We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect Location!”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Mana Kai was an amazing place to stay! We recently got married here and enjoyed our stay tremendously! We stayed on the 4th floor - ocean side balcony room. I highly recommend this room for a little more money. The doors fully open up - you can fall alseep and wake up to the sounds of the ocean - see the activities below. Great place to have morning coffee. Fullly equpped kitchens made our stay even more cost effective. I can't wait to go back. Great hotel with all the hoopla of a 5 star resort. At least here you can be RIGHT on the ocean with yourown private beach. The only way to go!

Room Tip: Its worth the money to have an ocean side balcony room. Glorious!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Mana Kai Maui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Mana Kai resort is very well looked after, in a top location right on the beach, all facilities on site excellent & easy including a mini-mart, Watersports hire on site, loved the Iyengar yoga with Kim to start the day...we took a great deal of care in trying to choose a recently renovated apartment and rented 306 through VRBO. It is exactly as per the photos, very nicely done with quality throughout. Owner Scott was really helpful with suggestions for restaurants etc. Electronic keyless entry handy-no keys to lose & kids could come & go. It's important to note the master bed is part of the living space with panels easily sliding across for privacy if required however we left it open to enjoy the full width of the unit. Brilliant view from living/bed/lanai. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank natlauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I'm writing this review from my lounge chair, listening to the ocean waves and enjoying the view!

I definitely recommend staying here if you want to enjoy the beach! If you're a strictly sit by pool person, this may not be the place for you.

Good snorkeling right from shore here. Happy hour food and drinks at the bar from 3 to 7.

Rooms: we are a party of 8 and are staying in 602 A & B and 603 A & B. The beds are pillowtop, with nice pillows. The B rooms have air conditioning, which is nice for getting ready or blocking out sound, but not really necessary. The A rooms are attached to the living room and kitchen and overlooks the balcony/ocean. The rooms are fully stocked with coffee maker, blender, pots, pans, cups, etc. You can get fresh beach towels whenever you want.

All in all, Mana Kai is great place!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamiePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I love this place, but it appears that our owners are cheap. the bathroom door (a pocket door slider) doesn't close fully. no problem, except when we have guests on Sunday. Mentioned to front desk yesterday, but no action. Yeah, I know, island time ... I don't care, fix it. pretty sure it's an owner issue, since the place is kind of rental quality. crappy dishes and cutlery, no napkins, tin foil, saran wrap, cooking oil, spices, etc. we chose this place for the location AND the kitchen; to find it basically filled with the crappiest base stuff tells me the owners never live here.

So, tomorrow i'm talking to management about the bathroom door. if it get's fixed, great. if not, then be warned that this is what happens when you rent a condo owned by a committee and managed locally for owners who only care about assessments and net income. it's all in the details, and they have some work to do.

Room Tip: ask them what extras are provided - cooking stuff, etc. only after an email did I realize that i nee...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doug k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I did a lot of research to find this place, and at the price I paid for it. I got the deal through VRBO, although checked into other units at the same place, offered through various other middle-men organizations. The owner that we booked with, unfortunately passed away between when we put down our deposit, and when we were supposed to submit the remainder two weeks before arriving. Luckily for us, her family asked Winston Chinn, whose office is behind the reception desk, and who manages several of the condos there (not all), to manage hers while they put it up for sale. He was wonderful! He immediately replied, when I'd sent Lore an email saying I was going to mail her remainder check that day, to let me know she'd passed away. He was sad, (as I'm sure many former condo users would be to hear the news) as everyone seems to agree that she was really wonderful. The unit is now on sale for $950K, and includes the A & B parts of #204. B is a hotel room, attached to a shared entry hall, to A, which is either a studio, with a big sliding panel divider to offer privacy if someone is sleeping in the living room. However, they'd have to enter the bathroom through the bedroom area, so best just for children, or friends you don't mind seeing you in your bed asleep.. So it is kind of an extra roomy studio. But the slider is wide, offering a spectacular view from within, or from its balcony. There are chairs and a small table on the balcony. Since Lore wasn't there to show us the perks, we didn't find out until our last day there, that there were beach chairs, a boogie board, and two coolers (small collapsible) for us to use in one of the closets. We should have snooped around more I guess. The beach is really nice, clean, easy to walk into the water barefoot without hurting your feet. There are a few large rocks scattered, but you can usually see them, so you are aware where they are. Off to one side are a lot of rocks. It's scenic though not great for swimming, and we saw a wedding performed right in front of the rocky area, using its setting for the backdrop of their pictures. I took a lot of pictures from my balcony of the wedding (not as good as professional, but from a different perspective) that I would have loved to send to the married couple, but my huz thought I was weird for wanting to slip my email address to the friend or mother of the bride or groom, so I didn't. ;-) The pool is pretty unremarkable. Clean, walled off with glass walls to protect from wind or escaping children, or whatever. Decorative waterfall doesn't connect to the pool, or that would have been more interesting.The grounds outside the pool are a big grassy area with plenty of lawn chaise chairs that you can drag to different places on the lawn if you like, just so you don't bring them down to the beach. There's a BBQ grill that you sign up to use, but we didn't. The bar had a nice happy hour, from 3-7pm, then again from 9-11pm. Mai Tai's were $5, (great, but no fruit or umbrella), as were Margaritas, but they weren't good tasting, and were weak. The hor d'ouevres were half off during that time also, and we liked the calimari strips. they were tender, and very meaty, not very bready. You can look at the beach a little bit from many of the tables. The restaurant had high priced meals, so we never ate there. We went to Fred's Mexican restaurant, which was unexciting -used Mole sauce on all enchiladas that night, since Mole something else was their evening special. But we weren't expecting it to be on the enchiladas (didn't say so on the menu). Also ate at Maui Thai, an unassuming place with no view, but the food was pretty good. Loved the flavor of their Pad Thai. Back to the hotel: there was not very good snorkeling right off the beach the day we tried it. Maybe earlier in the day it may have been better. We were so late, and a wind had come up (unusual during our stay). But we didn't see anything to get excited about. Great hotel, though, highly recommend for a stay in Kihei, which was a nicer little town than we expected.. Furniture in our room was classy, comfortable, and tropical.

Room Tip: REad reviews to help you pick the rooms with the best view. Many or most of these units are "b...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBZ-SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This eight story condo is right on a fabulous beach in Kihei, which is the best part of the experience. Located just outside town, it is relatively quiet and has great views. The units are configured so that you can rent just a bedroom and bathroom, or an entire unit with another bed, kitchen and lanai. We did that, and Unit 503 was well worth it--nicely decorated and furnished. The Palm Grill on the first floor of the condo and Sarrento's about 25 yards away both served very good food, although a bit pricy if you are feeding the whole family. The beach remains in my mind the key to this condo, which provides rental stand-up paddle boards, beach toys, etc. However, the beach is public, and there is a large public parking lot right next to the condo, so you are certain to share the beach with other tourists and locals at least right in front of the condo, which also has a small pool and grassy area good for kids. Diving was ok in front of the condo, and there were reefs up the beach that looked promising. We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher is better
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOCIronMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I am currently sitting on the lanai in room 808. This is a premium ocean view condo and worth every penny. For location, it can't be beat. It is a 30 minute drive from the airport and it sits on the beach. There is great snorkeling in the morning and afternoon brings more wind and waves. Wave action was good for body surfing but not enough to surf or boogie board.

The beach was busy but not overly crowded. It is a public beach so it is not just guests of Mana Kai. The beach has about 50 feet of sand and the property has grass up to the sand so we used the condo beach chairs in the grass and it was perfect. Much better than dealing with the sand on the beach all day. Security would ask if you were staying so that help keeps the public from using the condo amenities.

We would stay here again. If you want to explore the island this is a better location than West Maui. We have stayed there previously.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tee1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £146 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mana Kai Maui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing