to watch gorgeous sunsets and in the morning watched the surfers & paddle-boarders take to waves.

The king-sized bed in the main bedroom is super comfortable. The entire unit is spacious, tastefully decorated and very clean. The master bedroom and living area both have ceiling fans which we used during day and night to keep the air moving. The unit comes with air-conditioning, free WIFI, two flat-screen TVs. Beach towels are supplied, as well as beach chairs, umbrella & toys. The condo does face S.Kihei Road which is busy at times but the large sliding glass doors are great sound insulators. We all had very restful sleeps. A good breeze can often be had by opening the door to the main entrance and the lanai doors – sometimes strong enough to blow things over!

Location is fabulous - restaurants & shops & beaches all within walking distance. You can book a surf or paddle board lesson right across the street, and snorkelling beaches are close by. Make sure you check out Three's Bar & Grill and the South Tiki Lounge for dinner. Also the best coffee shop - Lava Java - is a few doors down! Try their Frozen Mocha! Also within walking distance is a Foodland grocery store and a craft marketplace for souvenir shopping. We rented a car for the entire time we were there and took little road trips up to Lahaina, Ho'okipa Beach, the Iao Valley, and Wailea. All in all a great holiday stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We just returned from an 12 day stay at the Island Surf (unit#610). Never having been to Maui before we were a little anxious about finding the right kind of place to stay. But we totally nailed it with the Island Surf - and specifically this unit (#610). It is in the best location, in our opinion, in Kihei. It's just north of the SUPER touristy area where the large timeshares and busy commercial areas are located - yet walkable if you want to sight see or check out the beaches in that area. It's also directly across the street of a great park that's popular with paddle boarders and surfing beginners. There are several fantastic restaurants in short walking distance - and more than a few passable ones ;)

This unit is on the sixth floor and has spectacular views looking southwest. Its located on the south leg of the building along Auhana RD - not on the side facing the busier S Kihei Rd. That being said, while Kihei Rd does have a fair amount of traffic, it's only a two-lane and people keep their speed typically around 25. I don't think that should be a deterrent, especially if you are on the south side of the building. (If you are planning to spend a lot of time in the condo during the day, and your preference runs toward tranquil lapping of ocean waves only, then yes, there may be better buildings for you.)

Along the ground floor are a number of retail shops (yay, for mixed use) including the SUPERB Joys Place. Great convenient place to grab a tasty bite or have a green smoothie and give your body a break from the kalua pork and mai tais!

The last thing I'll mention is just how laid back the whole building is. This is NOT a resort or even a hotel and it's SO fantastic. When we travel we love to stay in local places that have a personal vibe and NOT the huge time shares or resorts with spas, child care and restaurants etc. We were there long enough that we got to recognize and chat with a number of the residents of the building, most of whom live there, as well as the very helpful and friendly building super/manager Brian. About 95% of the units here are occupied by full-time residents (one of them informed us) and the few that are rented out are owned by different owners - not a management company. From the sounds of other reviews the condition of condos can vary widely from unit to unit - some may be much better appointed than others. Do your homework before you settle on a unit and ask questions. Our owner was fantastic and very responsive, not to mention keeping the place fully stocked with everything we could possibly need!

This is a gem of a unit and building in an area flooded with condos and hotels that start to look the same. (I know, I spent over a month settling on a place...) It's got the location, amenities and views.

Room Tip: Rooms along Auhana Rd are likely quieter, as well as on the top 6th floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank samrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our family of four had an amazing stay at unit 411. It is modern, very clean, comfortable and spacious. It is conveniently located, walking distance to shops & restaurants and right across the road from the beach. It was so fantastic to have everything we needed for our vacation stay - from spice racks and amenities in the kitchen to all the fun gear and toys for the beach. We will definitely stay in this condo again and recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: 411 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 60 in Kihei
668 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 60 in Kihei
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Surf Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Surf Condominiums

Address: 1993 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7834
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our retreat in paradise. We invite you to share our getaway in sunny, tropical southern Maui. Our fully stocked condominiums have been furnished to provide you with every necessity to ensure your comfort. Whether your interests are golfing, snorkeling, kayaking, shopping or just pure escape, our ideally located condos will allow you to immerse yourself in all the beauty and splendor Maui has to offer without traveling long distances by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Surf Condominiums Hotel Kihei
Island Surf Condominiums Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing