We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and the views are killer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value and the views are killer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Well my husband and I celebrated our 2 year wedding anniversary here in conjunction to staying at the Four Seasons and it was absolutely worth it! We had a 1 bedroom condo on the 6th floor and we didn't have an AC in the unit but when you open the balcony windows and the main door the wind that comes through is perfect! The pool is clean and warm so close to the beach! Plenty of room everyday no matter what time for a lounger and the unit had everything you need. The little convenience store was great we went everyday for things, mainly wine and snacks. The ocean front views are to die for, you can listen to the waves crashing at night and morning. We were shocked at the view when we arrived we saw the pictures on tripadvisor but when seeing it in person it is breathless. From other guests, it seems that the hotel rooms are not worth it, but the proximity to this beach is great. The beach is absolutely great for all ages and all activities.

Room Tip: Grab a condo with on floors 5 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    163
    38
    18
    19
See reviews for
166
188
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

After staying at the Mana Kai Maui Resort, there is no place I can find the gentle ambiance, the beach right there. Paradise. I cannot wait to return. Close to Denny's. A kitchen in my room and patio doors flung open to let the sun and breezes in. A shirt run to Safeway. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyfullivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Mana Kai has a location that would be hard to beat. Turtles every day, snorkling right off the resort, lovely garden and nice pool, lots of ocean view rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and with teenage children it was great. Everything you would expect was in the unit and more. The guy on the reception desk was really nice, some people's complaints were very trivial and he kept smiling.
The only thing that could improve are the curtains on the carpark facing room in our condo did not keep out the hallway lights at night.
I would recommend this to any normal family. I guess the overly rich can go to Wailea!
The restaurant has great food but is probably a bit pricey for families to eat at every night, but happy hour sushi was a good way to feed the children cheaply.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJMERMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

4 of us recently stayed in a two bedroom condo at Mana Kai Maui for 8 nights. Our trip could not have been better. If you are looking for a quiet area of Maui to stay in, this is the place. The condo itself, while not overly updated, was very clean. Now, these are not true two bedrooms. They are two units combined. The first unit is similar to a hotel room with an en suite bath. The second unit has the kitchen and dining area. The second bedroom is formed when sliding doors are closed in the living room to separate it from the bed. It was actually a lot more private than we thought it would be. The biggest benefit of this property is the view. The building is situated on an angle, so every two bedroom unit has the most amazing view of the coastline facing south. The staff was fine and the proximity to the beach unmatched. About a month prior to our stay, we were notified of some electric work that needed to be done on a lower floor. We were offered a full refund or a further discount to stay. We risked it and decided to stay anyway. The work was barely a nuisance, and we saved a lot of money. If you are looking for action, go to Kaanapali or Lahaina. If you want relaxation, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkashinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Yes this hotel is good value, great location and has a good restaurant, I would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the rude guy at front desk upon our check in. He just didn't seem to care and wanted to charge us extra for everything!! After a bad 1st night (he put us in a back room by the parking lot, even though we had paid for an ocean view room) noisy air con was over ruled by the noise of truck in the parking lot & there is no privacy in these rooms as walkers by can see your entire room... the curtains are sheer so everything is on show... unless you keep lights off & ponder in the dark. After the 1st miserable night dealing with am arrogant guy at reception & no sleep(you hear every car pull up into parking lot at night & hear every person walking past your room to the lifts in the early morning).. We immediately requested to see what the ocean view rooms are supposed to look like... and Yes it is worth the extra $$ to stay away from a noisy parking lot that has no privacy... it was so refreshing to hear crashing waves as opposed to what we were hearing the night before. The bathrooms could certainly get an uplift as there is mould behind shower curtains & cracked flooring, but other than that it is great value for a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrossifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Aloha, I am sorry you had two negative experiences while staying with us. I must admit this review is the first less than flattering for the gentleman that checked you in. In fact, he receives the majority of the positive comments regarding front desk staff. We will meet with him to discuss this matter with him and impress upon him sharing the Aloha Spirit to all. As for the hotel type unit you were placed in at first, the lower floor can get a little noisy depending on it's location, and I agree that the beachfront condo side is much more relaxing. I apologize for these two incidents and hope you'll give us anther chance should you travel to Maui in the future.
Winston Chinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I'm not sure I want to rate this hotel because I don't want it to get too popular. I met other people staying here that said the same thing.

Everything here is fantastic: the view, location and staff. Tracy, the activities lady was so helpful and gave great discounts on activities. Artis, the front desk clerk was extremely helpful.

The rooms are very nice though not luxurious. We had both the hotel room & condo (2 bedroom unit) with central air. We didn't need to use the central air very often but were glad to have it. The three fans in the condo side kept the room pleasant most of the time. We ate most of our meals on the lanai. It was nice to have the kitchen.

The view & beach cannot be beat. The lawn next to the beach and pool is wonderful to use. The comfy chaise lounges are plentiful.

I have stayed in a few other places in Maui but this is the only place for me now!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SmokeyandAshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here Nov 2012 -

This place isn't particularly fancy, but the value is incredible. We came with about 80 people for a wedding and I didn't hear one bad thing said from anyone.

PRO'S:
- stunning, swimmable beach steps from your room
- great snorkelling - lots of turtles!
- comfortable bed
- modest, yet useful kitchen in-suite
- small convenience store in the hotel for odds and bobs (they also sell booze!)
- water sport centre for rentals on-site
- free use of beach towels - just ask at the front desk. No signing in, no towel card
- close to many cafe's, restaurants, shopping
- safe, clean, quiet
- stunning views (provided you stay on the ocean side)
- very friendly and accommodating staff
- easy check-in, despite the fact we arrived at midnight
- free parking
- free wifi

CON'S
- pool area is just ok (I didn't mind though, spent all our time at the beach)
- rooms need some updating (but again, it wasn't an issue - we were barely in our room)

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for couples/families/groups. You get a lot for your money. It's definitely not luxury, but we liked it so much we're returning next month!

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting an ocean-view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing