We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views, excellent beach”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #3 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at Mana Kai Maui for four nights with friends in a two bedroom superior deluxe on the 8th floor. (We spent our first three nights at the Mauian Hotel.) We loved the beautiful and sweeping views of the beach from our unit, the long walkable beach, having a kitchen, the relatively affordable prices, the friendliness of the staff, great customer service, the pleasantness of the grounds (found shady spots to read with full view of the ocean) and the ease of renting paddle boards on site. We stayed there in September and while the swimming pool was closed we loved swimming in the ocean every day. (It seems the Mana Kai closes its pool for a week each September for maintenance -- a fact that they announced on their web site. We, however, had made our reservations before this was known and the staff gave us an extra discount as we had been told the pool would be available). This is not a fancy resort but the units with ocean views are fantastic for enjoying the scenery and the location is superb. Also enjoyed great sunsets most evenings.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean Side units (the hotel rooms by themselves do not offer the good views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rshoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

The location is great the staff was fantastic, the rooms, the beach, all great but the sunset's are jaw dropping beautiful. I Highly Recommend The Mana Kai Maui for a unbelieveable vaction.

Room Tip: all rooms have a fantastic ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wailea78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The location of the hotel is great...it's right on the beach.

But here's some things to consider when making reservations:

1) Get rooms ending in 01, so you're close to the water (practically right on top of the water). But the farther you go from 01...so 02, 03, etc., the view gets worse (the hotel is located somewhat diagonal to the beach). Also, the 1BR suites have much better views than the singles and have balconies.

2) If you are planning to get a single room, be warned that they are TINY. It turns out it's actually the 2nd bedroom in a 2BR suite. The hotel is a bunch of 2BR condos...if you actually rent the entire 2BR I've heard it's a decent size. If you want a 1BR, you get one side of this suite, with a BR, BA, living area and a kitchen, which is also decent. If you want a "hotel room" you get the 2nd BR in this suite, which is just a tiny bedroom with a bathroom. You share a hallway entrance with the 1BR suite, but from the hallway, there are 2 separate doors that lead either into the "hotel room" or the 1BR suite.

3) The windows have slats that you can't completely close (at least for the "hotel room"), so it can be noisy and you might feel like you don't have privacy because it faces the outside (literally outside) hallway. This is another reason to choose the 01 units...these are the end units and don't have the hallway in front of the window.

4) The condos are individually owned so they're all slightly different...so the first hotel room we got had a queen bed, but the second one had a king and felt cleaner and newer.

5) There is no one at the front desk before 8am and after 8pm.

6) The guy at the front desk (forgot his name) was great. When we wanted to switch rooms (because we had a queen and the view wasn't great and we didn't have much privacy), he was very accommodating and gave us several options to look at and choose from. He said it would only be a $15 cost/night to upgrade to the 01 rooms. Well, on the day we checked out, we had to leave really early in the morning so we couldn't officially check out face-to-face. I called him later that day to explain what happened, and he decided to just waive the upgrade fee! So we got a nicer room with a much nicer view and more privacy, for free!

I would stay here again but would only get an "01" room. And I think I'd shell out some more money for the 1BR suites instead of the single "hotel room."

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here with another couple and couldn't have asked for better accommodations. We were able to save some cash by making breakfasts and got a beach view while eating eggs and bacon on the lanai. We had two separate rooms, one of which opened up to create a great living space. It was the perfect marriage of privacy and party. The beach is just downstairs and is very beautiful as well as great for mild snorkeling and paddle boarding. The pool is also nice and cleaned daily. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

4 of us stayed in the 2 bedroom unit, adults, grandparents & kids. Nice amount of space & privacy for extended family. The lanai was excellent, over-looking the beach & pool. Building is designed so all units are on the shady side of the building & protected from the wind meaning you can sit on the lanai even in the middle of the afternoon. Uncrowded amazing sandy beach is steps away, great snorkling right in front of the building. Highly recommend this building couples, families & extended families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The One Bedroom Ocean Front units are not huge, but are nicely furnished and have everything you need for a long stay. The view and location is the best anywhere in Hawaii. From December through March you can watch humback whales from your lanai. There is a good snorkeling reef right there and you can walk about 2 miles on a beatiful beach. Everything in Maui is a convenient drive from here. We book one of the 01 units every year and add the hotel room when we have guests. The hotel rooms are ok for short stays; book 01 hotel room for maximum ocean view and privacy. The staff is great!

Room Tip: Hotel units ending in 01 are best. Most larger front units have good ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Mana Kai doesn't look like much from the street....cement high rise. However, every condo has an amazing view of the ocean, the beach is beautiful, long and wonderfully swimmable. You can walk for miles down the relatively uncrowded beach. Bring your snorkel gear and snorkel on several sweet little reefs along the way. The restaurant at the resort , the Five Palms, is quite good. I've stayed at the Mana Kai as a single person, with my husband alone, and with our two children who are now teenagers. We stay there just about every time we go to Maui.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ontheverge_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 60 in Kihei
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £164 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mana Kai Maui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing