We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent View”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magnificent View”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath premium room. There is a central door that unlocks to 2 other rooms, each with its own door and lock. The main room had a magnificent view of the ocean. You could sit on the lanai and just enjoy all the wonders of Hawaii--the beach, the paddle boarders, the snorkelers, kayakers, sunbathers, weddings, and sunsets, this room had the kitchen area and living area for both bedrooms. The bedroom here was separated by sliding panels from the rest of the condo and had a very nice bathroom with plenty of storage. The second bedroom area was more like a small hotel room with just a bed and a separate hotel-like bathroom. There was an air conditioner in this unit. This room butted to the outside corridor and could be a problem is there were noisy people;however, we were lucky in this respect. You really could not open thy drapes because of the privacy issue so if you were in this unit you could not enjoy the view from this room. Did not have an issue with cleanliness and our maid was quite pleasant. This property worked well for us. The view was worth it all. I was able to rent snorkeling and paddle board equipment next door and they have a nice restaurant on the premises. There is also a restaurant right next door on the beach that is also worthy of a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieC139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    165
    42
    18
    19
See reviews for
177
195
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is the perfect location for a relaxing vacation in Maui. The unit has been upgraded with top of the line appliances cabinets and bathroom tiles. We had two bedrooms with King beds in both rooms. The kitchen was adequately stocked with what we needed. It was fairly clean but could certainly use a thorough clean including changing the shower curtain liners as they were getting mildewy. I was initially concerned there was no air conditioning in the beachside room (we were there in August) but the trade winds coming in off the ocean made for a very comfortable stay

With steps away from one of the best beaches in all of Maui it is a great location for families...no need to pack up and go to the beach! This is a great beach for kids as it does not drop off like some of the others. The pool and grass area loungers are for guests only and security frequents the area. With the Five Palms Restaurant in the Mana Kai and the even better Sorrentos right next door, you don't have to leave if you don't want to cook! They have a snack/grocery shop onsite as well as a place to rent everything from beach chairs to paddle boards. The Mana Kai is very south in Kihei bordering on Wailea so you are just minutes from some of the best resorts/restaurants in the area as well as a couple minute drive from the Shops of Wailea.

We never had an issue booking the BBQ area and would sit poolside to eat our meal when we did not feel like dining out. The sunset view is beautiful and you will most likely see a wedding or two take place at sunset because of the great view. We stayed here for two weeks and absolutely loved it. We received great value for our money!

Room Tip: You will get better rates if you book through an owner rather than the ManKai which does book out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeloveluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had the economy room with a King bed and full bath, no balcony. The access to the beach is approx. 50 feet from the lobbly, immaculate grounds and hotel. The room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Friendly staff, Terry was great. The room was small but it had all the basics, small refrigerator and microwave, with a good A/C. The size of the room was not a problem because most of the day was spent on the beach or sight seeing. There was a problem with the TV and curtins. The TV was extremely small (17"). Hard to see after a long day. Also, the curtins was so sheer that at 6am the sunlight came through every morning, entirely too early while on vacation. Could not sleep in. One other problem was a rooster that was crowing between 5 and 5:30 am; 4 of the 6 morings and we were on the 8th floor! The staff told us that they have no control of the wildlife. Most of the Kihei shops are a short distance away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Well my husband and I celebrated our 2 year wedding anniversary here in conjunction to staying at the Four Seasons and it was absolutely worth it! We had a 1 bedroom condo on the 6th floor and we didn't have an AC in the unit but when you open the balcony windows and the main door the wind that comes through is perfect! The pool is clean and warm so close to the beach! Plenty of room everyday no matter what time for a lounger and the unit had everything you need. The little convenience store was great we went everyday for things, mainly wine and snacks. The ocean front views are to die for, you can listen to the waves crashing at night and morning. We were shocked at the view when we arrived we saw the pictures on tripadvisor but when seeing it in person it is breathless. From other guests, it seems that the hotel rooms are not worth it, but the proximity to this beach is great. The beach is absolutely great for all ages and all activities.

Room Tip: Grab a condo with on floors 5 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

After staying at the Mana Kai Maui Resort, there is no place I can find the gentle ambiance, the beach right there. Paradise. I cannot wait to return. Close to Denny's. A kitchen in my room and patio doors flung open to let the sun and breezes in. A shirt run to Safeway. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyfullivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Mana Kai has a location that would be hard to beat. Turtles every day, snorkling right off the resort, lovely garden and nice pool, lots of ocean view rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and with teenage children it was great. Everything you would expect was in the unit and more. The guy on the reception desk was really nice, some people's complaints were very trivial and he kept smiling.
The only thing that could improve are the curtains on the carpark facing room in our condo did not keep out the hallway lights at night.
I would recommend this to any normal family. I guess the overly rich can go to Wailea!
The restaurant has great food but is probably a bit pricey for families to eat at every night, but happy hour sushi was a good way to feed the children cheaply.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJMERMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

4 of us recently stayed in a two bedroom condo at Mana Kai Maui for 8 nights. Our trip could not have been better. If you are looking for a quiet area of Maui to stay in, this is the place. The condo itself, while not overly updated, was very clean. Now, these are not true two bedrooms. They are two units combined. The first unit is similar to a hotel room with an en suite bath. The second unit has the kitchen and dining area. The second bedroom is formed when sliding doors are closed in the living room to separate it from the bed. It was actually a lot more private than we thought it would be. The biggest benefit of this property is the view. The building is situated on an angle, so every two bedroom unit has the most amazing view of the coastline facing south. The staff was fine and the proximity to the beach unmatched. About a month prior to our stay, we were notified of some electric work that needed to be done on a lower floor. We were offered a full refund or a further discount to stay. We risked it and decided to stay anyway. The work was barely a nuisance, and we saved a lot of money. If you are looking for action, go to Kaanapali or Lahaina. If you want relaxation, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkashinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing