We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll never know what you're going to get!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamaole Nalu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamaole Nalu Resort
Ranked #51 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'll never know what you're going to get!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

This is an older 36 unit building built at an angle to the ocean. Prices of the units vary greatly with proximity to the ocean. As reported before units are individually owned so what you get is the luck of the draw. We managed to get one nicely updated unit and one old dump. Be very cautious! Building is in the last 25 or so years of it's land hold lease, which basically means unit values are on the decline and owners will no longer spend money to upgrade their units.

Ali'i resorts manages most of the units and they apparently consider this a license to steal! After being made aware of rental totals, taxes etc. we found an undisclosed $40 "damage waiver" in our final bills and contracts. They apparently think they're renting cars and will next be charging for a full tank of gas or some other such fraud!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paininthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    22
    17
    9
    10
See reviews for
45
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed for 10 nights in unit 105. With four teenage boys, groundfloor beachfront was very important to me and the Kamaole Nalu fit the bill.
Unfortunately, the quality of the unit was horrific and I cannot stress enough that unit 105 needs to be upgraded extensively - AND CLEANED THOROUGHLY - before you should consider it.
The blinds in the living room were at least three decades old, did not open and close easily and were disgusting to the touch. When we made our bed and the sheet hit the top of the fan, it came down black from dirt. The shower was outdated and was also grimy to the touch.
The kitchen has zero storage space for dry goods so we ended up having to store food on the counter.
While the computer is a nice gesture, the note from the owners to add your music and take theirs from the ITunes collection felt somewhat criminal in this age of music licensing infringements.
Even the furniture on the deck in old - to the point where even my kids wanted to put down towels prior to sitting down.
While the staff was kind in lending me an umbrella, when I asked for a roll of toilet paper as one of ours had fallen in the tub, I was told that I get three only.
From the outside, unit 106, the one closest to the water, looks okay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieroehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

The Kamaole Nalu should be completely leveled and a new building built in it's place. The location is good but, the building is old and poorly maitained. There are no upgrades whatsoever and is very 60's decor with no air conditioning. We travel quite extensively with our kids staying all over the world and aside from a place in Denmark, this is absolutely the crapiest place that I have ever stayed in. I would not recommend it for your dog. Do yourself a favor and go else where.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

This complex is right next to Kamaole Beach II in Kihei. The location is perfect for doing anything on Maui. The sun is on your lanai all day - great for watching people, whales, waves. All the units have ocean views, it is quiet and the owners/operators are very friendly. We first stayed there over New Years 2006. The unit we stayed in this year was getting a little seedy - needs some paint and a general spruce up. But I would stay in the complex again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quatro_Gatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

2 adults/2 kids returning for our 6th time in the same unit - #102. We're used to the street noise and prefer the ground floor/back location. We actually thought this year the street noise was quieter than we've heard in the past. #102 is a bit more private since you're not right infront of the pool and you don't have everyone walking by your unit - it's next to the caretaker's unit so really, no one ever walks by your lanai.

We love the location - right on the beach - great sunsets and perfect beach access. The new caretaker does a great job and stays pretty much to himself. He cleans the pool and BBQ nightly and keeps the gounds tidy. The grounds however, need some updating - no plants to speak of other than some flowering trees. The BBQ's work well and are always clean - had to wait for our turn during the busier times which gives us an opportunity to have a cocktail!!

Unit #102 was same as it was 10 years ago...same furtniture and same decorations. Needs updating!!!! Unit could have been a bit cleaner (dusty under couch and dusty cobwebs hanging from the ceiling) but we're not picky - we've got sandy kids!! No surprises for us but the kitchen was not well equiped so don't expect anything fancy - not enough plates or cutlery. Knives were as dull as a stone and no sharpening blade. Pots were old and teflon flaking/scratched off - time to replace them!!! Also, the screen from the lanai was broken (same as last year) - we suggested last year that someone get it fixed but I guess no one bothered!!!

We rented through Ali'i Resorts and they were ok. Everyone was really nice there - they were there to meet us at the unit with a nice gift basket but after they left, we didn't hear from them again. We thought we'd at least get a call from them after a few days to check how things were going.

When we left this year, we realized maybe it was time to check out either another unit or another location that is a bit more updated. But you can't beat the price for a 2 bedroom beachfront so who knows, maybe we'll be back for 1 more time!!

Mahalo!
lwbc

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnySunnyTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed here last year and liked it so much we spent a little more money then we wanted to so we could stay here again this year. It’s true it is an older building and it does show a little bit, but the location is GREAT and so is the view!! The beach is right out front and has pretty good snorkeling too. We saw turtles on two different days. Right across the street is the Whalers General Store that has lots of everyday stuff for pretty good prices. Within walking distance is snorkel gear, good food (Café O’Lie & Maui Tacos), souvenirs and anything else you need less then a five minute walk. The only drawback is it takes about 35 minutes or so to drive to Lahaina, but you only need to go once so we think it’s worth it. By the way, if you go to Lahaina go to The Blue Lagoon and have a Lava Flow!!! They make them with real ice cream and are really good!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Building needs a little work
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jnahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

I'm giving this a low score due to the unit itself (105) which is in dire need of upgrades. The entire condo, however, is older but in a great location and some of the units have been upgraded to really nice, clean vacation rentals. I would suggest asking upon inquiries if the unit you are looking at has been updated in the recent past. The location of this building is absolutely the best. Other reviews capture the essence perfectly. Walking distance to just about any type of restaurant you need. The grocery store is within driving distance. Large lawn area in front of condo to catch morning sun and afternoon winds to cool down. Short trail to beach, waves not too large to go out and float on a "noodle" or boogie board. While owner Kathy is a very nice, accommodating woman who owns Unit 105, it is in much need of some upgrades and TLC. Unit 105 is on the ground floor, right next to the pool. It was great as we were traveling with a 4 and 6 yr. old. However, when others were in the pool, when they were talking it sounded like they were in our living room...the sound carries. The wall-to-wall lanai windows that you enter and exit from the kitchen area had louvered blinds that wouldn't work properly. They only closed part way allowing people to look in to the condo at any given time, especially evenings. The birds wake you at about 5:30 a.m. every day...really loud. I killed two cockroaches during the one week period, one on the bedroom wall that was bigger than my thumb. Scared me a bit. I had to move all the furniture to make sure there weren't any more lurking before I could go back in the room to sleep. There is a large gap under the front door that maybe they crawl under at night? I finally put a towel against the door at night before bedtime. The other cockroach was a smaller one in the living room. Ugh. The shower curtain liners had major mold on the bottom and were in need of throwing away and changing. The paint is chipped throughout the condo just about everywhere you look; caulked spots that is moldy or in need of replacement/painting. The amenities, while there are lots, were old....rusty lawn chairs for the beach with torn seats, broken sun umbrella, one boogie board, no noodles (bought one and left it there), one inflatable pool toy. There was a hairdryer, ironing board, hangers, iron. There are dishes for cooking, but the knives would barely cut a pineapple...had to "saw" it. One roll of paper towels was provided and 2 rolls of TP. Computer (IMAC) was nice as were all the TV's in all the rooms. Internet service was sometimes unavailable...don't know why.
Overall, I'd stay in this condo again but not in this unit. Unit 106, which is the front one, ground floor, was absolutely beautiful and updated. Very nice. I would also consider one up on a different floor so the cockroaches don't crawl in at night.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the unit was in major need of upgrades
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Mauian
Royal Mauian
#38 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kihei Surfside
Kihei Surfside
#17 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punahoa Beach Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Parkshore
Maui Parkshore
#58 of 62 in Kihei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Nalu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Nalu Resort

Property: Kamaole Nalu Resort
Address: 2450 S Kihei Rd, Between Kanani and Keonekai Roads, next to Kamaole Beach Park II, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8694
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamaole Nalu Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kamaole Nalu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Nalu Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Nalu Kihei
Kamaole Nalu Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing