We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, BC Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 8 December 2006

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Mana Kai. This was our second visit, the first in Dec. 05. We absolutely love this place! We stayed in unit 606, a two bedroom condo which we booked directly with the owner. Everything was perfect. The hotel, pool and grounds are kept spotless. The beach outside your door is one of the best on Maui with good snorkelling and safe waves for children. The new store at the hotel is convenient although a little pricey. This trip we spent alot of time at Big Beach because the waves there are so much fun, swam with the big turtles at Makena Landing and snorkelled at Ahihi Bay which is just like swimming in an aquarium. These places are only a 10 minute drive south. If you like lively night life don't come here, but if you want a relaxing vacation and enjoy the water then this place can't be beat. We can hardly wait to come back......

White Rock, BC Canada

  • Liked — The location and spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — Tiny bugs in the kitchen (a tropical thing and not really a problem for us)
  • Tips/Secrets — Forget the arranged tourist stuff and explore the island on your own
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cdn_beach_bums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    164
    41
    18
    19
See reviews for
174
193
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2006

We stayed at the Mana Kai for a week (09-05 to 09-11). The unit was fantastic! Had everything we could want for a stay at the beach. When we got off the plane, we stopped at CostCo and loaded up with food and drinks. Since there is a full kitchen in this unit, it made life soo simple! This unit is privately owned (see their website -- ) and they keep it up nicely. The property was perfectly located to Kihei town and Wailea where many of our friends were staying for a big wedding we were attending.

  • Liked — Location between Kihei & Wailea & we could listen to the sound of th waves all night!
  • Disliked — Nothing really!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stop at CostCo on the way in from airport and load up with food-alcohol-etc for the week
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank CapiCatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

We just returned from Maui the last day of July 2006. We stayed at the Mana Kai, 6th floor, from a direct VRBO owner. The rental part went fine, pick up the keys from the property mgr., etc. MAID service is suppose to be available if you stay longer than 7 -days, but we never received any even after making a request. I would get this scheduled BEFORE you rent.

As many have said on this forum The Mana Kai is a good value. Super beach location with snorkeling right at your door, swim pool, and a great restaurant...The Mana Kai is what it looks like. It is not fancy, its a little rough around the edges---but for the money its a great place to stay.

HOWEVER, I'm not exactly sure why, but many locals hang out here. It seems very over crowded during the weekends (families at the pool and grass area), and any evening can be spoiled by local young people (sometimes between 8-15 young people) hanging out drinking beer in the grass area. They stay late and make noise, which if you have your bedroom lanai door open keeps you awake. One evening we mentioned it to the ONE security person they have working in the evenings, and he did not have them leave. The ladies at the desk did nothing either. If I am going to pay to stay somewhere at any price, I don't want to feel uncomfortable (loud fowl language, etc.) when I choose to go down and watch the sunset. That is not fair, nor should the MGMT allow it.

There is a public beach access along the one side of the Mana Kai including a public parking lot, but that shouldn't allow young people to drink and have loud conversations on the hotel's property.

Please let me know if you want more info about the Mana Kai or anywhere else on Maui--we have been there a lot and have good info to share.

Helpful?
29 Thank fishlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauiohmaui, Unit owner at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, 6 February 2007
I appreciate your observations. As an owner of a Mana Kai I like to see the "down side" from a guest's view. Please try the Mana Kai again, as steps are being taken to correct the problem. Your review, an others, are taken seriously by the owners. And we DO monitor TripAdvisor as a source.Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2006

Our family of 3 kids mom and dad had a 2 bedroom deluxe ocean view and grandma and grandpa had a 1 bedroom ocean view down the hall. The rooms were find, not new, but perfectly clean, they had broadband and cable which was nice. The view was excellent, and the beach was one of the best we have every seen. In the morning world class snorkeing right outside the your room, then mid day calm water for the little ones and then late day a bit rougher surf for big kids and dad. The pool is fine. There is a litle 7/11 type store that has anything you want but you need cash. The key is that it is easy to find a great pool, or hotel room, but to find a great beach in easy, not 10-15 minutes, walk from your room is fantastic. We found this location was excellent and easily worth twice the money.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank rkj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2006

My wife and another couple stayed here in early July for four nights. Upon arrival, we were impressed with the lobby, but extremely disappointed with the room. Our room was on the 3rd floor. While it had a great/large lanai with an excellent ocean view, there was much to be desired. The room itself felt very old and dirty. The pullout sofa was in very bad shape and we found multiple hairs on our yellowed/stained sheets. Noise was not an issue for us.

While the room could have been a lot nicer/cleaner, we were very impressed with the general store, on site restaurant and beach access. This is an excellent location! One other negative would be the overall service we received from the front desk. They were borderline rude, primarily after we complained about the room and an early check out. Overall, we had an ok stay at the Mana Kai. My wife and I feel like we would return, but only if our room is one that has been refurbished. A good value, but do not expect Sheraton-like service or amenities.

  • Liked — Location and beach access
  • Disliked — Old room and the front desk service.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do NOT stay in the apartment unit...get the condo!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank by350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2006

We stayed at the Mana Kai for a week in June and really enjoyed our stay there. The location was truly the best. Every morning we walked the beach toward the fancy resorts of Wailea. Once you get to the resorts you can continue to walk along a boardwalk for another mile or so. The condo itself is currently under construction but once that is complete in September it will be even nicer. We stayed on the 4th floor (411) and rented both the condo bedroom and the second "hotel" bedroom. The condo was well stocked with everything we needed including beach chairs, beach matts, toys - you name it. Except for the front "hotel" bedroom it was not air conditioned which was never a real problem. We kept the fans going in both the living room and bedroom. My two teenage boys slept in the front bedroom facing the ocean and they said they got a little hot when they shut the screens since the ocean was so noisy! After the first night they kept the screens open (big sliding screen doors that went across the entire front of the condo) and the drapes closed and were just fine. My husband and I took the front "hotel" bedroom and my only complaint was this bedroom was pretty noisy. Your bed is only a few feet from the outside corridor and on either side of the big plate glass window is wooden levered slats with screens- nice for the breeze but not for sound insulation. Even with the wooden slats closed (which wasn't tight) you could hear the people in the parking lot or walking past your room. This really wasn't a huge problem as all in all it was a quiet condo. Our favorite part was being so close to everything but yet not being in the middle of town or in any traffic. This condo is located at the very end of Kihei so you feel like you are almost in Wailea. We LOVED snorkeling right outside our condo at the beach. It was so nice to be able to go up to the room for a quick bite and then right back to the beach. We ate at both the restaurant on site (Five Palms) and the one next door (Sarento's) and enjoyed both very much. We also spent several evenings right next door playing frisbee on the huge lawn of the Kihei Surfside. We also never had any kind of a bug problem. I thought the whole place was very well kept up and very clean (pool and grounds too). We also let the kids get a treat from the general store every day. It was a little expensive but very well stocked.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank luv2plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2006

We just returned from 5 days at the Mana Kai and were very pleased. Not sure what other reviewers were taking about as far as the desk staff. Everyone we talked to was both helpfull and very nice. We had Condo #811 A&B, which you need in order to have 2 bedrooms and although the rooms were a bit dated the new hall and lobby were beautifull. We had Fathers Day brunch at the Five Palms resturant in the bottom of the condo complex and the food is wonderful and all seating is open air with a great view. The store and deli in the complex have everything you need at a bit higher price but very handy and the salads and chili are great. I would suggest you try to get a unit above the 4th floor to really enjoy the view. Over all we would go back to the Mana Kai next time we travel to Maui.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank CJORUSSELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.5 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing