We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating 20th anniversary”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Trabuco Canyon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Celebrating 20th anniversary”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have been to Maui many time. We usually stay in condos due to kids. We've stayed at Maui hill and loved it. For our 20th wedding anniversary I thought it would be great to stay at a place on the beach. The only great thing is the beach. We paid for a superior ocean view room, we get standard. Problem we have to change rooms half way through our vacation. Door to bathroom was broken, mildew in coffee pot, BBQ does not work. Of course these issues were addressed but they should have never been issues . Very upset as we will not be able to come back to Maui for a while as we have to pay for college. Very sad, husband upset not making for a good vacation. Though it's convienent for beach access it may not be worth the money. Happy 20th to us :(

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for writing the review. I am sorry your 20th anniversary was not as you planned. The area's you had problems with, as you say were addressed when you reported them. With the high occupancy ,we have things will break and most importantly, they were fixed promptly. I cannot research your past reservation as I do not have your full name. If you would email me at winston@manakaimaui.com, I can research and see why you were not given the room category you booked.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    164
    41
    18
    19
See reviews for
174
193
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I visit Maui a few times a year and our family in California never ask where we are going when we tell them we are off on another vacation cause they know it is MAUI...we stay at different places and never stayed in the Kihei area before but went there many times for dining and happy hours..so we thought we would try the Mana kai out...As you drive up you see what looks to be a tired property with no real eye candy in front of you, BUT just wait....You walk into an open air lobby with the basics and old island rock walls and a bit of furniture..The walk thru takes you directly to the most beautiful lawn and beach. A standard pool to your right and a view out of a post card...We stayed 10 days, spent part in a B unit and part in the A condo unit. I had researched the B unit and found some poor reviews...some said size of a closet, some said no view, and so on...Well, the B rooms are standard hotel fare, clean, pretty décor, and comfortable for 2 and great price for the amenities offered on site.The A condo unit are standard, full kitchens,nice lanai and both have super comfy beds. But the best is the grounds and the staff. Right on the nicest beach with soft sand that extends all the way into the water..no swim shoes needed here.Great family swimming. Nice pawn chairs with palm trees over head and the smell of pumeria everywhere. Great showers and a store that looks and acts like a mini grocery with hot food,sandwiches ice cream etc..The only restaurant the 5 Palms is a bit pricy, but happy hour is packed daily...We elected to drive down the road to explore other Happy Hours and there are too many to list..Fred's is the best, just down the street...great Mexican food and Margaritas.... As the other reviewers say you can find most everything right in Kihei and prices are more vacationer friendly then the Kaanapali area.......The staff are super, the housekeepers top notch and the front desk bends over backward to make you happy..Teri was on the desk most of the time and a real doll.....and the sunsets right in front of you...everyone grabs a lawn chair, sits back and enjoys a cold beer and watches the sun sink into the ocean...Parking is free, yes free...and there is no resort charge like many charge...Just a lovely property with pride felt...cool breezes,Paddle boards and Kayak, and snorkel gear rentals on site....and the swimming pool is heated and almost reminds you of a giant Jacuzzi....We just love the place..Do not listen to the ones who rate it poorly....or if you have the money drive another mile to the 4 Seasons and spend 900.00 bucks a night for the same view and beach and 15.00 a Mai tai....I think not!...Tell Teri we said hello...Dale and Marilyn, Sacramento California...We will be back...

Room Tip: The A units are the condos with ocean views and kitchens. The B rooms are hotel style with no lanais...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I think your heading of wow and more wow aptly describes your review of us. We know we don't have the bells and whistles that some of our neighboring Wailea properties do and we may not appeal to all that stay with us, but guests like both you is why we are in this business. Thank you so much for the outstanding review, it's a testimony to the property and staff that work here. We look forward to your next visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent our 33rd trip to the Mana Kai. It is literally ON THE BEACH ! The condo uits come prepped and readt for a complete stay and have a Lanai over looing the vast Kaewakapu Beach. It tends to be a bit more noisy with kids during simmer months, but spring stays are awesomw plus the whales are around until April-ish. Just a click or 2 up from Wialea and all the shops and fancy schmancy hotels there. Great local watering hole is the South Shore Tiki Lounge.
GREAT pizza and healthy cocktail pours. Josh works nights Tues>Fri. Once of the best bartenders I have ever met.

Room Tip: High Floor but you will pay a premium. It is worth it for the view and reduced pool and restaurant n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Mahalo for your dedicated loyalty to us, 33 times huh? It has to be some sort of a record and you've been staying with us a lot longer than I've been here. Thank you for taking your time to write a good review for us and we look forward to number 34!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Mana Kai for 10 days at the end of June, 2014. This is our second visit to this property, and it grows on me each time. It’s all about location, beach quality and access, and accommodations! Let’s start with location. We have been to Maui several times and while we really like the area from Kaanapali to Kapalua, we have come to appreciate the convenience of the Kihei area. It is very centrally located for touring the island, and we find we are much more apt to drive to explore other areas of the island including Paia, upcountry, the road to Hana, and the volcano. Grocery stores are nearby, or even a quick trip to Costco is a possibility. Restaurant options and variety abound. Kihei does sort of lack in atmosphere and Hawaiian “feel,” but you can travel 5 minutes south and get that in Wailea. At the Mana Kai, you are on the edge of the high rent district – it is literally a few steps to the tropical beauty in Wailea. I like to walk and found many interesting options. There is also a yoga studio adjacent to the property – I really enjoyed the classes, but wish they would consider dropping their prices or offer a better package. The cost ($20/visit) prevented me from doing more! Next, consider the beach: Keawakapu. We love this beach! It is clean, wide, and so pleasant to walk. It is not rimmed with busy resorts, but private homes so it is very peaceful and beautiful. In my opinion, the swimming there is excellent with a wonderful sandy bottom and really good snorkeling right out front. Definitely take a paddle board around the bend and you will see turtles galore. The grassy area at the Mana Kai is nice, great for some shade and just very relaxing. Many locals also hang out at this location. And finally, consider the property itself. Ok, let’s be frank: the Mana Kai is not a classic example of Hawaiian architecture. It is an unsightly 70s building. BUT, the way this property is oriented right on the beach allows for amazing views. Million dollar views for (not quite) million dollar prices. You get a nice breeze right through the front to the back so you room will stay nice and cool, and your deck does not get bombarded with sun so you can sit out there all day. They are working to renovate the rooms so make sure you get one that is updated. We rented both A and B units and it fit the 4 (2 adults and 2 teens) of us comfortably. It was nice to have the daily maid/beach towels service (although we felt like they were a little militant about the 1/day rule!). The pool is not much, but, they keep it warm so it is very pleasant for swimming and great for young kids. And get ready for some great sunsets – it was a free show every night! One word of warning, the wind picked up every day around 11:00 and it blew hard until sundown. Afternoon wind seems to be typical for the area – it kept things cool, but, really made it difficult for beach activities/walks. But, I just can’t complain too much about the Mana Kai…it grows on me every time!

Room Tip: higher floors and toward the ocean = better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your great review. It's true all water activities should occur before 11 am as that's when the Tradewinds engage and become stronger. We have just started to install central air conditioning in 30 of our units. When finished, we will have 43 out of 47 units with central air. As you have also said, Kihei is more centrally located for visiting other parts of the island. After a few visits, visitors find their home base and return there year after year. We look forward to your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I are a young couple and this was where we stayed for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved the gorgeous white sand beachfront, the spectacular view of Wailea, the soothing sound of the waves and the other many natural attractions this location offered. It's almost as if all of nature was working to ensure we had the most amazing honeymoon possible. We will definitely lodge here again when next we are in Maui. Rooms are very comfortable and super clean. We love the Mana Kai, there's no accommodation quite like it. We highly recommend this place for anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damilola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for writing a great review. We are please to be a part of your honeymoon on Maui. I am sure both of you will have great positive memories of our beautiful island. This is a good place to come back and renew your wedding vows. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just spent a week at the Mana Kai Maui and thought it was awesome. We had just the A part of a unit on the 8th floor. Our unit was super clean and very well equipped. It was not a luxury hotel, but it was perfectly comfortable. The constant wide open view of Keawaukapu Beach and the ocean was fantastic. That view could be seen from the lanai, the living room, the kitchen, the bedroom, and even the bathroom.

As others have said...location is everything and Keawaukapu is a great place to be. Having Five Palms, SurfShack and Zacks right on property was super convenient. We pretty much left only to get poke at Eskimo Candy and Foodland.

Snorkeling is great right in front of MKM. Lots of fish and many sea turtles every day. Although the beach gets crowded right near the hotel, you can walk 100 yards down the beach and be all by yourself.

Pretty sure our next Maui stay will be at the MKM.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gone2Alpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Mahalo for taking your time to write a great review for us. We know we don't appeal to all that visit us, but we are a small, clean comfortable condominium, run similar to a hotel in a fabulous location with lots to do in our backyard. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A condo location directly on one of Maui's best white sand beaches, making it nearly impossible to escape the incredible view or sound of waves gently rolling up on a gorgeous sandy beach. You see it from your kitchen, your living room, your dining room, and your master bedroom. If you are a location nut, then this location will unquestionably satisfy you.

It also helps that the Mana Kai building includes a convenient and helpful front desk, an activities concierge, a yoga studio and classes, a kayak, SUP & snorkel equipment rental, a deli and general store, and a beachfront pool and restaurant with dining views all the way down the beach. Add in one of Maui's best beachfront restaurants right next door and being right next to all of the world class amenities of the Wailea Resort and I honestly don't think it can get any better!

However, keep in mind that although it is an amazing location the 2 bedroom condo of less than 800 square feet is fairly small by comparison to other resort condos on Maui. No place else can ever beat you for location, but if you have a larger group then you will probably feel a little crowded in a condo and kitchen that is this small. But couples and smaller families like mine won't mind the smaller condo size and will be glad they chose this location for their Maui vacation.

Room Tip: The building extends from the beach back towards South Kihei Road and there are 14 rooms per floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaileaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Mahalo for your accurate and positive comments. We appreciate you taking your time to write this review and we thank you for choosing to stay with us. As they say location, location, location. We have that and more to offer visitors. Our doors are always open to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.5 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing