We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mana Kai Maui
Nearby Hotels
Kamaole Sands(Kihei)(Great Value!)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
308
170
43
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
170
43
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms restauranthotel roomgeneral storeparking lotrental shopkeawakapu beachthe kitchengreat beachpaddle boardsonsite restaurantconvenience storegreat happy hourdaily maid servicepublic accessactivities deskaa oceanfrontlawn chairs
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I'm not sure I want to rate this hotel because I don't want it to get too popular. I met other people staying here that said the same thing.

Everything here is fantastic: the view, location and staff. Tracy, the activities lady was so helpful and gave great discounts on activities. Artis, the front desk clerk was extremely helpful.

The rooms are very nice though not luxurious. We had both the hotel room & condo (2 bedroom unit) with central air. We didn't need to use the central air very often but were glad to have it. The three fans in the condo side kept the room pleasant most of the time. We ate most of our meals on the lanai. It was nice to have the kitchen.

The view & beach cannot be beat. The lawn next to the beach and pool is wonderful to use. The comfy chaise lounges are plentiful.

I have stayed in a few other places in Maui but this is the only place for me now!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank SmokeyandAshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here Nov 2012 -

This place isn't particularly fancy, but the value is incredible. We came with about 80 people for a wedding and I didn't hear one bad thing said from anyone.

PRO'S:
- stunning, swimmable beach steps from your room
- great snorkelling - lots of turtles!
- comfortable bed
- modest, yet useful kitchen in-suite
- small convenience store in the hotel for odds and bobs (they also sell booze!)
- water sport centre for rentals on-site
- free use of beach towels - just ask at the front desk. No signing in, no towel card
- close to many cafe's, restaurants, shopping
- safe, clean, quiet
- stunning views (provided you stay on the ocean side)
- very friendly and accommodating staff
- easy check-in, despite the fact we arrived at midnight
- free parking
- free wifi

CON'S
- pool area is just ok (I didn't mind though, spent all our time at the beach)
- rooms need some updating (but again, it wasn't an issue - we were barely in our room)

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for couples/families/groups. You get a lot for your money. It's definitely not luxury, but we liked it so much we're returning next month!

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting an ocean-view room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

The room was nice, the beds comfortable and having a full kitchen was fantastic since we were traveling with an infant. But let's face it, the reason you book the Mana Kai is for the view and the fact that the only way to get closer to staying on the beach would involve sleeping in a tent... on the beach.

Air conditioning would have been nice, especially with August's heat, but while some units have AC, not all do.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Displaced_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Still basking in the glow of my tan from lounging at the beach at Mana Kai. Good service, clean and great value. Fantastic pool. We had one happy hour meal at the Restuarant with beautiful, freshly prepared sushi that was 1/2 price during happy hour. We also enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast one morning from the Restuarant but, as there were a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in our room we were fairly self sufficient for other meals so that we could splurge on one of the local luaus ( ours was at the Marriott resort a 45 min walk down the beach and a 10 min cab ride back). rThere are plenty of activities on offer but many require car transport to get there . There is a rental place on site for bikes, boogie boards and other water sport equipment and an activities desk that is manned every day from about 9-5. We also appreciated the convenience of a small grocer/deli on site that was open 7-9 and laundry facility on each floor.
The beach attached to this condo resort, however, is not private so on the weekend it did get quite crowded, but we still felt comfortable and safe as there is an on site security staff provided by the resort that patrols the beach from about 9-9 each day.
We actually had plans to stay elsewhere during our 5 night stay on Maui, but enjoyed Mana Kai so much we stayed the entire time!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaudion33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Reserved a one bedroom here because we didn't want a full condo while visiting Maui.
We were shocked when we opened the door to this room on our first night.
I could not believe how tiny this room is & how cluttered. The furniture is archaic, I do realize they are privately owned but this was ridiculous. The little TV on the dresser was an antique. The black mould on the ceiling and around the window was excessive. The online photos do not do this room justice as it looks much larger than it actually is. We moved out of this room & out of the hotel & rented another place.
The pool area is clean & the lady on the desk was so helpful.
The beach area is really nice but since it is not a private beach you have way too many people out there every morning & it's difficult to get a chair to sit in.
It was our first time visiting Maui which is a beautiful island & we would definitely return but next time we will know where we should & should not stay!
I think the hotel itself is not a bad place but you really need to not rent the "one bedroom" suites if you want to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ge-bmw335i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Sorry, but the pictures attached to this review is a category known as a "Hotel" room, not a one bedroom. The Hotel room is 210 sf, and faces the West Maui Mountains and the parking lot. The one bedroom is 604 sf with lanai and faces the ocean. As we are an on-site rental agent for 48 units here, we replaced all televisions with 32" flat screen's. This unit does not appear to be one that our company manages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews