We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Ocean View”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Ocean View”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We just returned from our first visit to Hawaii. We spent four lovely nights in Mana Kai 702. We absolutely loved the space. The condo is in excellent condition. All the amenities are of good quality. The view was spectacular. Everything we had hoped for. The grass area prior to the beach was a welcome reprieve from the sand. We did have some annoyingly loud neighbors in the unit above us, but the onsite management team handled the situation. As per other reviews the wind was quite strong at times but nothing to dampen our enjoyment of the place. We would highly recommend this condo to any one looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Vacation Rental Agency at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for staying at the Mana Kai, and condo 702 which our vacation rental company manages. I am glad the condo was everything you hoped it would be. The views from that condo are stunning! I am happy to hear the onsite management was able to resolve your noisy neighbors issues. We hope to see you again at the Mana Kai.

Aloha,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    163
    40
    18
    19
See reviews for
170
192
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haiku, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I am a local resident and have frequented this property for years, mostly for "happy hour". We recently stayed at the Mana Kai Resort and was happy to see that they have converted to condos. It brought back all the memories and I now remember why we went there so often: the location, beach, pool grounds, staff, activities,...the list goes on. The units are comfortable, (mind you they are all beachfront views), and their prices are totally a great deal. For visitors and locals alike, I recommend you take advantage of what they have to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were delighted to find Mana Kai Maui as we walked in off the road after our booked accommodation was very disappointing and we needed to find a room for a week very quickly.There was a walk up discount of 25 percent for this time of the year.
I love this resort. Even though we are only on the 3rd floor the view is great but must be excellent further towards the beach and higher up. They are renovating the room above us so there is some daytime noise - they would have got five stars except for this.
Happy Hour is great value. The restaurant is good value.I must also mention that all the services around the resort are kept in excellent order- the grounds are beautiful and groomed daily. There are plenty of sun loungers and the pool great.
The most notable part of this resort is that it is nestled in a lovely cove. No need to cross a busy road to go to the beach. This was a huge plus for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a 5th or 6th floor room at the beach end of the resort and also ask if there are any buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SorrelliAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I together with our son and daughter-in-law, shared a 2 BR, 2 bath condo in this beautiful resort. Our unit was a superbly upgraded, air-conditioned unit with a magnificent view of the the beach and the mountains. It was beautifully furnished and the art on the walls was beautiful, interesting, and appropriate to a Hawaiian condo. The beach was clean and nice and there was very nice snorkeling at the north end of the beach which was just what we wanted. The 5 Palms restaurant in the resort was excellent (in view, ambience, service, and food). The small general store in the resort was a Godsend and even had an impressive offering of wines. The staff at Mana Kai Maui were uniformly pleasant and helpful (especially the travel/tour assistant/agent Tracey Anne Sevenich). The management and maintenance at Mana Kai Maui was impressive. We would all gladly return to the Mana Kai Maui, and, speaking for myself, I would love to stay even longer next time (a week with only 5 full days, was just not enough time in paradise).

Room Tip: The views from the lanais of the rooms closer to the ocean are spectacular. Although perhaps pricey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband and I shared a condo with another couple at the Mana Kai. It was in a great location with a beautiful beach right outside and a great restaurant attached to the hotel. The room had a common shared space including a seating area and a full kitchen with dishwasher, cooking stove, and all the neccesary fixings (blender, coffee machine, cabinets, utensils, etc). One of the bedrooms was located in this portion as well as a bathroom. My husband and I slept in the adjacent room (including a seperate bathroom) which is completely seperate from the kitchen and seating room. It was a great set-up for our group. We were able to share breakfast in the mornings but have our own privacy when needed. The furniture was nothing fancy, the couch in the seating area was quite hard and uncomfortable, the kitchen table was a simple 4 person kitchen table.

If you are looking for a luxurty hotel, this is not the place for you. The rooms are well kept, but dated. The bathtubs and bathroom sinks were small. At least in condo 401. Also, the pool was not functioning (which is not a big deal for us as the ocean is in the backyard of the condo.) I do wish we could have had a jacuzzi on site. Another inconvenience is the fact that you had to switch out beach towels during hours of operation, which is difficult if you choose to do the Road to Hana, or any other day trip.

The restaurant attached to the hotel is great! They have sushi and drink specials starting at 9 pm. We definitely enjoyed that!

Pros: Great privacy, quiet, great beach location, good for cooking meals at the condo
Cons: No 24 hour reception service, rooms are a little dated

Room Tip: Fully stocked kitchen! Great for traveling with another couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamandbrian2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had the condo 208A.
There was a small sign at the building entrance saying that the pool was close due to renovation but that the noise shouldn't bother clients too much (why renovate a pool in May?). Well, at 7h00AM there was so much noise due to those renovation that it was as if we were actually in the pool doing those renovations ourselves.
Add to this that there were no curtains in the bedroom, so we were wide awake at 6h00am because of the sun light coming straight into the room.
Finally, add to it some unwelcomed visitors, ants, and you've got a crapy stay. Felt that they ripped more than 200$ from me.
We decided to leave after only 1 night even if we had nothing else reserved. That's how bad it was.

Room Tip: Do not ever go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KetchupKetchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
The pool is under renovation and has been all month. The noise this guest is referring to came from heavy machinery equipment the neighboring Hotel, Days Inn used in removal of vegetation on the beach, mandated by the State. Mana Kai had no idea what time this was to start and no control over the neighbors project. Was it too early, yes at 7:00 am, but we did not have any other noise issues from other guests on this neighboring project. The pool renovation starts at 8:00 am and are 99 % complete. They should begin to fill the pool on Thursday, May 30th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were on the 8th floor and the views were spectacular!! The condo had everything we needed and was super clean. With the door wall open, you could listen to the ocean all night long!! The manicured Mana Kai lawn, with guest only chairs, was perfect for enjoying the sun, the ocean, endless views and the beach.
The employees weren't all that friendly but we didn't really need them for anything. A passing hello would have been nice but I guess it's different when you're working in paradise.
Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing