We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

For those that prefer a condo instead of a hotel room, this is a great choice. For a waileafeel at Kihei prices this place can't be beat. Falling asleep to the waves is the best. Right on the beach. Okay, maybe a thirty second walk:)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vindex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    163
    38
    18
    19
See reviews for
166
188
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Mana Kai Maui at the end of June, I believe we had rooms 402A and 402B (2 bedroom). We were on the beach end of the hotel with a great view looking down the beach, the one bedroom was a little odd, sliding panels to section off from living room, but we were not there to spend time in the room anyway. The location is amazing, nice sandy beach that stretches for miles and not very busy due to few hotels on this particular beach, although not a part of the hotel did have a surf shop attached so you can rent anything you need for the beach at a reasonable (for Hawaii) price, we rented stand up paddle boards and body boards. Plenty of chairs on the lawn with some shade to enjoy the view or get some sun, the pool was on the small side, but with an ocean to play in didn't have much use for a pool anyway. the unit we stayed in was updated within the last few years and everthing was clean and functioning. Overall a great place to just relax with plenty of side trips available if desired.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms are closer to the beach/better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjr-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our stay was in early June, which is generally a slow time for tourism in Maui. Driving from the airport to the hotel my heart kind of sank; it is not a pretty drive. Kihei is known for being very overbuilt and touristy. But Mana Kai Maui is on the very southernmost portion of Kihei, away from the hustle and bustle. When we opened the doors to our room my mouth dropped--the condos are built so that the balcony is width of the room, and there were views of palm trees and the beach from everywhere in the place. I knew there would be a nice view, but really, it was gorgeous. What was great was that my pale, freckled family could come inside after a few hours of sun and sit on a shady balcony and still feel like we were at the beach. We were on the 6th floor and the waves were loud. You can also hear voices from the pool and the beach, but honestly, I don't know where you could avoid this, and the waves drown out a lot of noise. There are quiet hours from 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. and people obeyed this. The staff was excellent and accommodating. We were able to rent a hotel room---just the B section of our condo--for half a day so that on our last day of vacation we had a place to store our stuff while we took one last trip to the beach (and take showers).

Within the building there is an activities desk to book fishing and snorkeling trips, etc.; a restaurant & bar; a rental shop for boogie boards and snorkel gear, etc.; and a shop where you can buy suntan lotion, liquor, sandwiches, and random drug-store type stuff. There is token laundry on each floor. You can get loner beach towels each day. It is not a spa type of place, and I don't think there is room service. However, it is run very much like a hotel and the desk service (which runs 8 a.m to about 7 p.m.) is much better than you might find at another condo-rental type of place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guinda, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I am writing this review while sitting on the lanai of my suite and listening to the sound of the waves. This is a beautiful place that offers the real deal - as in 1) sandy beach only 30 steps away from the lobby (I counted); 2) beautiful view down the beach from the lanai - no need to even leave the room! 3) clean, clean, clean! 4) full-size refrigerator in the room - mine is fully stocked with water, diet coke, and champaign :); 5) two washers and two dryers on every floor - only bring three days worth of clothes and save on the baggage fee! 6) two great restaurants within 50 feet of the building; 7) daily maid service; 8) grounds cleaning crews working hard daily so the grounds are always clean.

Here is the response to those who gave this place three stars or less: a) you HAVE TO get a room with a lanai not the small room that faces the parking lot; b) once you are in the room with a lanai, you NEVER hear any parking lot noise - only the sound of the waves; c) the decor has been updated and is "modern hawaiian" for lack of a better word - very pleasant, not overbearing and not overly pretentious; d) the lobby is minimal - which is great, as it does not pose an obstacle between you and the beach. It's all about THE BEACH!!!!

wifi was decent, no complaints at all - my 17-year-old daughter face-timed with her BF every night without a problem.

Room Tip: rooms that end in 01 are closest to the ocean/beach (we stayed in 301)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Mana Kai Resort in Kihei, Maui for 5 days/4 nights. We wanted to stay at a nice condo/hotel on the beach since we had someone come with us and it was her first ever time to Hawaii, so we picked Mana Kai in Kihei. I had read some reviews after we booked our trip and everyone pretty much said not to rent the hotel portion, but to rent the condo part. Since we needed a 2 bedroom condo, we rented both the A and B portion of the condo. We arrived at the resort earlier than the standard check in time of 3PM, and found out that the A portion of the condo had been cleaned and was ready to be occupied, but the cleaning staff was still working on the B portion. We were given the key to the A portion and told to come back down to check in again for the B portion and get the keys. When we arrived at the condo 709A there was someone cleaning 709B so we put our luggage into the living room of 709A.

709A is a great room! It has a full kitchen, complete with refrigerator, stove, sink, coffee maker, microwave, and granite counters. There’s also a dining room table with four chairs to eat at. The living room has a sofa and chair, coffee table, and TV. Across from the living room is the bedroom with a king bed, and adjacent to that is a wardrobe/closet area, and a full bath. The furnishings are what you would expect in a hotel, not the best but will do for a vacation. The lanai is accessible from both the living room and bedroom, and there are accordion doors that separate the living room and the bedroom. I don’t believe the A portion of the condo has air conditioning, but with a fan and the doors that open right out to the lanai you get a good breeze flowing though. Out on the lanai are a table and two chairs to sit on and relax while taking in the beautiful scenery of the ocean!

709B is little bit of a different story! This is the standard hotel room that has a king bed inside, closet, desk and chair, microwave, TV, and full bathroom. There is no kitchen or living room and the view is of the parking lot. One major concern if you’re staying in the B portion of the condo is that there is no wall separating your room from the outside hallway. What should be a wall has louvers on both sides and a window in the middle, so you can only imagine how noisy it can be! One night during our stay there was a wedding downstairs and then the after party was brought upstairs to the condo next to us, so at 1AM we had to call security because it was so loud. Word to the wise, if you’re a light sleeper, DO NOT stay in the B portion of the condo because you can hear EVERYTHING! I am a light sleeper and had to sleep with ear plugs in every night during our vacation because you even hear people walking to their room from the elevator.

The front desk does provide pool and beach towels, but you have to exchange the blue towels for fresh ones each day. We did use the salt water pool a few times, but never swam at the beach in front of the resort. I heard the snorkel was pretty good out there but we did not get out there like I had planned to. The resort does furnish lounge chairs for the beach, although they have to stay on the grassy part (not in the sand) of the resorts owned land. We went for a walk a couple times and the beach is beautiful!

The resort has a restaurant and bar, general store, and a place where you can rent all kinds of water sports related gear. We did not eat at the restaurant so I can’t review that. We did, however, frequent the general store for coffee in the mornings and bought a beach umbrella from there. The lady who helped us was nice and even showed us how to assemble the umbrella we had purchased.

Overall, I would stay at the Mana Kai Resort again, but I would only rent the A portion of the condo. The housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful with whatever we needed. The guy at the front desk was nice, though it seemed at times he was more preoccupied with other things than working at the front desk.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, DO NOT rent the hotel (B) portion of the condo. You will not get any sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristie419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for, we got good price for a hotel right by the ocean. But our room is right next to the corridor and my bed is right by the window open to that corridor. So it gets very noisy when these excited tourists talking so loud early morning. Room size is small for 2 twin beds. Ants in the room, must be the warm weather here.

Unfortunately the wifi here is really bad! I don't get signal from the room next door. Two rooms share one modem in this hotel. I have to stand at this one corner in the room to get my wifi. Extremely disappointed at the technology here.

The hotel front desk is only open till 7pm, so I can't ask anyone for anything until the next day. The staff aren't that friendly.

I won't stay here again. But depends what you look for, it is in a nice location and there's a pool downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stm_eternity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a family reunion and wedding party at the Mana Kai. We found the resort location to be magnificent. The views and nearby beach is awesome. We had many friends staying at nearby resorts and they ALL wanted to come to this beach and pool area. The Mana Kai has a suitable (and warmer by sun ) pool. And a great grass area for sitting –walking to the beach and and also observing the awesome sunsets. The very nearby public showers are also on the grass and you can walk just a few steps to an awesome beach. And the rock jetty offers safe and fun snorkeling with yes – turtles. And you can walk down the beach easily to Wailea restaurants and other attractions
The resort cleaning staff was pleasant, competent and always responsive. And they are flexible with our needs and very kind. The lobby is perfect, comfortable and casual. – They even slide the doors when we get the occasional trade winds. They have convenient roller carts outside to bring in luggage and or groceries to your room and yes a ramp to get to and from the parking lot. The front desk was awesome, flexible to work with and we placed LOTS of demands on them with no problems.
Each view from the studio A rooms is fantastic. And the trade winds and sound of the surf is a constant and comfortable companion. The B rooms ( hotel only) does not have any views. And the five palms attached is a fine restaurant. And their bar offers a great happy hour 3-6 with good appetizers and sushi! The resort has rentals for anything you want to use on the beach. …kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards and all. And the attached store has affordable drinks and groceries- including alcohol for the beach. As stated by one of our guests…they felt very comfortable everywhere in this resort. And they felt they could never do the same or have as much fun in the adjacent Wailea area. And it is a very short 10 minute walk ( use the beachside nature trail) to all of the great nearby Kihei shops and restaurants. Make sure you visit nearby 808 Bistro for a excellent meal and Maui tacos for a real local experience.
Fitness- walk, run the beach or swim; kayak, windsurf or paddle board. And we never tried room service-walk downstairs and eat on the beach!
Mana Kai is to me and over 40 other people the best value, facility and location for a resort stay in Maui.

Room Tip: All suites have a full kitchen and the lanai and great views. And if you only want a hotel -no worri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bgougler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing