We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for a condo in Maui”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #3 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed here 18+ times in the last 25 years. In those early days the 2 bed, 2 bath condo cost $195/night, included a rental car and free breakfast. Our cost this year, 3 weeks ago, was $360/night for a 1 bed, 1 bath, no car or breakfast. Times have changed, so have the costs, but it is still the best condo in Maui. We were disappointed in 2013 when we were assigned rm 715A. This room is at the end away from the ocean. Complaining did not help. This year we got rm 603A. We are returning next year, $400+/night. Prices are less when the whales are gone and the weather is hot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side of the central elevator have the best views. Higher floors, 8 total, have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Aloha, thank you for your loyalty and all the return visits. As you know, the units closest to the ocean (usually 01 through 05 stacks) are under our premium category. All of our units including all the way down to the 15 stack have good ocean view. Unfortunately prices do increase every year as does the cost of operations. The restaurant is leased to another operator making an all inclusive package difficult to put together for us. We are working on a loyalty program to benefit long time returnees such as yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Our room seemed to have been recently renovated. In fact much of the hotel seemed to be freshly renovated or undergoing renovations. The construction noise would be my only complaint with our stay, the staff was very friendly and the place was clean. I would highly recommend the Mana Kai.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rainn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Aloha, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. It's unfortunate that we had renovation construction noise during your stay, but in order for guests to return, renovations are a necessary part of keeping a 41 year old building operating and looking fresh. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just stayed at the Mana Kai in Maui. The resort is immaculate. It was truly one of the best vacations we have ever had. We booked directly with the owner, great condo. The view is out of this world. The restaurant has the best happy hour every day and the deli was very convenient. We will definitely go back again to Mana Kai 314.

Room Tip: Stayed in unit 314. Will definitely be going back. We used vrbo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Mahalo for your review as it helps all the rental programs and the property. I hope the owner of the unit you rented from sees your comments, as this unit is not in our rental program. We are the on-site rental program that has opened a TripAdvisor account and AAA 3-diamond units.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Loved staying here! Staff were lovely. Great position right on the beach. Best views are probably in units numbered 1 - about 10 or 12. We were in unit 15 on 5th floor(i.e. right at the end away from the beach) still had a lovely view of beach and out to Molokini but couldn't see down the beach. Unit had aircon. Had two teenagers with us so definitely need two room aptmt as the one bdrm apt does not have much lounge space and is just divided from bedroom by a sliding wall. (If you are travelling as a couple definitely get the 1 bdrm aptmt not the studio) Our room was serviced daily. Plenty of sun loungers. Children saw turtles when out paddle boarding. Restaurant downstairs was very good - could get a 15% discount voucher from reception. Restaurant next door (Sarrentos) was also good and a bit cheaper. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maryanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are please you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Now that you know the layout of the building, you can request a unit that you can see down the beach more.
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay began on a sour note. Absolutely nothing to do with Mana Kai Maui. We've been scammed by a fraudulous rental agency. When we checked in we found out that the room was never reserved. Never trust a prepaid rental location on craiglist, we've learned it the hard way! They got me like a little boy.
Anyhow, after the initial disapointment the staff and the management kindly offered us to stay on the resort for 3 nights at a special rate. Don't have to say that we were very pleased by their offer. We were very pleased not having to find another place to stay. We are very thankful of their classy service!

3  Thank Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

When you arrived, from traveling all that distance, we could see how tired both of you were, and when you discovered you had no room here, all your Hawaii dreams vanished. It really bothers me when innocent people are scammed. I want your memories of Hawaii to be positive and also to know this is why we are in the hospitality industry. I could not let you leave and had to step up and ease your fears. It was our pleasure to offer you that special rate. Safe travels and enjoy all the islands you see. Come back and spend a little more time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have stayed here twice and gets better every time. Got the room looking over the pool each time, we love it and the staff has ALWAYS made us feel welcome and want to keep coming back! We have stayed at NUMEROUS other condo's in this area, and these ARE the best in our book! Nice to sleep with the large glass door's open and hear the sounds of the ocean and smell the fresh air. PAY the extra and get a room with a lanai. Always feel safe and GREAT to walk out the back lobby to the beach, and if you don't like sand, you have the grass area.

Room Tip: With a Lanai! We got the A and B rooms for the family, kids stayed in the other room which left us w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keli215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. We will share this with all of our employees. We are blessed to have great employees and the perfect location. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We are a family of four. Our kids are older teenagers now, but when they were really young we stayed at one of the fancy resorts up the street in Wailea. We found that for about the same amount of money, we were closest to the ocean here, had the best view ever (and we've stayed at other fancy big resorts on the Big Island), and the most peaceful sleep and the most relaxing beach experience. This place is the perfect location -- amazing snorkeling right out front, and if you walk 5 minutes to the next beach over (there is a beautiful nature trail that leads there) you can snorkel more without even getting in your car. We swam with the turtles at that spot! If you like to walk or run, this is the end point or beginning point (depending on where you are staying!) for more than a mile of sandy beach that leads from one swimming/snorkeling/sunbathing spot to another. At the end where all the high end resorts are you can choose from their restaurant choices for lunch or dinner, or cook in your own kitchen at Mana Kai! We didn't miss the high end resorts one bit -- they are noisy and crowded and charge you extra for shade. Mana Kai has a beautifully maintained grassy lawn with shaded areas and sunny areas and plenty of comfortable lounge chairs.

We booked the A and B suite -- perfect for us since the teens could have their own room with a bathroom. Granted their space wasn't luxurious -- no balcony, no view, just a place to sleep. But it was clean and updated and my picky daughter claimed it was the nicest mattress ever even though she has a brand new mattress at home. Our room (A) was perfect for our needs -- a very comfortable bed, bathroom, living room section and eating area with a nicely appointed kitchen. Maid service was very reliable and friendly.

We ate at the 5 Palms two nights -- amazing food and service (Roy was our favorite waiter!). They have a very nice and affordable happy hour every day -- all the sushi we tried was delicious!

Other really great restaurants in the area are Monkey Pod, Maui Thai Bistro, Café O'Lei, Coconuts fish café, Maui Tacos. The general store at the hotel has really good chicken curry and other wraps and sandwiches as well as milk, cereal, juice, etc.

We rented stand up paddle boards at the rental place below the hotel and that was a great experience as well. Tracey at the activities desk was very helpful too in booking us on a snorkel expedition where another outfit in the area had a difficult time finding us a spot.

Free parking too (they assign you a spot), wifi wasn't great -- luckily we brought our own device so that helped.

Lastly, this is not a fancy resort -- get an A room if possible, you will fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean every night and wake up to the happy birds. Whale watching right from your balcony and snorkeling right off the beach. We will be back -- we've finally found our place!

Room Tip: We stayed in 603 A and B -- updated, clean, bright, large, quiet, comfortable beds, amazing views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDVM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Mahalo for your glowing review. The Board of Directors of the Mana Kai Maui are working on improving wifi and download speeds from the cable company on Maui. We appreciate your loyalty in staying with us as we know you have other choices to stay at. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £152 - £504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mana Kai Maui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing