We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Maui Coast Hotel and will definitely be back!!!”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My husband and I recently spent 6 nights at the Maui Coast Hotel in Kihei. We had also spent 2 nights at the Lotus hotel on Waikiki beach and 4 nights at the Westin Resort & Spa on Kaanapali (see my reviews on those hotels as well). The Maui Coast Hotel was by far our favorite hotel!!!

We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom king suite which suited our needs perfectly. It had a huge bathroom with large jetted tub, a bar area with sink and mini fridge, a sofa, a table with 2 chairs and a deck with 2 chairs. There were flat screen TV's mounted on both the wall in the living area and the wall of the bedroom. The bed and bedding were high quality and super comfortable and there was both a ceiling fan and air conditioning option in the bedroom and separate air conditioning in the living room. The room was spacious and beautiful with quality fixtures, including what appeared to be quartz countertops in the bathroom and bar...not sure if they actually were, but they were beautiful all the same!

The hotel had a great pool with pool bar. It wasn't a large pool but was great for a quick dip to cool down. There is happy hour from 3-6 every night and music entertainment from 6-9. The hotel also has bicycles that you can sign out for the day to bike to all the nearby beaches, restaurants and shops, which we borrowed practically every day! The hotel is right across the street from the most beautiful beach in Kihei being Kamaole Beach I. My favorite night of our trip was when we biked to Kamaole Beach III and bbq'd fresh fish, fruit & vegetables on the beach bbq while watching the sunset and sipping champagne.

All in all we absolutely loved the Maui Coast hotel and its location and would definitely go back. We definitely preferred the Kihei side of the island to Kaanapali. We are a fun loving, kid-free couple in our late 20's and Kihei was definitely more our style! Not as expensive or pretentious as Kaanapali, totally laid back and totally fun.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Canucks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 2,172 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I booked this hotel for a repeat trip. We stayed there a few years ago and it is a nice hotel in a good location. I booked the hotel through Expedia and got a package deal including a rental car. My receipt included free parking. Upon checkout, I was surprised to find a $17.50/day plus tax resort fee charged to my credit card. To begin with, this is not a resort. No golf course, private beach, tennis court or anything one would not expect in a nice Hampton Inn. I called Expedia and they "updated" my itinerary after I had paid by including a $15.00 resort fee. This seems like fraud to me as the original booking did not include it.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank billd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We were happy we chose to stay at the Maui Coast Hotel. While Kihei has great beaches & great prices, there's nothing fancy about the town or most of the available accommodations. But the Maui Coast Hotel is like a little bit of luxury in the middle of condo-land. The grounds are pretty, the rooms very comfortable (great bed!), the staff is friendly (especially Heather at the poolside bar & grill), and the price is just right. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from a beautiful beach and is within walking distance to a strip-mall with shops & low-key restaurants. You can also take advantage of the free shuttle (part of the mandatory $17.50 daily resort fee) anywhere in Kihei & Wailea.

Areas for improvement: While the bathroom is modern, it is very cramped & needs an exhaust fan. Also, the room could use better lighting. When we pulled the curtains (for privacy) or at night, the room felt pretty dark. Lastly, while the resort is supposedly 100% smoke free, guests are allowed to smoke 20 feet from the building in the parking lot. This was disappointing as we had to walk by smokers every time we went to our car.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravelelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I loved the value for what we got. I have noticed a steady increase from when we went, but it is still pretty good value. The rental bikes were a great thing for the hotel to offer, it was a joy riding to the local shops. You will want a rental car though to go to places like old Lahaina, but otherwise it was a great area to stay more "local". Heads up on the parking at the hotel - it gets packed VERY early. There are a few different doors you can go to, but there are not enough if you get stuck in the back.

Make sure to go to the local restaurants and what they call the "bar" area - I dont see bar area cause its still super family friendly, BUT there are great cheaper food places. The breakfast shop off the main road (you cant miss it, it is always busy) . I ended up actually saving money when we went... HORRAY!

There are 2 local Sushi places also in the Kihei area, bit pricey but amazingly good - I say well worth it! Make sure to get the flash friend macadamia nut ice cream log with caramel sauce if you come across it. (YUM! YUM!)

Also for the souvenir/gift giving idea, go to the swap meet at the community college. GREAT deals, and great prices. Found the same items in Cancun and shops in Hawaii (things like carved wood turtles, etc.) with the same quality, but most everything was twice as expensive at these other place (especially in the hotel zone in Lahaina region) .


Avoid the dinner boat, the pictures are misleading and it was horrible food. Beautiful views, but still not worth it. Make sure to the the road to Hana and ask about the banana bread stands. You'll wanna leave early - the road gets busy fast with tourists and the good bread will run out. The 3rd bread stand we came across is the BEST! its on a little off road.

Watch out though for the locals driving on the roads. The lanes merge into 1 lane bridges and they are usually corner bridges and they are unforgiving speed demons. I will have to say I preferred driving in LA with a huge truck - these people are rude as hell and dont care if you get run off the road. Worst part it there are drop off rocky cliffs - soooo yea... teeth grinding.

Snorkeling is fantastic up in Lahaina, there is this black round rock which has great snorkeling. We saw huge turtles! current is a bit strong, but the paid adventure boats drop people off right there for $80 bucks. We rented snorkel gear for $20 bucks with a purchase of a water proof camera and swam to the same spot. (Heck yes!) Any local shop will get you a map to find great spots.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MangoSlicePdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at the Coast Maui for 4 nights. We found it to be conveniently located (5 minutes walk from the beach), very clean, very quiet and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and the bed was super comfortable. The grounds are well maintained and it's so convenient to have free laundry facilites available. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

If you are planning a beach vacation, you could consider some other hotels in Maui, as this hotel does not have own beach nor direct beach access. You have to walk some 3-400 meters and across the road to access the beach. Then to positive points.
In my opinion hotel has good location, centrally at Maui for active tourist. You can easily drive to Lahaina for dining or Haleakala sunrise. From arrival point of view, airport is quite close also.
Rooms are good in standard and clean. Best in the room was though balcony, after active day it was a pleasure to sit outside and have a glass of...
About the staff I can not tell much, interaction was normal check-in/out formalities.
Kihee itself isn't in my opinion "action" location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed at Maui Coast Hotel for almost 2 weeks, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were clean and modern, the beds were comfy and it was very spacious - we stayed in the one bedroom suite. The bathroom was large and very clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. The pool was private and very tropical, and most importantly, not very crowded - unlike some of the other hotels we saw that were right on the beach.

The concierge, Tiffany, was very helpful and helped us book all of our excursions. Another one of the perks was the shuttle that would take you to the local restaurants and then pick you up as well.

When we go back, we would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rkw057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,605 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: £187 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing