We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very BEST location imaginable!”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The very BEST location imaginable!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A condo location directly on one of Maui's best white sand beaches, making it nearly impossible to escape the incredible view or sound of waves gently rolling up on a gorgeous sandy beach. You see it from your kitchen, your living room, your dining room, and your master bedroom. If you are a location nut, then this location will unquestionably satisfy you.

It also helps that the Mana Kai building includes a convenient and helpful front desk, an activities concierge, a yoga studio and classes, a kayak, SUP & snorkel equipment rental, a deli and general store, and a beachfront pool and restaurant with dining views all the way down the beach. Add in one of Maui's best beachfront restaurants right next door and being right next to all of the world class amenities of the Wailea Resort and I honestly don't think it can get any better!

However, keep in mind that although it is an amazing location the 2 bedroom condo of less than 800 square feet is fairly small by comparison to other resort condos on Maui. No place else can ever beat you for location, but if you have a larger group then you will probably feel a little crowded in a condo and kitchen that is this small. But couples and smaller families like mine won't mind the smaller condo size and will be glad they chose this location for their Maui vacation.

Room Tip: The building extends from the beach back towards South Kihei Road and there are 14 rooms per floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaileaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Mahalo for your accurate and positive comments. We appreciate you taking your time to write this review and we thank you for choosing to stay with us. As they say location, location, location. We have that and more to offer visitors. Our doors are always open to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    163
    39
    18
    19
See reviews for
169
191
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The one and only place I stay in Maui! I love the Mana Kai, theres no accommodation quite like it. Beachfront with a spectacular view of Wailea. The condos are all quite nice with very nice surrounding! Highly highly recommend to stay for all people! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: VRBO.com has the most options and lots of pics!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Mahalo for your positive review, we are very fortunate to be located right on Keawakapu Beach at the beginning of Wailea. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

What a perfect spot right on the beach. It was such a welcome sight after a long trip. The rooms are tired but who cares i would go back in a heart beat. Don,t forget to go snorkeling right out the front there heaps of turtles.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha Luke, mahalo for taking your time to write a positive review. We are constantly upgrading the units with amenities until the next big furniture and cabinet renovation By November, the good majority of the units we manage (47) will have a split air conditioning unit in the entire 2 bedroom unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornville, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Posting an update to a review I wrote on the Mana Kai condos and property (see “Closest property to the water; right on the beach; but not all rooms are the same," Tripadvisor, Oct 2012). My husband and I stayed at Mana Kai again this February, to make six times total, and we were as happy as ever. I am posting here a few addendums to my 2012 review.

1. Rooms Cleaner. We stayed in the "A" suites as usual this trip (again, see my first review for why). We changed suites once halfway through our stay, per my husband's request to be in a particular, different A room. Both suites were very clean. I was really happy, because I am admittedly kind of a nut about this. All the little nooks and crannys were clean and the kitchen, bathroom, and tile floors were very clean in both suites. While I obviously can't speak for all rooms, or future or even present rooms, there was a definitive improvement in the state of the rooms we stayed in now than in past years.

2. Rooms More Up-to-Date and Uniform. Both the rooms we stayed in were redone with tile floors and updated appliances and the now standard (uniform room to room) furniture, bedding, kitchenware, etc. I think but am not sure whether they have finished remodeling all the resort-owned condos (?), and they are very nice. As stated in my first review, if you go through one of the privately owned suites, make sure to ask lots of questions to ensure the suite is up-to-date and in good repair. We now always go with the Mana Kai Resort owned condo suites themselves (booking through Trivago or Ortitz for best prices and then calling or emailing Mana Kai with any special requests).

3. More Limited Ability to Request Specific Rooms. As suspected and written in my first review, Mana Kai is no longer guaranteeing or reserving specific room requests, though they did accommodate us beautifully, giving us an initial choice of two rooms and moving us halfway through our stay when our preferred room became available.

4. The Five Palms Restaurant was FABULOUS this time. The (Mediterranean style?) pork spare ribs were out of this world and a must-order if you eat meat. Also really special was the spicy ahi tuna and pineapple crème brulee.

5. Quieter over Restaurant. Mana Kai put a more substantial covering over the Five Palms Restaurant, which seems to have cut down on noise heard from the lanai from certain rooms in the past.

6. Property beautifully maintained as ever. They put in new sod when we were there in 2012, and the walking path on the north side is completed, connecting nicely to the seaside pathway going north.

7. Whale update. A disappointing bit of news here. We went during peak whale season but unlike in the past, we saw just a very few whales :( . It seems they were on a different route this year; on each of the other visits during humpback season, we would see dozens of breeches and blows each day right from the beach or our lanai. So heads-up in case this happens while you are visiting, I recommend TAKING A WHALE TOUR. The whale watching companies all keep in close radio contact with each other and can virtually guarantee sightings and often up-close encounters. You can also catch whales on the fringe season this way; very early December one year we took a (pontoon) whale tour out of Lahaina for maybe only $20 a piece and caught up with a pod of early arrivers, including a mama and baby. The pontoon ride alone would have been worth the price. (sooooo fun!!!).

8. An additional thing I hadn't mentioned in my initial review: a big advantage to the Mana Kai is that it is located on the south side of the island, meaning SUNNY!, while very often the north shore and often the west side may be rainy or overcast.

I've included some pics this time of Turtletown and Mount Haleakala.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha Linda, Mahalo for your precise review. I am happy you agree that our housekeeping has improved and for that matter, the property has as well. We look forward to your 7th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton head
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have been here twice in the past year and a half. Location can't be beat. Restaurant and bar very good and comfortable, really good sushi and Mai Tai's. Our room is on top floor, middle of building, can't get any better. Room could use very minor TLC but very nice and comfortable. At times the locals make it seem crowded but they rarely bother anyone. I will always stay here when in Maui.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djwinhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Also, thank you for staying with us and your continued loyalty. Yes. Five Palms has a great happy hour with discount pupu's, twice a day. We are busy tweaking and improving our units every year. Installation of new black out draperies with sheers will be completed by the second week in July. We look forward to your next visit with us.
A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you choose the less expensive option of a hotel room you may be disappointed. There is no lanai for hotel rooms, plus there is a shared common walkway outside your window. We only had a view of the parking lot, but we kept our curtains closed to block out curious passersby. It made the room feel very small. I went down to the lobby before 6am and front desk was closed and the place was desolate and didn't feel safe. Wifi is iffy / slow. The beach is very active with both hotel guests and public access visitors. The water is good for swimming, but not for snorkeling.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for writing a review. I have heard rave comments about snorkeling in front of the property, perhaps it was windy or the water was cloudy on the days you swam. In Hawaii, all water activities are best to do before 11:00 am, that's when the Tradewinds pick up and the ocean can get rougher then. A hotel room still offers a compromise to the expense of a one bedroom oceanfront. You walk through the lobby and the ocean is 30' away. WIFI improvement with new equipment begins installation On July 8th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in a private condo in the Mana Kai which was spacious, well furnished and comfortable for our needs. The location was right by the ocean and there were water sports facilities in the hotel which was convenient. There are also 2 very nice restaurants within walking distance.

Our disappointment lay in the ugly multi story high rise that this condo was built in that ruined the landscape of the area. We stayed 3 nights which was more than enough. Condos were being renovated which was noisy and the feel of the building reminded me of something on the costa del sol in the eighties. On another note our room was key pad locked and as we were taking our luggage to the car (far away since we had to trek through building) the door locked out on us. The owner had clearly set a timer for exactly 11am check out and as we were slightly over we then had to wait for security to let us back into collect the remaining bags.

This was the most expensive accommodation we stayed at on 3 Islands and the most disappointing. Would not go back. The vibe of the place did not suit us at all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lottaluv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Built in the early 70's it's design is that of a condominium, vacation rental property. Of course our building design may not please all, but at it's time of design and construction, we of course are not sure of any other designs that would be more environmentally accepted for today's mindset. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations in this area. Properties located beachfront anywhere are always going to have higher rates, and as you say, our location can't be beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing