We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
66
22
9
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
22
9
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop deck boutique resort breakfast was included hot tub borrow beach chairs pool spa room was clean the entire staff across the street junior suite lush gardens low key special thanks fresh pineapple each morning the general manager exploring the island
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We recently enjoyed a low key three-night stay at Kohea Kai Resort Maui. Location-wise, I think this resort works well for golfers wanting to head to Wailea, south of here, or to the national park. The town of Kihei itself is not resort-y. We had researched restaurants and enjoyed good evening meals at Shearwater Tavern, Lava Rock Bar and Grill, and Cuatro’s, which were all casual but good. All required a short car drive or two-ish mile walk along a dark, busy street, so we drove to dinner each evening.
The resort itself was reasonable price-wise and includes free parking and a breakfast, which we haven’t found with our other stays this trip, but those others have been larger, multi-story resorts. We stayed in an ocean front room on the first floor and found it to not really have a good view plus was noisy by the road (though that didn’t affect our sleep). The grounds were very nice, though we golfed both days so didn’t hang around the resort much.
On the the third day, with Tropical Storm Olivia approaching, we asked the front desk attendant if we could change rooms to move further back from the water. She was very accommodating, and the head of housekeeping also immediately showed up to help us move our bags. Super friendly folks.
Good value, very sufficient accommodations, friendly folks!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKoheaKai, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha and Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Thank you for your scoring us high, we really appreciate it and we hope that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

I decided to book this last minute as it looked like a quiet escape in Kihei that had a cozy vibe. It really did! The folks here are so nice and welcoming and falloff suggestions for things to do should you want any. Our room (not a kitchenette) was upstairs so we had a nice view of the water from the balcony. The road noise is minimal at night. The AC is a little loud but nothing earplugs can't fix. We enjoyed the nice touches of breakfast and water bottles and other goodies left for us. Will definitely be coming back - it's quiet, is not a big "condo" or loud hotel, and feels Aloha.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Spar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKoheaKai, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Aloha and Thank you so much for sharing with us your wonderful experiences. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I am happy that you felt the Aloha spirit all around the hotel and from our staff. Here we thrive on providing our guests the best experiences the warmest Aloha feeling.
We appreciate your time and we hope that you will visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

My wife and I stayed in Kohea Kai in December of 2017 for our 10 year wedding anniversary.

Highlights:
1. Amazing hot breakfasts. Much better than I was expecting.
2. Great service from friendly staff.
3. Very clean rooms!
4. Peaceful, magnificent gardens and pool. Very restful and private.
5. Next to the ocean. Many rooms enjoy full or partial ocean view.

The price was affordable, which made me wonder how nice it would be. But after staying here I assure you it is an INCREDIBLE value.

The staff were friendly, helpful, and gave us amazing customer service. They went out of their way repeatedly. It wasn't just customer service - they treated us like old friends.

Our first 2 nights were in a "Standard" room with Ocean View, Air Conditioning, and a pillowtop King bed. This was on the second floor, with a small balcony with partial ocean view. The kitchenette was fine and had everything we needed for the two of us. The room was clean, and cozy! Not big, but just right for a couple.

Our 3rd night was in the luxurious Ocean Front Penthouse. My wife and I enjoyed the hot tub on the deck, looking out of the beach / ocean. It was very spacious and beautiful. Someone invested a fortune building or remodeling this property.

If you want more room, definitely upgrade to the Full Suites, or a penthouse. The two penthouses are soooooooo nice. Rooms vary in their views, so when booking you might want to ask.

Come to think of it, I didn't see any kids. This is a quiet, romantic getaway type place.

The gardens will make you think you are hidden away in your own tropical paradise.
We loved grabbing breakfast and sitting outside. The outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are magnificent.

Misc tips:
1. Consider a romantic sunset walk on the beach to Monsoon India, a great restaurant 10 minutes south of Kohea Kai Resort.
2. There are beach chairs, toys, and beach mats available to borrow, first-come first-serve. But we found a run to Costco and Walmart (on the way from the airport), gave us everything we wanted.
3. The coffee served (Maui Upcountry Coffee) was the best I've had in my life. Just...wow...
4. This part of Kihei is perfect -- quiet and uncrowded. Quick access to various places on the island. The beach across the street is fine, but you'll likely want to drive to other beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaysOfNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKoheaKai, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Aloha and Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here with us. We are ever so delighted to know that you enjoyed yourself here with us. I have shared your wonderful comment with my awesome staff that thrives on providing guests with the best. We thank you for your high scoring and we wish you much Aloha and hope that you will visit us again real soon.
Mahalo
Luseane Moa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Our flight out of Maui was cancelled and the airlines put us up in the hotel. We were so very pleasantly surprised. It's a small resort, across the street from the beach. The room is a typical hotel size room, but has a neat, eclectic vibe. It was clean and did not smell musty as so many hotels on the beach do. The bed was comfortable, the room cool, and our balcony looked out towards the beach.
The grounds are immaculately kept, with spots to picnic, BBQ, lay by the pool, etc...
Breakfast was served daily and it was great. Eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, and the typical continental breakfast fare.
The best part was the service. The staff accommodated our 2:00a.m. arrival after our flight was cancelled. They gave us a really late checkout, and they provided tips and assistance during our stay. They could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

If you want a quiet, boutique style hotel with excellent staff, this place would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shutterbug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKoheaKai, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Aloha and Thank you so very much for sharing with us your experiences. We are so delighted to know that you have enjoyed your short time with us and we thank you for the wonderful praises and comments about our hotel, we appreciate it very much. We want you to know that we take pride in our hotel and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We just stayed 7 nights in this hotel. The room was very large with seaview. It was fully equipped with a huge fridge incl. icecubemaker, stove, oven, dishwasher and microwave.
A large balcony completed the room. The beach is just across the street. The breakfast is absolutely ok incl. fresh pineapple, freshly made waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage. The staff is friendly and helpful. Would come back tomorrow!

Ein wirklich schöner Aufenthalt. Das Preis/Leistungsverhältnis ist für Maui-Verhältnisse TOP! Die wirklich komplette Küche ermöglicht natürlich ein enormes Sparpotential, wenn man selbst kocht!

Room Tip: Upper floor with seaview
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKoheaKai, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Aloha and Thank you for sharing with us your experiences here. We are so delighted to know that you really enjoyed your stay and the Aloha spirit from my wonderful staff. We hope to see you again in the near future or tomorrow =)
Mahalo for taking the time to send us a review, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews