We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to the beach, good rooms”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I just wanted to stay at a hotel that was walking distance to the beach, this one is, the beach is about 5 minutes away or less. They also have a very nice pool. Our room was nice and clean and the staff was nice. The local expedia agent helped us book a couple activities like ziplining etc., which was pretty convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZedN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

I follow trip advisor frequently when we are travelling to see different peoples take on the environment and surrounding amenities. I read may positive thoughts and everything was true. The staff were amazing- from the front desk,to the housekeeping and an extra special thanks to Tiffaney. She arranged ours tours and suggested restaurants--Pizza Madness was very good---and is a wealth of information. Heather our waitress by the pool--good memory and very cheerful.

We loved Kihei for our very first visit of 9 days, and will definately go back and stay at the Maui Coast again. Close to the beach, restaurants and quaint shopping spots. Nice laid back atmosphere, and centrally located for driving to other areas on the island.

Places we liked to eat-Peggy Sue's, Kihei Caffe for breakfast (tons of food). Note Sansei Sushi has 1/2 price specials (eg-Sun and Mon between 5-6:00pm any orders place in this time is 1/2 price. ) Very good and other 1/2 price times available for later in the day.

Room Tip: Jr Suites 624 had a bit of an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oilersfanAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We recently stayed here through a WestJet Vacations package and were very pleased with the hotel in all respects. The front desk folks were very helpful, welcoming and courteous, and all the staff were wonderful to us. Tiffany Weller, the lead concierge for Expedia at the hotel, was tremendously helpful in booking excursions and a fantastic spa day for us, but most importantly she assisted when I urgently needed an eye physician after an accident. Tiffany called ahead and got me in to see a terrific optometrist immediately. The doctor checked me thoroughly and set my mind at ease for the rest of the trip, all thanks to Tiffany! All hotels can be great when things go well, but this showed me that the staff here will go an extra mile to take care of their guests, especially when things don't go quite as planned. :-)

We met some people from Europe who stay here frequently and love the place. They described the recent renovations as lovely and all-encompassing, particularly in the pool area. We found the pool a lovely oasis and spent a day or so enjoying it. The hotel is also across the street from one of the major beaches so we spent hours enjoying the ocean without having to drive anywhere at all.

The hotel staff keep the grounds and hotel very, very clean and were kind and friendly as well. Would definitely recommend this place to all!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigerxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed 6 nights, after spending 6 nights in a rather shabby room at Ohana West in Waikiki. What a contrast this was - heavenly comfortable beds; no sirens splitting the night; free self-operated laundry room; beautiful beach 5 minutes walk; bus stop 5 minutes walk (buy a day ticket for $2 & go anywhere you want); good sized pool with poolside cafe/bar; restaurant; free internet in the lobby; friendly staff; 3 small shopping centres within 10 minutes walk; free fitness centre; lots of options to dine locally. I could go on & on.....
We booked through Worldwide Holidays online, & didn't have to pay the 'resort fee' of $17.50 per night, so this made our stay very moderately priced. This is VERY definitely the hotel we would stay at again, if we get as far as Hawaii again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I just recently stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel for my friend's 40th birthday. We had an amazing time at the Maui Coast Hotel. When I got back to Maui I want to bring my husband and make sure that we stay with MCH. The overall feel of MCH was peaceful, clean and relaxing. All the employees that we talked to or had questions for were so friendly and helpful. The location is perfect! You aren't right on the beach, but you are just a few minute walk away. The restaurant Spices...Loved it! Very good food and service. MCH is wonderful! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninergrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

First let me say, that I found throughout Maui, everyone we encountered was extremely attentive and kind to my daugher and I. No where was this more the case that in Maui Coast Hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Especially the concierge who set up all of our activities with the greatest of ease. We will definately come back and bring our friends and family. Thank you all!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Very freindly staff. stayed in a 1 bedroom king bed suite with sofa bed. tvs great bathroom was very roomy. The pool was nice the kids loved it. Very short walk to the beach with lifegaurds.Hotel resturants have great food. Pricey but you get alot of food.
happy hour rocks.local music was great.Kids liked the fat black and white cat by the pool
bar.We enjoyed our stay. I do recommend eating at BEACH BUMS.Its located by the Maui
Ocean Center.

Room Tip: upper floor not facing parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DANIONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: £200 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing