We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another view of the ManaKai and Kihei” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #8 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another view of the ManaKai and Kihei”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2006

I just had to respond to the review dated March 31. I have stayed at the Mana Kai on several occasions over the last seven years. My husband and I and our children ages 12 and 8 love the Mana Kai. I consider myself to be very finicky when it comes to cleanliness and I have NEVER had an issue with this at the ManaKai. The rooms and linens have always been very clean and the grounds are impeccable. No, its not a five star resort, but the accomodations are very comfortable, and the view and location are second to none. As far as the noise is concerned, there may be some slight noise from the hotel room area, which is over the parking area but from the condo , I guess you could consider the pounding surf noisy.....but its music to my ears!!! The boogie boarding, snorkling and beach walking are unsurpassed from this area. And yes, Kihei may be a bit bitnik, but thats the charm of it. Crime??? I'm sure it happens, it does everywhere, but we have never had an incident, in fact, when my husband lost his wallet at the Akina beach area on one of our trips, we found that someone had turned it in(undisturbed) to the Kihei police office. Unbelievable actually!!

Anyway, I'm sure we could all gripe about one thing or another when we go somewhere on vacation. I don't know what happend to the previous family to cause them to write such a scathing review, but to knock every aspect of the resort and town ........lends me to believe that they have an axe to grind. I respect reviews that are subjective to problems, not objective to every negative aspect that they can possibly think of.

Just wanted to give some perspective to help those that may be considering or already have a trip planned to Kihei and/or the Mana Kai. You won't be dissapointed! Aloha!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Travelbug4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    163
    38
    18
    19
See reviews for
165
188
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2006

I cannot imagine a worse hotel than the Mana Kai! The staff was rude, the hotel was sooo dirty, the elevator was broken, the rooms was run down, smelly and covered in stains! Nobody in their right mind would sleep on those sheets! The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. It was sooo noisy I could not sleep. I could not wait to leave this hotel! We had a group of 6 couples with us and we all had the same experience. I cannot believe that some people like this hotel! I find this so shocking! Kihei in general is run down, dirty, poor and filled with crime. Why would anyone come all the way to maui to stay in kihei is beyond me! Yuck, yuck, yuck! Do NOT stay at this hotel! If you are looking for a budget hotel on the beach and in a nice area than stay at one of the budget hotels in Napali. This area is lovely and affordable and close to shopping and activities. Do not stay in Kihei. It is like a big strip mall filled with dirty beaches and cheap hotels. Compared to the other hotels in this area the Mana Kai is nice--but that is not saying much!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tracybraylina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver B.C
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2006

We have just returned from a great family holiday at the Mana Kai. We stayed in room 606 that we rented from the owners off the internet. Had the condo from March 8th till the 22nd 2006. The Mana Kai is an older building that is being up-dated. Since the units have different owners some have had upgrades, which ours did. The units are 2br, 1br, and a hotel room. We had a 2br condo which had a great view down the beach. Some people find the hotel-type room small so look into what you are booking. The pool is a nice size and we swam in it almost every day, but with the wonderful beach right there we spent most of our time swimming in the ocean. The snorkeling was nice, easy for first timers and we saw turtles and many fish. The lawn area is great for anyone who likes to lay in the sun. Friendly staff and the grounds are tidy and clean. Our kids, ages 17 and 11 enjoyed the waves for boogie boarding and the tide pools. It was so nice not to have to pack the car up and drive to a beach somewhere. The balconys on the condo units are large enough dining on, which we did all the time. We have been to Maui 4 times and this is the best we have seen yet. Yes it is an older building and renovations are happening, but we never were bothered by any noise. We loved the Mana Kai and understand why people return here year after year. We will be doing the same.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WNickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2006

We just returned from 2 weeks in Maui. During that time we spent 2 separate 2 nights stays at the Mana Kai. One stay on the 7th floor and one on the 5th floor. We were a party of 5 adults and with the 2 bedroom unit were were comfortable. The views and beach are postcard material. Yes, the lobby is under construction, but I wasn't gonna spend any time there anyway. The staff was accommodating and the general store was convenient for a few "essentials" on the first night in town. If there was any disappointment it would be that the property and the units we stayed in are showing their age, but it seems that the renovation is in progress. The carpets were old, bathroom fixtures were worn, but I could overlook that for a good location and the best beach access around.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jkgetchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2006

We returned to the Mana Kai because we really liked it on our first visit 7 years ago. We rented a one-bedroom condo with ocean view. We found it just as nice as before with its own balcony, comfortable beds, well-equipped kitchen, all basic amenities. We appreciated the good-sized pool and the easy access to a sandy beach as well as the proximity to Wailea and its nice oceanfront walkway. Each condo has a reserved parking space. The resort is in the midst of a major upgrade project (the lobby was totally under construction) which should make the place even nicer (though, most likely, a bit pricier). Also, we enjoyed the Five Palms restaurant on the premises with tasty food, good service and great atmosphere. Minor picks: only two beach towels supplied, batteries in DVD player remote were dead, kitchen lacked scissors and icecream scoop. Rooms are all non-smoking but smoking is allowed on the balconies so, if you are a non-smoker like us, be prepared for smoke smell from nearby balconies.

Helpful?
8 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2006

Stayed in one of the condo "B" units on the second floor at the end of January 2006. The room I had was very nice - it had been remodelled in the last couple of years. The Mana Kai building, itself, is under rennovation. The "general store" (shop) on the first floor was empty, and construction crews were working in it during the day. There's a lot of construction NOISE from 8 to 5. The elevators and lobby were lined with plywood walls, but the resturant was operating as usual. But really who cares... I wasn't in the room that much during the day, and the beach there is great! (Nice sand with a few rocky spots here and there - see sunset photo.) You can run arond bare foot all day and night if you want. You can also walk to the Kihei boat ramp (where all the local scuba diving and snorkeling operations launch from) by crossing the Kihei Surfside Hotel's lawn (next door) and following a (50 yard) path along the shore. Be sure to check on the state of each floor/condo throughout 2006, and also check on parking spaces assigned to your condo - you may have to park in the public (gravel) lot on the east side of the building unless you rent an "A" or "A and B" unit.

Helpful?
9 Thank Shaggy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Mana Kai in July 05. Didn't spend much time in the room other than to sleep but the lobby was very open with a nice breeze and was nicely decorated. The grounds were beautiful with many palm trees and flowering plants and Keawakapu beach was just steps away. Very friendly staff, also.
The Five Palms restaurant downstairs was excellent! Loved the "Lava Flow". We will definitely be staying at the Mana Kai on our next trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KNJ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
21.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing