We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamaole Nalu Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$548
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$687
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
US$721
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$537
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$468
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$570
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$800
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$771
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
52
25
17
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
25
17
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocky areathe kitchenmaster bedroomwasher and dryerwithin walking distancehouse rulesup to dateda kitchengreat snorkelingbeautiful beachan upgradebeach chairsevery morningoceanlanaigroundssunset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We just spent 2 wonderful weeks in unit 106 at the Nalu. This was our 5th annual stay. In reading some of the other reviews we agree with some and definitely not with others. For example, the building is fairly old but the units are very nice( at least 106 & 206 are as we've stayed in them. The units all have ocean views and the building is literally a 20 ft walk on lawns to the beach. Very good snorkeling and viewing of turtles, dolphins, whales and rays( plus the occasional seal) right in front of you. It is best to stay as far from the street as possible due to noise but they do cost less, you can relax on the numerous lawn chairs, and it is usually very quiet after 9 pm anyway. Right across the street there is a small grocery store, several other stores, great cinnibuns, an ice cream store with 50 flavors, a Denny's, Cafe Olei for nicer dinner fare etc

Someone mentioned the resident Manager Tom and said he doesn't seem to do very much! This couldn't be more wrong. We saw him every day-7 days a week-starting around 5:30 am cleaning the pool, cleaning the BBQ's, cutting the lawns or watering them and the plants and flowers, weeding, planting new flowers etc etc. We thought he did an excellent job. Some people seem to want to complain about something all the time. We love staying there and have already booked for next year

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Just returned from staying at Kamaole Nalu # 506. Unfortunately it was only for 5 nights! Whereas the building is somewhat "tired" the condo is fantastic. It's located on the 5th floor (one down from the top) and literally hangs over the beach and ocean. Watching all the ocean activity and sunsets couldn't get any better. The condo has been extensively renovated and tastefully done. I doubt any other unit in the complex would show better.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Faldo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

if you like street noise, a grumpy on site manager, dirty common areas, a business center from the stone age(it was free though), a remote management company for this unit(304) Alii Resorts, that struggles to provide decent service but fails to deliver, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoctorDubious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I spent the last week at Kamaole Nalu with my parents, brother and grandfather in a two-bedroom unit. It's a fantastic location (right on Kamaole II, with good snorkeling immediately outside the building on the rocks to the right of the beach and a huge expanse of sand and calm water). We had stayed at the Hale Pau Hana next door before, so we knew we'd love the beach.

Kamaole Nalu is a little rough around the edges but is a great place to stay for the price. Here are my pros and cons:

PROS
+Right on a great swimming, snorkeling and paddleboarding beach
+Close to shops, restaurants, a surfing beach, other nice beaches, etc.
+The price is right
+Enough space for the family
+All decks have ocean views
+Comes with beach towels
+Washer and dryer (so so nice not to be lugging around stinky beach towels the whole trip)
+Best cinnamon rolls in the world located across the street, as well as other good restaurants
+Very attentive, kind and helpful management staff
+Kitchen allows for cooking of own meals, a huge cost saver

CONS
-Lots of street noise! (esp. if in unit closest to South Kihei Road -- bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper!)
-Building doesn't look super nice
-Small kitchen
-Dated interior decorations

Basically, the location is fantastic, but if you want a resort look and feel and resort amenities, stay in a resort (but be prepared to pay roughly three times as much). If a simple but very satisfactory, conveniently located condo on a great beach at a good price is what you're looking for, Kamaole Nalu is a safe bet.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from South Kihei Road as possible!
Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank Traveler1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed in Kamaole Nalu #206 in August 2012. The Location really is everything and it makes up for the small issues we had with our Condo. #206 has been renovated in the past 5 - 6 years and was recently furnished with new furniture and flat screen Tv's. Tv's were added to both bedrooms. Our main complaints had to do more with housekeeping and grounds-keeping than with the Condo itself. There was ALOT of dust on the curtains, and tops of the doors and refrigerator. Dust and dead bugs in the light fixture over the dining room table..not enough attention to detail in that area. The only other complaint inside the Condo itself was the lack of Pots and Pans to cook our meals with. Tom, the resident manager seems to have a pretty sweet deal...lives in Paradise and really doesn't appear to have to do much. The Grounds need some serious attention. We have been coming to the Nalu for years and this year was by far the worst condition for the grounds. There are patches of nothing but dirt and holes directly in front of a Lanai on the ground floor....the grass had grown up around the flower beds and the pool fence. The area in the front of the building near the elevator looks like a trash pile that just keeps growing, not very inviting upon arrival, especially if this is the first time visiting Kamaole Nalu. Will these issues keep me from returning, absolutely not. Where else can you just sit on the Lanai and watch the Sea Turtles every day, catch a glimpse of a pod of Spinner Dolphins swimming by and the front row seat to the Sunset? Kamaole Nalu really is the best location for the value on Maui, at least in my Opinion it is. However, Like I said, it is the lack of attention to detail that bothered us the most. The staff at Ali'i Resort really are great and when these issues were brought to their attention the gave their word that they will be addressed and taken care of. We will be back and we will continue to stay in Unit 206!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tari4334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews