We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of the way”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #4 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Arrived around noon. Receptionist asked if we were aware that check-in time was 3pm (which we weren't)- she wasn't very friendly or helpful but was happy to hold our bags until 3pm and gave us a discount coupon for the 5 Palms restaurant at the hotel (food was amazing). Hotel is on a lovely long beach so perfect for long walks along the beach towards Wilea and for whale watching in the distance. You probably want a car if you stay here as the hotel is far away from shops and other restaurants so we went to the 5 Palms 2 more times during our stay (the 5 PM Happy Hour with 1/2 price sushi at the bar is very popular). Marie at the excusion desk was fabulous. She got us arranged with a $30 2 for 1 sunset Whale Watching tour which was great (yes, we did see whales!) and also got us set up with a decently priced rental car at Kihei car rental. She also helped us plan out a bus route to get to the Whale Watching before we decided to rent a car. Room was comfortable with mini fridge (could have done with defrosting), and microwave, coffee maker but there is no cutlery or plates. The convenience store in the hotel is very convenient and has lots of variety but is pricey so if you can get to the Foodland, stock up there. Our room wasn't ocean view so it overlooked the parking lot and at 6am and 5:30pm there is a ton of activity and noise from the minor birds that flock to/from/between the trees in the parking lot. It was like something from a sci-fi movie! The room was quite noisy (walls/windows are thin) so you can hear everything from anyone walking by on your floor, and we were consious of not saying/doing anything private!
Oddly they didn't allow the beach chairs to be taken off the grass onto the beach. It didn't really feel like you were staying at a resort, but more staying in an apt. building which is really what is it.
Overall, it was OK but I wouldn't stay there again mostly because of being so far away from everything.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or like privacy take an ocean view room at the end of the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank JennX24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have read several of the reviews of the Mana Kai and can't figure out why anyone would not LOVE this place. My family of six stayed in #812 over the Christmas holiday for 10 days. We will be back - it was fantastic. Yes, we rented direct from the condo owner and our unit was completely updated. Yes, the complex is small without all the fancy amenities ... but we knew that before we arrived. We did not need the airconditioning, even though the unit had it. I came to the beach to hear the ocean and LOVED having the doors open the entire time we were there. I didn't come to sleep my vacation away. I agree that having daily housekeeping would be nice, but everything else made up for that. The facility is amazing. Mana Kai has recently done tons of updates. We did not eat at the Five Palms or use the activity desk, so I can't comment about that. Give this place a try if you don't want all the overpriced amenities of a huge resort. I came to Maui for the beach...not a fancy pool.

Room Tip: get a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moyergrandkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were very pleased with our accomodations. Our unit was very nice, and the property is situated on a very nice part of the island. There was a great beach and lawn area, as well as a pool within a few feet of the condo. The grounds were very well kept. There was also a small store as well as kayak and paddleboard rentals on site. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. We will definitely stay there on our next visit,

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, close to the center of the complex, and it was great. We had a 1 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I used to live on Maui and the Mana Kai was popular back then, and still fantastic after all these years. The property is situated on a breathtakingly beautiful beach in Kihei, the sunniest, best side of the island.

The resort lobby, entrance, and pool area is artfully designed, and love the ocean-front restaurant, 5 Palms, Keawakapu Beach, Maui. Don't miss the cuisine, and excellent service. We chose a table for 6 before sunset, and was perfect!

Room Tip: I would recommend an ocean-front room for obvious reasons. The views are not to be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoCalSiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We booked this resort through a rating on Interval and it has far exceeded our expectations. We were originally booked at the Marriott however wanted to try somewhere more intimate and less resort feeling. We arrived with a hotel room with no balcony and decided it was well worth the extra charge to upgrade to an ocean view which all have outstanding views. Artsie really made our stay exceptional with a "can-do" approach. The rooms have full kitchen and the restaurant located on the property "5 Palms" is reasonably priced with a great sunset view. The pool is smaller however you will quickly find that everyone goes to the beach for the water and surf. We are giving this a "5 star" rating and thanks to the entire staff for making our Maui trip relaxing. Mahalo

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a ocean view if you are staying more then one night. If this is a one nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura_L_418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

booked this cause reviews were.good No free internet unless u had wifi. Hskp. Did make beds& empty trash. Nothing else >End table& desk tops scuzzy. when I showed hskpr.
she left me a rag NEVER cleansed bathtub or sink. Pool nice but unheated. Arti& Winston on desk were helpfull w/maps & directions. We had a room. The condos looked nicer. Book elsewhere for a f ew$ more & will get a condo next time

Room Tip: Get a condo instead. Ask what hskp. includes .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goinsouth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My favorite place to stay on Maui! If you haven't been here for a few years, take note, they've redone all of the common areas. I stayed here last in 2003 and was amazed by the difference. The Mana Kai is on Keawakapu Beach, and is angled in a way that every room has a killer view. The sunsets here are to die for.

RATES - Yes, it can be a little pricy. We booked thru VRBO.com, which I highly recommend. You can select your room and often negotiate rates! We paid $200/night (total, which included cleaning, tax, etc) which I definitely felt was reasonable. This included parking and wi-fi.

ROOMS - There are "A" rooms and "B" rooms. The B rooms have NO view (they look at the hallway and parking lot) and are really not desirable. The A rooms all have amazing views and every one has a large (and private) deck! These are condos and from what I know, most, if not all have full kitchens. It was really nice to be able to use the fridge for drinks and save some money and cook dinner in a few nights. We cooked breakfast every morning and sat out on the deck enjoying the incredible view. We stayed on the 2nd floor and the view was still unbelievable.

BEACH - In my opinion, South Maui (Kihei, Wailea, Makena) have the best snorkeling AND beaches in all of Maui. And the beach right in front of the Mana Kai is amazing! The snorkeling is also incredible directly in front of the hotel with beautiful coral reefs and tons of fish... we even saw giant sea turtles. Great waves for boogie boarding too. We stayed in Kaanapali for part of this trip and I thought the snorkeling in front of the Mana Kai was far superior to the snorkeling at Black Rock in Kaanapali, which you always hear people raving about.

CONDO GROUNDS - The pool is nice and lounge chairs are always available. The lawn is expansive and chairs are ALSO always available. No need to try and get there early and throw your towel on a chair! The entire place is really clean and security is always around so you'll feel safe leaving your stuff on a chair to jump in the ocean. I also love that Zack's (the general store) is on the main level because we often bought beer and snacks there! Surprisingly, it was really well-priced, too!

DINING - The Five Palms restaurant is located here. The view is unrivaled and yes, the food is expensive. You can cook dinner in your room which has the exact same view, or I recommend hitting the bar at the Five Palms for happy hour from 3pm-7pm! Apps (sushi, spring rolls, edamame) are half off and there are some decent drink specials. Definitely enough to make a meal out of and save a little bit of cash. And if you want to splurge, try the restaurant! We did eat at the Five Palms and although pricy, the food was REALLY good. You really can't beat eating dinner outside in the warm Hawaiian air...

All in all, I highly recommend the Mana Kai! We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I highly recommend unit 204! Book thru VRBO.com and tell her Emily & Sam sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmilyandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
23.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,636 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £151 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mana Kai Maui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing